Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE

 Post subject: Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2014 3:05 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:43 pm
Posts: 22
Hi,

I am unsure how to correctly play immobile transport WE with self-planetfall, especially the Ork Drop-Rok.

With war engines, troops can typically only disembark at the end of the WE's move, and then shoot or attack with the WE, counting as one formation until the action is concluded.
For "normal" Planatfall, any transported units may disembark directly after landing (during the spacecraft's activation), and later that turn take their own action. As I understand, the formations can take independent actions, e.g. the landa flies off and the ork mob does something else.
For Self-Planetfall you follow the same rules (e.g. "free" disembarking after landing), just that it all happens in the WE's activation.

First the Drop-Rok declares e.g. an engage action, and passes its 1+ activation (I guess the Ork bonus applies, as the Drop-Rok is technically a ground unit). It is placed on the board and scatter is determined.

Now, which of the following is correct?
A) Before the engage move, the transported ork warband has the choice to disembark up to 5cm away or stay on board, and they disembark. They can then make their engage move of 15cm, but have to remain in coherency with the immobile Drop-Rok as they still count as one formation until the assault is concluded.
B) as above, but without the need to remain in coherency as that rule is only valid if the formation moves with the WE.
C) The transport WE rules supersede the planetfall rules, and the warband can only disembark after the engage move (of 0cm, as the Drop-Rok is immobile). Hence, the assault fails if the Drop-Rok scatters more than 5cm from the next enemy unit.

Greetings, Pepper


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:31 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Hi Pepper

As I understand it, "Self-Planetfall" combines the arrival on table with a standard action. As a consequence the troops being transported do not have a separate activation, so behave much like troops in an air-transport.

So, the Ork Drop-Rock declares the action, scatters from the pre-determined landing position, makes its "move" (0cm) and the contents disembark within 5cm of the Drop-Rock. If the activation was an "engage move", this automatically fails if none of the units are within range of the enemy.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 8:51 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:43 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks for the answer. That is what I also first thought how it is supposed to be, but I am not yet convinced it is correct.
From the Self-Planetfall rule:
"If the activation is successful, place the formation at the plotted landing zone and determine scatter according to Core Rules 4.4 as if it were a normal Planetfall, including loaded units disembarking up to 5cm. The formation’s action proceeds as normal in all respects from that point. In other words, the formation gets the “free move” from Planetfall placement at the beginning of its action but in all other ways activates as normal."
From that I read that case A in my post above should be correct, that is the warband gets the 15 cm engage move, as they would just be a "normal" formation including infantry (not embarked) and a WE. Basically, as I understand it, when the engage action is declared the warband is mounted, but when the action starts they are already dismounted.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2014 10:07 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Hmm - the point is that it is the Ork Drop-Rock that activates, not the troops being carried. So if it declares an assault, I am presuming that the normal WE transport rules apply (see 3.1.3) and the transported troops may only disembark 5cm as part of the assault.

Now, if the Drop-Rock declared a different activation, I believe that the transported formation(s) then behave according to the "planetfall" rules. If you check the Planetfall rules, the option is either to disembark immediately after the planetfall, or to stay onboard while the Drop-Rock carries out its activation.

A more reasonable example is the Dark Eldar "Executor Landing Module", which has both weaponry and mobility. Using this, the Dark-Eldar player may declare a 'double' allowing the module to arrive, drop off its troops and then double (and fire) like any other normal formation. The troops dropped off can activate later on in the turn.

Note that the action is declared before the player knows the result of the scattering dice, so if an assault is declared there is a good chance that scattering will place the self-planetfalling transport out of assault range. If this is obviously going to happen, the onboard troops may be disembarked before the transport moves, (and activate later in the turn) or they may be kept onboard to disembark after the transport's next activation.

Does that make better sense?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:28 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:43 pm
Posts: 22
Ok, that makes it more clear.
So my mistake was that I thought the drop-rok and the transported formation count as one formation for the whole action, even if the units disembark at the beginning.

Thanks again,
Pepper


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:35 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Dr. Pepper wrote:
Ok, that makes it more clear.
So my mistake was that I thought the drop-rok and the transported formation count as one formation for the whole action, even if the units disembark at the beginning.
They would count as a single formation if the troops stay on-board during the WE activation otherwise they are separate formations.

Indeed, on thinking further about this, there seems to be two options:-
  • Disembark immediately after the planetfalling scattering is completed. At this point the transport and troops become separate formations. The transport then finishes it's declared activation in isolation, while the troops may activate later in the turn.
  • Stay on-board at the end of planetfalling and disembark after the transport finishes its movement. The transported troops are considered to be part of the WE formation until the end of the assault or activation, so may shoot or assault etc - and are deemed to have activated.

I hope that makes things even clearer ;)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 2:34 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
Here's a relevant FAQ:
Quote:
Q:Can units transported by Planetfall (for example Assault troops in a Thunderhawk) disembark as soon as the transporting unit lands?

A:The intent of the Planetfall rule is that units landing via Planetfall get to land for free early in the turn, and then function as if they had been on the table since the start of the turn. This means that they can take their action later in the turn, as they won’t have used it up yet – they are literally counted as having done nothing during the current turn.
Units on board WE or other transport can choose to disembark immediately when they land or they can remain on board. If they choose to remain loaded they act as a normal mounted formation. Regardless of the choice to disembark or remain embarked, the formation may take an action on the turn it lands, as the process of landing and disembarking is free – in other words, just a way to get the units onto the table as part of the spacecraft’s activation. Note if a formation chooses to remain embarked on a War Engine transport, 3.1.3 will apply as normal.

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:08 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:43 pm
Posts: 22
Unfortunately when first reading the FAQ I thought it doesn't apply in this case, as neither the thunderhawk nor the marines in the example have taken an action yet. In the case of self-planetfall, however, the WE transport has already declared its action and passed its activation roll. It's a bit wonky how that interacts with the free disembarkation.

I get it now and fully agree with Ginger's reasoning, I'm just saying that it is not self-explanatory ;)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Onyx, that FAQ applies to the 'standard' version of planetfall, where the spaceship activates to get the other formations onto the battlefield as part of its activation.

IFAIK there is no FAQ for "Self-planetfall", and it looks like there should be one to explain the options.

I might add that I have always opposed the notion of self-planetfall as being unnecessary and indeed somewhat 'gamey', and I thought we were withdrawing it . . . .


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules question self-planetfalling transport WE
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 12:59 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
I almost added to my post that it was for the standard planetfall situation but I really thought it wasn't necessary as it is obvious. ::)

I included the FAQ to clarify the situation about disembarking transported units for which the FAQ is entirely appropriate. ;)

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net