Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions

 Post subject: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 7:04 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 516
So, we had our annual Epic Armageddon tournament in RopeCon, biggest non-digital gaming convention in Finland.

We used the latest NetEA tournament pack and had some fierce fights, but some questions arose, and it would be super-cool to either have answer to those, pointing where that is said in the rules (if we missed it, after all), or if not anywhere in the rules, then decided by Rules Committee (or whatever you nowadays have =) and then clarified somewhere.

1. if WE with transport capacity (DC 3) is engaged in CC with say Reaver (DC 6), does reaver count as single unit, or as 6 units, thus trapping all the transported units inside? (assumption: even in this case, while it seems silly, WE's count as as many units as their DC)

2. if WE (DC 6) is engaged in CC with WE (DC 3) and one infantry unit, can it then (counter-charge) "barge" 2.a) around the WE or even 2.b) away from WE (dragging it around) (while 2b is a bit too much, 2a seems rule-wise legal; however, I would rule that WE in CC with WE cannot charge move to avoid any issues)

3. if flyer is left in CAP (at the end of turn), 3a) it can be issued new command next turn or 3b) it must be issued new command 3c) it is automatically on CAP next turn and is never activated (here 3c is the only one that makes sense - why would they ever return to base - but we had some dispute so...)

4. can CAP units intercept intercept? (according to rules no, but I recall I have seen this kind of ruling at some point, so checking out... anyway, there is just faq that they cannot intercept another CAP...)

5. new (?) black legion has "sacrifice" rule for champion. Can it be used after summoning roll? (this is how we finally ruled it, but again, clarity asked for as there was a big discussion on this)

6. "fickle masters" (summon daemons) do not "longer" state type of daemons, so RAW allows player to add greater daemons to pool (I'm sure that at some point it was limited to lesser daemons, but as said, did not find it in text or associated FAQs anymore)

7. SM drop pods (and chaos dreadclaws) do not exactly prevent units (after the first) being set to enemy ZoC. While it may be argued that this is the normal rule of the game, OTOH everywhere in the game it explicitly states that units cannot be put to ZoC (disembarks etc.), so some RAW advocate might state that this time it is allowed. Maybe this could be clarified?

8. If supreme commander is transported in a spaceship, can spaceship activation be re-rolled using supreme commander power? (assuming no, as they are never counted as same unit like transport vehicle + unit is)

9. (Emperor's Children list specific) Player can pick retinue with "6 csm, one with character", and then replace 2 or 4 of those CSM with noise marines. In final formation, can the character be in noise marine unit? (we ruled it that way, as there is no very good way to explain the character in original formation than the used text form, and thought that RAI is '6 units, add one character to it', but as RAW it is not allowed)


...okay, I think that is all. Thanks for the great work! As a small thing, it would be SUPER great to have some kind of change file for tournament pack (see 9th age project, for example), as most of our players check the rules once per year (if even that) and it is super-easy to miss a chance as usually there are none (conserning that player)





can it then be re-issued new command next turn,


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:21 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 390
Location: London
1. The rules say for most purposes WE count as a no. of units equal to starting DC. However not for all purposes. There is a rule that says a non-WE can only be contacted in assault by up to two charging units. Can a charging DC3 WE enter base contact with a non-WE? Yes, of course, so for that rule and similar ones about trapping units in transports it must be assumed the WE counts as only one unit. I would say a WE counts as a no. of units equal to starting DC only when it specifically says so to avoid some absurd situations.

2. I think the overriding rule is you can only countercharge if not already in base contact.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 9:32 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 10:23 pm
Posts: 304
Location: Newcastle, UK
I thought WE could counter charge even when in B2B with non-WE units to drag more into B2B? Admittedly the above example muddies the water with the WE also being in B2B with a WE as well

Sent from my 4027X using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 11:46 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
Note that WE's cannot barge other WE's:
Rulebook wrote:
When a war engine charges it is allowed to ‘barge’ any non- war engine units belonging to the target formation out of the way and carry on with its charge move.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 11:49 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
Quote:
3. if flyer is left in CAP (at the end of turn), 3a) it can be issued new command next turn or 3b) it must be issued new command 3c) it is automatically on CAP next turn and is never activated (here 3c is the only one that makes sense - why would they ever return to base - but we had some dispute so...)

