Quote:
I've been looking for a ruling that matches what I've been told re defensive a/c flak (i.e. only shoots when an a/c ends it's move in arc/range) but I'm struggling. I've not done a search here but I'm sure this is where it has been clarified.
The rules say that ground based AA can fire when an aircraft's flight path crosses its AA fire arc.
(Airborne) Aircraft are, by ommission, therefore not allowed to fire AA at aircraft that are just passing through their AA bubble.
Just went and read the rules, and it looks like the only situations where you can fire AA as an airborne aircraft is :
A- If you're making an interception or CAP (A type of interception)
B- If your aircraft is being directly intercepted.
So it seems just ending a move in an aircraft's AA arc isn't good enough, you also have to be directly intercepting that aircraft in order to trigger its AA?***
Quote:
I also seem to recall that the accepted convention is that all disengagement moves are considered simultaneous.
A side-effect of this interpretation (Which may be wrong), would be that order of disengagement (simulatious or not) is irrelevant in the end phase, because airborne flak can only be triggered by an Intercept or a CAP.
***Unless it's on the ground, when its flak works like a ground-based AA unit.