Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

War Engine DC in assaults

 Post subject: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 6:34 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
I gather EpicUK have a common ruling regarding how many units a WE counts as in an assault, just wondering what it is exactly?

The basic issue I'm fairly sure is that if a WE counts as 3 units, then it is not allowed to assault a normal unit because you can only put max 2 units in contact with each enemy unit. So I believe there's some sort of ruling that clarifies you can in fact assault with a warhound, but not sure how it affects the other conventions for base-to-base in assaults. If the ruling is "war engines count as a single unit for basing purposes" then this means it's not possible for a warlord to trap units into a transport, for example. And it would also mean that putting a gorgon into BtB with 2 infantry units would trap them inside.

Came up recently in a game (Avatar barged a bunch of infantry in valkyries). We let the infantry out (was not going to affect the outcome realistically) but discussed it a bit and recalled there being some inconsistency at tournaments etc about the topic.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:21 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
AFAIK The EpicUK ruling is that for assaults and the purposes of BTB and locking in, war engines count as a single model, at least that's how myself, Steve54, dptdexys and MikeT play it, and how I have played it at every tournament I've been to, I would also rule it that way when reffing

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:43 pm
Posts: 1431
Location: Devon, UK
Isn't this covered in 3.3.1, barging and how many units can be in base contact with the War Engine?

_________________
The Wargaming Trader
NetEA Death Guard Army Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:01 pm
Posts: 1501
Yeah - we play that as well. War engine is 1dc for the purpose of trapping units in transport but that's separate to the barge rule

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:51 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
From the rule book
Quote:
1.1 UNITS
Epic lets you fight battles with everything from lowly infantry to the terrifying war engines that dominate the battle zones of the 41st Millennium. From the smallest to the greatest, every warrior and weapon has its part to play. Different types of unit complement one another in combat – war engines fighting in cities need infantry to enter buildings and drive out enemy troops, infantry in the open need support from their own tanks and war engines lest they be swept away by enemy war engines.
No matter what their size, the Citadel miniatures used to play Epic are referred to as units in the rules that follow. Each unit is an individual playing piece with its own capabilities. A unit may consist of a single model tank, a gigantic war engine, or several infantry models mounted together on a single base, but in the rules all of these things are simply referred to as units.





Kyrt wrote:
The basic issue I'm fairly sure is that if a WE counts as 3 units, then it is not allowed to assault a normal unit because you can only put max 2 units in contact with each enemy unit.

A WE counts as 1 unit, the only part of the game where a WE counts its DC as multiple units is for combat resolution.
The rules never state anywere else that a WEs DC = Units . The rules only state that DC is used for determinating number of CC/FF attacks, how many enemy units can be in base to base contact during an engagement/barging/pinning, How many BMs are needed for suppresion/breaking or for allocating hits before moving on to the next unit and so on.

Quote:
So I believe there's some sort of ruling that clarifies you can in fact assault with a warhound, but not sure how it affects the other conventions for base-to-base in assaults. If the ruling is "war engines count as a single unit for basing purposes" then this means it's not possible for a warlord to trap units into a transport, for example. And it would also mean that putting a gorgon into BtB with 2 infantry units would trap them inside.

A WE counts as 1 unit with 3.3.1 giving them their own rule for dealing with engagements.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:52 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
The section you are looking for is
Quote:
3.3.1 Charge Moves
When a war engine charges it is allowed to “barge” any non-war engine units belonging to the target formation out of the way and carry on with its charge move. Move the war engine as far as desired, and then place any units that were barged out of the way as close as you can to their starting point, while still touching the base of the war engine that so rudely pushed them aside. The maximum number of units a war engine can barge aside in this manner is two per point of its starting damage capacity. Note that war engines may not barge other war engines out of the way.
So a WE can move into contact with several enemy units, or several units can move into contact with a WE, up to 2x the WE DC.

The other point is that units being transported are locked inside when contacted by 2x the DC.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:40 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 390
Location: London
I agree with DPDexy but the problem is that the rules say "For most rules purposes, a war engine counts as being worth a number of units equal to its starting damage capacity" It arguably implies that this is the default. It would be better if it made it clear that it is worth 1 unit by default and its DC only in specific named instances.

