Spectrar Ghost wrote:
EA 3.1.3 Transport War Engines wrote:
Instead a war engine transport vehicle can carry units from another formation, as long as the entire formation can fit inside the war engine, and as long as the entire formation mounts up as part of the same move.
If I'm reading this right, then you couldn't transport the Devs in the Thunderhawk at all, since the entire formation couldn't fit.
And the parallel text from 4.2.5:
Quote:
Transport aircraft are treated in the same
manner as war engine transport vehicles, and are only allowed
to transport units from another formation as long as the whole
formation can fit inside the transport aircraft (see 3.1.3).
I would say you cannot load the Devs unless they ditched the Rhinos prior to the Thawk landing/embarking.
There is definitely no partially-loaded status available. Both the aircraft and WE transport rules are explicit on that. You cannot have Devs loaded and Rhinos on the board.
However, I could see an argument that the embarkation onto the aircraft is the "move" that takes the Rhinos out of coherency. If that's the way you played it, the Rhinos would have to be removed and the BMs applied to the Devs immediately upon embarkation to avoid the split formation.