Jaggedtoothgrin wrote:
i said they cannot possibly barge without first having landed (because until that time they are aircraft, and aircraft ignore all units, which means they cannot move over them, a prerequisite for barging) and then, having landed, they become a 0cm move unit that cannot possibly move over an enemy unit with which to barge them.
Wow. I had typed out a really long response and then I realized that you are sometimes using "move over" to mean establishing base contact rather than just in the sense of "positioned on top of."
It's clear aircraft can be positioned over enemy units. That's not base contact, just flying overhead, ignoring everything on the ground. 4.2.1:
Quote:
Aircraft are assumed to be travelling high enough above the ground to fly over terrain, zones of control, and other units (in other words they ignore all three things!)
If an air transport ends its approach move directly over an enemy unit and lands, that converts the aircraft to a ground unit, which is now in base contact with and on top of the enemy unit. They don't have to "move over" an enemy unit after landing because they are already on top of it before they change to a ground unit.
Your last assertion above seems to be that the aircraft has to "move over" (make base contact with) the enemy only after it becomes a ground unit because that is how the 3.3.1 barging rules apply ground-move WEs. However, the air assault rules provide the landing process in place of on-the-ground movement. They refer to the aircraft landing "as if it were charging."
Quote:
Air Assault: Transport aircraft may choose to land as
described above, and then it and any units that disembark are
allowed to fight an assault instead of shooting. If this option is
chosen then the aircraft ... may enter
enemy zones of control as if they were charging.
If it lands on top of an enemy unit, then "as if it were charging" would include barging effects.
This inclusion of barging effects as part of the "as if it were charging" idea in addition to the explicit ZoC entry is the only extrapolation in the FAQ. That contradicts no rules or other FAQs.
Quote:
there is absolutely nothing to say that they can only barge units they directly stop on top of, that is certainly not a part of the regular barging rules, so why would it apply to aircraft?
I agree that the regular barging rules don't have any "only when they stop on top" limitation. That restriction applies to aircraft because it's part of the aircraft rules, not the barging rules.
I also agree it's not explicitly stated as a limitation in the aircraft rules. It's the result of applying the aircraft movement and landing rules. The aircraft does not become a ground unit until after the end of the approach move, when all movement has stopped. The result is that with no remaining move, only units the aircraft land on top of can be subject to barging effects.
Quote:
so what is to stop a thunderhawk from flying across the table, grabbing the enemy supreme commander and two other friends
This is what made me realize you are conflating "moving over" as an aircraft with "moving over" as a ground WE. "Moving over" as an aircraft obviously has no base contact and no barging.
===
We can beat on the OW/aircraft rules elsewhere, but whether the FAQ is OW-specific or because it shouldn't exist at all, we both agree it is not relevant to the barging rules.