This is getting needlessly complicated and confusing.
I'm not in favour of drawing lines between Scout units or of allowing Scout formations to be able to stop/effect air assaults.
If a WE transport lands in base contact with it's intended target (if in a non intermingled Scout formations ZoC) then there is nothing the Scout formation can do about it (except add fire support) and rightly so.
It's not the same as teleporting or drop pods and they shouldn't be brought into this as Neal has mentioned.
There is the often quoted rule:
Quote:
Note that charging units may not enter the zone of control of enemy units from another formation that is not the target of the assault.
Which of course lead to the situation of giving Scout units way too much influence.
We now have the FAQ which makes the situation
playable:
Quote:
Q: It’s possible to place a Scout unit just behind another friendly unit, so that the Scouts 10cm ZOC covers the friendly unit too. If this happens, can I charge the non-Scout unit? The rules say I can’t enter a ZOC unless I’m charging the unit it belongs to.
A: You are, of course, allowed to charge the unit! If an explanation is needed, then let’s say that the rule for moving into base contact with the enemy takes precedence over the rule for not entering another unit’s ZOC.
The rule for moving into base contact
takes precedence over the rule for not entering another unit's ZoC.
It's not rocket surgery...
It really is that simple.
Anything else is turning this situation into a rules lawyer's biggest fantasy...
*Edit - just realised this is probably not the right thread for this comment...
I'll leave it here for now though.