CAP is different from overwatch: you must decide to either return to base, or leave on CAP. If left on CAP then no, you cannot activate it the next turn.

Quote:
4. can CAP units intercept intercept? (according to rules no, but I recall I have seen this kind of ruling at some point, so checking out... anyway, there is just faq that they cannot intercept another CAP...)

As you say, the rules do not allow it. You can only CAP a ground attack action (which air assaults are a variant of BTW). However some players house-rule to allow it.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 12:17 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 10:23 pm
Posts: 304
Location: Newcastle, UK
With regards to the CAP question I've just checked the rules and according to the wording of the rules your squadron is stuck on CAP until they make an interception. The only way to get them off CAP is to intercept. So if your opponent never ground attacks then you can apparently never come off CAP is that right?

Sent from my 4027X using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 1:04 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
flyingthruwater wrote:
With regards to the CAP question I've just checked the rules and according to the wording of the rules your squadron is stuck on CAP until they make an interception. The only way to get them off CAP is to intercept. So if your opponent never ground attacks then you can apparently never come off CAP is that right?

Sent from my 4027X using Tapatalk

highlighted the relevant part

Quote:
Combat Air Patrol (CAP)
Only fighters and fighter-bombers can choose this action. Take an action test for the formation and if it passes set up the formation touching your own side’s table edge to show where it will enter play.
A formation on combat air patrol may choose to carry out an interception action in reaction to an enemy ground attack. No initiative test is required to carry out the interception. It takes place after the enemy ground attack formation has made its approach move, but before flak is fired at the ground attackers or they make their own attack. Formations that are on CAP remain on CAP until they make an interception. If they haven’t made an Interception by the end of the turn, then they can either stand down and return to base normally, or remain on CAP into the following turn.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 1:18 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9537
Location: Worcester, MA
rpr wrote:
1. if WE with transport capacity (DC 3) is engaged in CC with say Reaver (DC 6), does reaver count as single unit, or as 6 units, thus trapping all the transported units inside? (assumption: even in this case, while it seems silly, WE's count as as many units as their DC)


I'd play it as 6 units, there's no where in the rules where it says explicitly (as with the number of units that can get the -1 to be hit from being in base contact WEs). The only thing that comes close is the last paragraph of 3.3.1.

Quote:
2. if WE (DC 6) is engaged in CC with WE (DC 3) and one infantry unit, can it then (counter-charge) "barge" 2.a) around the WE or even 2.b) away from WE (dragging it around) (while 2b is a bit too much, 2a seems rule-wise legal; however, I would rule that WE in CC with WE cannot charge move to avoid any issues)


You can't barge WE, once WEs are basing each other neither can move via counter-charges (3.3.1).

Quote:
3. if flyer is left in CAP (at the end of turn), 3a) it can be issued new command next turn or 3b) it must be issued new command 3c) it is automatically on CAP next turn and is never activated (here 3c is the only one that makes sense - why would they ever return to base - but we had some dispute so...)


dptdexys's quoted the relevant sections already. Either stand down and activate CAP formations next turn, or keep them on CAP like you do overwatch formations. No need to activate them then, but their CAP counts as their activation for that turn.

Quote:
4. can CAP units intercept intercept? (according to rules no, but I recall I have seen this kind of ruling at some point, so checking out... anyway, there is just faq that they cannot intercept another CAP...)


They can't, people have house ruled to allow it though.

Quote:
5. new (?) black legion has "sacrifice" rule for champion. Can it be used after summoning roll? (this is how we finally ruled it, but again, clarity asked for as there was a big discussion on this)


Steve54 can confirm, but I believe you have to sacrifice before you roll.

Quote:
6. "fickle masters" (summon daemons) do not "longer" state type of daemons, so RAW allows player to add greater daemons to pool (I'm sure that at some point it was limited to lesser daemons, but as said, did not find it in text or associated FAQs anymore)


The original PDF never stated the type. If a FAQ is needed we can add it, I've never heard of anyone trying to add greaters though.

