alansa wrote:
so the rule is to roll to hit each unit under the template once.
1 grot, 2 boyz.
you roll for the grot if it hits then the allocation for that hit can only go to the grot
you roll for a boy, again the allocation for that hit can only go to that boy
you roll for the next boy, blah blah.
speed rolling in exact style says
roll for the grot, allocation only goes to that grot
roll 2 dice for the boyz, allocation goes from front to back for those two boyz
it's slightely faster, and in some cases much faster than individual rolling.
now i agree that, if the opponent agrees, you can go for much courser speed rolling. Presumably one should ask permission before you start throwing dice.
IMHO this is not quite right Alansa
1) roll three dice for the infantry targets under the template (lets assume it hits 1x grot and 2x boys)
2) roll the saves for the grot and boys separately. Speed rolling allows you to roll both boys together removing the nearest to the shooter as a casualty.
Now if the grot and boys are the only targets, and you only hit two out of the three, the question is where to allocate the hits. And I have always played that this is done front-to-back relative to the shooter within the template. So, if the grot is at the back of the template, it does not get allocated a hit.