lylekelm wrote:
From memory (and yes it is failing !) I thought the plasma destructor originally couldn't be used on the arm of a warlord. It was restricted to the carapace only.
Hi!
That was my belief as well, Lylekelm, but I have seen pictures of titans with them on the arms. Of course that doesn't mean it was "legal".
I read the scans I have made from my original books and interestingly in the first AT rule book the only weapon restriction for hard point restrictions are close combat weapon which are arm only. All other weapons have NO restrictions. Advanced rules section page 35 AT rulebook.
Now reading the Codex Titanicus book, it becomes VERY confusing. They had grades for heavy weapons, very heavy weapons and a letter designation for weapon types in hard points. Then, confusing this further, they did not do the rules by titan type like we do now (warhound, reaver, warlord), but by configuration. Which means that a warlord nemesis configuration could mount ANY type of weapon in any hard point (so you could legally put plasma destructors on the arms or carapace), but a warlord deathbringer configuration could not.
So the answer would be both "yes" and "no" depending on the configuration.
I think I like our way better.
Edit: I also noted that the names are different. A plasma cannon now was a plasma gun then and the plasma destructor now was the plasma cannon then!! How's that for confusion!
Primarch