Quote:
7. SM drop pods (and chaos dreadclaws) do not exactly prevent units (after the first) being set to enemy ZoC. While it may be argued that this is the normal rule of the game, OTOH everywhere in the game it explicitly states that units cannot be put to ZoC (disembarks etc.), so some RAW advocate might state that this time it is allowed. Maybe this could be clarified?


The Marines are disembarking from the drop pod, 1.7.5 says they can't disembark into an enemy ZoC.

Quote:
8. If supreme commander is transported in a spaceship, can spaceship activation be re-rolled using supreme commander power? (assuming no, as they are never counted as same unit like transport vehicle + unit is)


It can, see the third Q&A under 2.1: http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#specialist-units

Quote:
9. (Emperor's Children list specific) Player can pick retinue with "6 csm, one with character", and then replace 2 or 4 of those CSM with noise marines. In final formation, can the character be in noise marine unit? (we ruled it that way, as there is no very good way to explain the character in original formation than the used text form, and thought that RAI is '6 units, add one character to it', but as RAW it is not allowed)


You're allowed to replace the unit, the character wouldn't go with it, it would be placed on the replacement as you did. It's worded the way it is to mirror the Black Legion list (no putting the characters on Rhinos, etc.).

Quote:
...okay, I think that is all. Thanks for the great work! As a small thing, it would be SUPER great to have some kind of change file for tournament pack (see 9th age project, for example), as most of our players check the rules once per year (if even that) and it is super-easy to miss a chance as usually there are none (conserning that player)


There's a commit log here: https://github.com/dsusco/tp.net-armageddon.org/commits

Any changes would be in there and are usually summarized in the change title.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 6:12 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 516
Dave wrote:
rpr wrote:
8. If supreme commander is transported in a spaceship, can spaceship activation be re-rolled using supreme commander power? (assuming no, as they are never counted as same unit like transport vehicle + unit is)


It can, see the third Q&A under 2.1: http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#specialist-units


You see, our debate started from this very FAQ point as it states that it can be used if it affects that unit's formation, BUT is units in spaceship part of that spaceship formation? After all, after they are dropped, they act like they have never acted and as have been there on the battlefield always. Clearly this is different than in case of SC transported in aircraft, for example, where they are stated to be same formation until after air landing/assault is done.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 6:19 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9537
Location: Worcester, MA
The intention was that the SC would count as part of the Spacecraft's formation.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 6:27 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 516
Dave wrote:
rpr wrote:
5. new (?) black legion has "sacrifice" rule for champion. Can it be used after summoning roll? (this is how we finally ruled it, but again, clarity asked for as there was a big discussion on this)


Steve54 can confirm, but I believe you have to sacrifice before you roll.


As game-balance comment, that would make it quite sucky - in average, +2 to summoning roll for sacrificing 75-90 points. The way how we played at least made it interesting "hm... should or not... " pondering.

(likewise EC titans seem overpriced for what they are - they should have 1+ activation or cheaper. One knight model not having DC2 is also very oddity, and them in general having different stats than in LatD is strange, why just not have daemon knight formation like in that list)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: NetEA Tournament Pack 2016-06-16 questions
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 6:43 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9537
Location: Worcester, MA
rpr wrote:
As game-balance comment, that would make it quite sucky - in average, +2 to summoning roll for sacrificing 75-90 points. The way how we played at least made it interesting "hm... should or not... " pondering.


OK, again ask Steve. Personally, it sounds silly for a Sorcerer to sit there contemplating whether to sacrifice or not in the middle of a battle. Not to mention a chaos god is likely to be pretty miffed if denied a sacrifice.

Quote:
(likewise EC titans seem overpriced for what they are - they should have 1+ activation or cheaper. One knight model not having DC2 is also very oddity, and them in general having different stats than in LatD is strange, why just not have daemon knight formation like in that list)


Having played quite a few games against those EC Knights, read through the battle reports and voted on a price increase for one of them you're in the minority in thinking them overpriced. The LatD list crammed three units into one stat-line (one being a small armored vehicle and two being Imperial Knight equivalents). Making them separate units was for the fun of it. It added to the flavor of the list, let people use models like they did in SM/TL and gave the list more options to boot.

This kind of stuff belongs in respective army list threads though.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron

Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net