Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Placing subsequent blast templates

 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:50 pm
Posts: 102
Location: Bristol
What about the part of the rules which says you get -1 to hit if at least half the model is out of sight?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:59 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 8:10 pm
Posts: 2642
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Edgar-San wrote:
What about the part of the rules which says you get -1 to hit if at least half the model is out of sight?


There is not LOS in this instance. Its difficult to claim cover when you're standing in the open and a cliff is in-between you and the firing unit. :-)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 11:29 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
pixelgeek wrote:
Edgar-San wrote:
What about the part of the rules which says you get -1 to hit if at least half the model is out of sight?


There is not LOS in this instance. Its difficult to claim cover when you're standing in the open and a cliff is in-between you and the firing unit. :-)
Not to say I am necessarily of the opposite opinion in terms of whether the -1 applies in these situations, but why would you think that LOS does not apply, despite the barrage rules saying that LOS is a consideration? Barrages don't have to be fired indirectly, and if LOS to a unit can be obscured by intervening terrain such that a barrage weapon can't fire at all (which it can), I don't see any reason why a partially obscured LOS should obviously not bring about the cover modifier.

Consider the most simple case - a single unit behind a building attacked by a direct fire (barrage) weapon. If it is wholly obscured, the weapon can't be fired. If it is partially obscured, is it really so clear cut that there should be no cover modifier for having to shoot through intervening terrain?

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:44 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 8:10 pm
Posts: 2642
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Kyrt wrote:
Consider the most simple case - a single unit behind a building attacked by a direct fire (barrage) weapon. If it is wholly obscured, the weapon can't be fired. If it is partially obscured, is it really so clear cut that there should be no cover modifier for having to shoot through intervening terrain?


But that isn't the case being discussed at all

_________________
Guns don't break formations. Blast Markers break formations.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:21 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:50 pm
Posts: 102
Location: Bristol
pixelgeek wrote:
Kyrt wrote:
Consider the most simple case - a single unit behind a building attacked by a direct fire (barrage) weapon. If it is wholly obscured, the weapon can't be fired. If it is partially obscured, is it really so clear cut that there should be no cover modifier for having to shoot through intervening terrain?


But that isn't the case being discussed at all


It is basicly the same issue.

I'm surprised that everyone is not considering the actual rules and is basicly just saying "We've always done it this way, so that's the right way".

The whole point of bringing this up was to consider if we have all being doing something wrong for years.

Nowhere in the rules does it say you don't get hull down against barrages.

The rules say- if at least half a model is out of sight, you get -1 to hit. Obviously indirect weapons would ignore this as they ignore LOS. You need to be in a piece of terrain to get cover from them. But I can't see any reason why you wouldn't get -1 to hit from direct barrages 'shooting round corners', as at least half your model is out of LOS.

Can anyone dispute this, using the rules, not just past playing experiences?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:59 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
What I would say is that the LOS restrictions for barrages are different: LOS is effectively granted if a shooting unit has LOS to at least one unit under the template, which creates a large ambiguity in the rules. To be honest in my example of a single unit being targeted by a direct fire barrage, I would find it weird NOT to apply the -1 modifier, and I can't remember anything in the rules to suggest otherwise. But once you start to consider multiple firing units and multiple target units, it gets complicated.

For example, you *could* interpret the rules such that the -1 modifier applies to all target units if, and only if, at least one of the shooting units can only see partially obscured unit(s). Then you start to have all sorts of weirdness where you are forced to place the template to cover certain units and thus take the -1 for everything. OR you could do it on a model by model basis, e.g. "this unit is partially obscured from all the shooting units, so gets -1", but I'm not sure if this reflects the area-effect type weapons concerned.

The problem is that the rules don't say what is the correct interpretation, though someone may come along and post a section of the rules that clear it up...

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:25 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
I agree with Dave and others, Barrages work differently from direct fire; when you place a template, the only question is whether the target unit under the template is actually in cover or not - and the dice for that unit is modified accordingly.

The definitions of 1.8.4 only apply to direct fire; the target is "in cover" if partially obscured (by a hill etc) as the shots could hit the obstruction rather than the target.

Note, for direct fire barrages, the LOS restriction only applies to being able to set up the template on a unit within the target formation, after that the damage is caused by the barrage weapons so you only get cover if you are actually in it.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:43 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
The barrage rules are just a bit wonky when it comes to direct fire. You only need LoS and range to one unit under the template when you place the first. So long as you have that then it, and subsequent templates, can go wherever the most units take them. Effectively that overrides needing LoS to every unit hit as with regular shooting and the concealment for hull down. If you don't need LoS to something why would blocked/obscured LoS penalize your dice rolls?

Another way to think about it is there is a bit of a parabolic arc to these shots. Not so much as true indirect fire, but enough so that the shells come down at such an angle where directional cover is of no use.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 7:14 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:30 am
Posts: 1486
Location: Örebro, Sweden
Dave wrote:
The barrage rules are just a bit wonky when it comes to direct fire. You only need LoS and range to one unit under the template when you place the first. So long as you have that then it, and subsequent templates, can go wherever the most units take them. Effectively that overrides needing LoS to every unit hit as with regular shooting and the concealment for hull down. If you don't need LoS to something why would blocked/obscured LoS penalize your dice rolls?


Actually I think this isn't the case. We can read under the rules for placing extra templates

Quote:
"Note that once the first template has been placed, the attacker may choose where to place the additional templates, as long as they are touching the first template, and no line of fire, placement or range restrictions apply (see below)."


Line of fire requirements for templates are (like we all know) that you have to have line of fire to at least one unit under the template. The above means this also applies to extra templates, they need to be placed so that the firing weapons/units actually have to have line of fire to at least one unit under them.

cheers


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:35 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:16 pm
Posts: 4682
Location: Wheaton, IL
Borka I think you're emphasising that wrong. I've always read it that you can place the subsequent templates anywhere as long as thay are touching the first template, full stop. And that no LoS, placement or range restrictions apply to the subsequent placement.

_________________
SG

Ghost's Paint Blog, where everything goes that isn't something else.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:30 am
Posts: 1486
Location: Örebro, Sweden
Spectrar Ghost wrote:
Borka I think you're emphasising that wrong. I've always read it that you can place the subsequent templates anywhere as long as thay are touching the first template, full stop. And that no LoS, placement or range restrictions apply to the subsequent placement.


You might have it right I'm not a native english speaker so I could easily miss that kind of thing, but the text end with "(see below)".

This reference is to the text with the header "Using Barrage Templates"

This text reads
Quote:
...In addition, templates must be placed in such a way as to get as many enemy units from the target formation under them as possible within the restrictions for lines of fire and range. This stops players ‘sniping’ at important units with artillery.

The text talks about templates in it's plural form so I assume that it applies to all templates not just the first especially since the text "extra barrage templates" make a reference to it.

cheers


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:59 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:21 pm
Posts: 1978
Location: Thompson, MB, Canada
I think, Borka, that the "no placement restrictions apply" is intended to mean that the information below does NOT apply to extra templates.

_________________
The Apocrypha of Skaros 1.1
Rogue Trader Expedition 0.4
The Horus Heresy 0.5
Night Lords 0.1
My Trade Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Placing subsequent blast templates
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:32 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:30 am
Posts: 1486
Location: Örebro, Sweden
Yeah I see what you mean and that the sentence can be interpreted that way. Which makes it a badly written rule/sentence because it can be read both ways and we have to second guess what the author means.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net