Edit: P.S. which (at the risk of going offtopic) is why I have to conclude that, RAW, you don't get an extra BM for knocking a DC off (and not killing) a WE in a cross fire. You didn't kill a unit.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:53 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
ffoley wrote:
I agree with DPDexy but the problem is that the rules say somewhere that "For most rules purposes, a war engine counts as being worth a number of units equal to its starting damage capacity" It arguably implies that this is the default.

Can you quote chapter and verse on that?

I have always thought it would be hilarious if Warlord Titans had to roll 8 dice for dangerous terrain tests, but I'm not sure "it'd be really funny" is a sensible way to make a balanced game system. >:D

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 390
Location: London
rolling 8 dice for terrain is not a game breaker. but not permitting a warhound to charge a normal unit is.

I'm saying the rules do not actually create that absurdity but could be more clear.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:23 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
Evil and Chaos wrote:
Can you quote chapter and verse on that?

I have always thought it would be hilarious if Warlord Titans had to roll 8 dice for dangerous terrain tests, but I'm not sure "it'd be really funny" is a sensible way to make a balanced game system. >:D


Its in the opening preamble to the war engine section, so 3.0 I guess...

It does then go on to describe all of the scenarios where you count the war engine as X number of units so I'd say it isn't that ambiguous...

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:46 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:43 pm
Posts: 1431
Location: Devon, UK
ffoley wrote:
I agree with DPDexy but the problem is that the rules say "For most rules purposes, a war engine counts as being worth a number of units equal to its starting damage capacity" It arguably implies that this is the default. It would be better if it made it clear that it is worth 1 unit by default and its DC only in specific named instances.

Again, I may be missing something but what part of this isn't covered by 3.3.1?



Quote:
Edit: P.S. which (at the risk of going offtopic) is why I have to conclude that, RAW, you don't get an extra BM for knocking a DC off (and not killing) a WE in a cross fire. You didn't kill a unit.

Yep.

_________________
The Wargaming Trader
NetEA Death Guard Army Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:55 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9525
Location: Worcester, MA
I believe this is how the rules were intended:

Go by the rules in section 1 and assume the WE is a single unit unless section 3 tells you to treat it as a number of units equal to its DC in a certain situation.

It's the same theme for sections 2 and 4 as well. The introductory rhetoric in 3.0 is just that, it primes you for the rules that follow.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:01 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 390
Location: London
IJW Wartrader wrote:
Again, I may be missing something but what part of this isn't covered by 3.3.1?


3.3.1 just tells you e.g. that a baneblade can be contacted by a maximum of 6 units.

So if a DC 8 WE "counts as worth 8 units" can it contact a baneblade? That isn't covered in 3.3.1. But it is covered elsewhere (it can contact it obviously).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 3:38 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:43 pm
Posts: 1431
Location: Devon, UK
ffoley wrote:
3.3.1 just tells you e.g. that a baneblade can be contacted by a maximum of 6 units.

And that the Baneblade can contact up to six non-WE units.

ffoley wrote:
So if a DC 8 WE "counts as worth 8 units" can it contact a baneblade? That isn't covered in 3.3.1. But it is covered elsewhere (it can contact it obviously).

Thanks. So the bit that isn't explicitly covered is War Engines contacting War Engines?

EDIT - just to be clear, I'm asking because I wasn't sure of what's still not covered. No sarcasm or bad tone intended...

_________________
The Wargaming Trader
NetEA Death Guard Army Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War Engine DC in assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:25 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9525
Location: Worcester, MA
A Warlord can base to base a Baneblade. Both the Warlord and the Baneblade count as being in base to base with 1 unit though. The Warlord can be in base to base with 15 other units (WEs or not) and the Baneblade 5 more.

Nothing in 3.0 says that a WE counts as its starting DC in units when in base to base. 3.3.1 only allows 2x starting DC to be base contact with a WE.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net