Plastic Rat wrote:
Aight, I'll keep it quick. If you can offer an answer please, please tell me where to look so I can find the rule myself. I've tried to find explanations of these and come up dry, so now I'm bothering you fine people.
1) Suppression and units in transports.
Do units inside transport vehicles count for units that are suppressed from blast markers?
E.g. I have 1 razorback and 1 stand of tactical marines left from my tactical detachment. The formation has 2 blast markers. Therefore one of the units will be suppressed and one can fire. If the marines enter the razorback, can I choose them to be the ones who are suppressed and the razorback gets to fire?
No, they can't (with caveat).
From 1.9.2, Suppression.
"One unit that has a line of fire and is within range may not shoot for each Blast marker on the formation. "
From 1.7.5, Transport Vehicles
"Units being transported may not shoot unless the transport vehicle’s datasheet specifically says otherwise."
So while it doesn't explicitly state that a unit in a transport vehicle can't be chosen for suppression, it can be inferred by the requirement that the unit is required to have Line of Fire, unless you really want to twist the rules (because I can find no passage that says a unit in a vehicle has no Line of Fire, just that they can't shoot).
I don't know of anyone who'd play it that way (allowing transported to count), but I don't think there's a definitive rule. The rulebook has several weird wording conventions.
Plastic Rat wrote:
2) Warhound titans and detachments.
I can buy warhound titans in groups of 1 to 2. If I buy more than 1 are they counted as being in the same unit/detachment? Can I buy 2 separately? Do most people split them up or keep them together if the option is there?
Each detachment bought, is an activation. If you buy a single Warhound, that's one activation. If you buy a second Warhound, that's another activation. If you instead choose to buy a pair of Warhounds for a detachment, they're a single activation. It was the versatility of single warhounds purchased in multiples, that made most lists put a price premium on single Warhounds.
Plastic Rat wrote:
3) Transport Warmachine Aircraft and passengers
(a few questions here)
a) If a Thunderhawk carrying a formation lands can the passengers disembark and fire on the same activation?
b) If said Thunderhawk has been hit by AA fire on its way in and accumulated blast markers, I assume the blast markers do not apply to passengers when they disembark, since they're not actually part of the same detachment as the Thunderhawk? (just need to make sure)
c) Can the Thunderhawk change its facing when it lands or is it limited to the same direction it is facing after the final turn of its approach move?
d) What action must my Thunderhawk take if it is going to land and drop off passengers? Ground attack?
e) If I want to pick up passengers and move somewhere else with my Thunderhawk, do I have to leave the board first with them, or can I take off and either hang around or land again?
That's it for now, thanks in advance for any replies.
a) Yes. Section 4.2.5 Landing, explicitly allows it.
b) Incorrect. Section 3.1.3 Transport War Engines. "..the war engine and the transported units are treated as a
single formation until the shooting attack or assault has been resolved.". If it's not more than 3BM's (due to ATSKNF), this can be avoided by making sure that the Thunderhawk is the furthest model, and so none of the combined shooting is suppressed.
c) Same direction. Section 4.2.5 Landing "Once landed, the aircraft is treated in all ways as a ground unit with a speed of 0 (ie, it may not move)", combined with Section 1.7 Movement "They may turn freely as they move." doesn't allow the Thunderhawk to do anything once it's stopped flying.
d) Yes. Section 4.2.5 "An aircraft must carry out a ground attack action in order to transport units."
e) You must depart the board first. A Thunderhawk can only activate once. If it flys on and lands, it can only disengage that turn. If it's landed from a previous turn, it's immobile, and can only disengage that turn (all covered in 4.2.5-6). Besides which, Section 3.1.3 doesn't allow a formation to be embarked and disembarked in the same turn, by the same war engine.
Morgan Vening