Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Assault winner is broken - withdraw AND/OR consolidate?

 Post subject: Assault winner is broken - withdraw AND/OR consolidate?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:29 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:34 pm
Posts: 213
Location: York, North Yorkshire
Hi All

If a formation wins an assault, but is broken as a result, do they get to take both the withdrawal AND consolidate or is it one or the other?

Thanks


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault winner is broken - withdraw AND/OR consolidate?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:31 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
Just a withdrawal.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault winner is broken - withdraw AND/OR consolidate?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 3:18 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Meph is right, but the winner has a choice about whether to take the Withdrawal. The winners can choose to sit in place and not suffer the consequences for ending a withdrawal within 15cm of the enemy.

Quote:
1.12.9 Winner Consolidates
After the loser has withdrawn, the winning formation receives
a number of Blast markers equal to the number of units that
were killed by the enemy. Note that it is possible for a
formation to win an assault and then become broken by the
casualties that they suffered! In this case, the winning
formation is broken, but does not have to make a withdrawal
even if other enemy units are within 15cm (see 1.13.3).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault winner is broken - withdraw AND/OR consolidate?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 3:27 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:34 pm
Posts: 213
Location: York, North Yorkshire
Does the winner loose anything by taking a withdrawal and not a consolidate?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault winner is broken - withdraw AND/OR consolidate?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 3:44 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
Not really...you get to move twice with the withdraw over 5cms for a consolidate. Normally you want to move to a safe place to rally and get back in the game.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault winner is broken - withdraw AND/OR consolidate?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 4:13 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Is it a choice?

Normally, breaking short-circuits everything else going on. I always played it that the choice was Withdrawal or nothing, because once the attacker breaks the rest of the normal action is taken off the table.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault winner is broken - withdraw AND/OR consolidate?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 4:16 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
No I don't think the winner gets a choice.

If they receive enough BM's to break they move straight to the withdrawal step, with the exception that they can stay in place and aren't auto destroyed if with 15cm's of any enemy.

If not then they may consolidate if they wish too.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 54 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net