Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Master FAQ Posted

 Post subject: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 2:25 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
If you spot any typos, post them here.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 4:42 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Is this a new and improved Master FAQ?

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 4:44 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9525
Location: Worcester, MA
Neal, can I request that you put the date last updated in the thread title?

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 5:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Quote:
Q: Do troops in a Transport lose all their Armour Saves when the Transport is hit by an MW or TK weapon?
A: No, saves that could be taken if the unit were hit directly by a MW may still be taken. So, for example, Terminators with Reinforced Armour would get a save against an MW hit. But unless the unit has an ability that gives them a save against MW or TK hits they would be destroyed automatically just as if they had been hit by those weapons themselves.


You should note that Ignore Cover weapons will also negate the 6+ Cover Save if the transported units don't have a save.

Quote:
Q: A failed dangerous terrain check does not allow a saving throw for vehicles. Does that mean any troops inside are denied an armor save as well?
A: No. Transported troops roll their armor saves as normal.


The 6+ Cover Save isn't allowed?

Typo:
Quote:
Q: Devastators have multiple weapons. Is the answer about splitting fire into AP and AT the same if it is one weapon with multiple shots. For example, can a Warhound titan fire its Vulcan Megabolter as 3 AP3+ shots and 1 AP5+ shot.
A: No. The decision to choose AP or AT is by weapon. In the example, the Vulcan Megabolter shots would have to be all AP or all AT, not a mix of the two.


The marked part should be "AT5+"

Typo:
Quote:
Q: Barrage templates - is it possible to place the first template over units to whom no LoF exists as long as there is a LoF to at least one unit under the template? Can I hit units I can't see?
A: Yes. As noted, only a single unit under the template has to be in LoS and range. That means that means you can have units out of LoS and beyond the nominal range of the BP weapon under the template.


Marked part can be deleted.
Also it should be outlined if it is intended that only one unit has to be in LOS AND Range. Eg that you are able to "stretch" the range of the first template.

Quote:
Q: Let's say I have a formation on overwatch. It gets pounded by an artillery barrage, leaving some units out of cohesion. Can the units still activate for Overwatch normally (subject to blast markers, etc.), then next turn move to get back into cohesion? Must the unit activate normally and perform a move action to get back into cohesion? What if the unit activated to go on Overwatch, gets damaged, then performs the Overwatch activation? Do they still have until the end of next turn to get back into cohesion?
Or is it who's out of cohesion at the end of the turn dies?
A: 1) A formation may not select Overwatch (or Sustained Fire for that matter) as an action if it has any units out of coherency (1.6.1)
2) Actually firing on overwatch is not a new action per se - the initiative test has been taken already, it is a continuation of the same action. (1.10) If the formation becomes broken, the action is cancelled. (1.13.3)
3) Any units which are out of coherency are destroyed at the end of any move. (1.7.4)


This doesn't answer the question clearly. The formation is already on Overwatch and gets casualties and now hase someunits out of formation. What canthe formation do?
a) Remain on overwatch, shoots if it has the opportunity but has to choose an action with a Move part in the next turn. Out of formation units won't be destroyed because Overwatch has no Move part.
b) Can't shoot in Overwatch as it is forced to loose Overwatch and take an action with a Move part before the turn ends.
c) Can shoot in Overwatch but if it does so looses the units which are out of formation.

Quote:
Q: If the closest enemy unit is already engaged (it has two units in base-to-base contact with it) do I still need to Counter-charge that unit or can I Counter-charge another enemy unit?
A: If the closest enemy is already fully engaged, you may carry on the counter charge and try to contact the next closest enemy unit.

Only one unit in base-to-base contact is needed to cause the loss of the ZOC. You aren't forced to move the maximum number of units in base-to-base contact.
Quote from 1.12.3: "Once a unit has been contacted it looses its zone of control for the rest of the assault, allowing other units to pass it." No mention that it has to be contacted by two units.

Typo:
Quote:
Q: Is supporting fire affected by suppression?
A: No. Units lending support in an assault are not effected by suppression.

Marked part should be "affected".

Quote:
Q: Do broken units still exert a Zone of Control?
A: Yes. The only way a unit loses its ZoC is if it is in base-to-base contact with an enemy unit (or a number of enemy units equal to twice its starting DC if it is a War Engine).

Wrong. As stated above only one unit in contact is enough to loose the ZOC.
3.1.3 clearly states: "...they only lose their zone of control once they have been charged by a number of units qual their starting damage capacity."

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Last edited by BlackLegion on Thu May 20, 2010 6:55 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 6:19 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
It's the 08 FAQ with things added that have come up since. I'll add the date.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 6:20 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
BlackLegion wrote:
The 6+ Cover Save isn't allowed?

Yes, it would be allowed. "as normal"


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 6:31 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
As you will note i edit my posting as i read through the FAQ. I will post a new posting to announce that i'm finished.

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 7:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
So. I'm finished with the Core Rules section.

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 9:20 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Specialist Units finished now War Engines.

Typo:
Quote:
Q: If war engines are included in a formation with normal units, for example a Battle Fortress, is it allowed to be up-to 15cms (5x Starting damage) from the rest of its formation? If it is allowed to be so is it also allowed to be carrying troops at this distance?
A: Yes to both questions.

Marked part schould be "3x"

Typi:
Quote:
Q: When placing a barrage template on a formation that contains War Engine(s) and other units does the War Engine count as a single unit or do you count its starting DC when determining if you have the most units under a template as per 1.9.8? For example: a formation with a Baneblade (DC 3) a 10 Imperial Guard Infantry in it is attacked by a barrage that has a single template. If the template is placed over the Baneblade does it count as one unit or three units (from its starting DC of 3)?
A: The WE should count it's DC when working out where to place barrage templates. So in the example the Baneblade would count as three "units" to determine the placement of the barrage template

Marked part should be "and". Also the second marked part should read "count it's starting DC" to make it more clear.

Typo:
Quote:
Q: Is it only Titan Killer and Macro Weapon attacks that can hurt a Titan?
A: Titans and other War Engines may be affected by at attacks. MW and TK weapons are just more effective against the massive armours of most Titans and War Engines

Markedpart should be "AT".

Quote:
Q: I've played a game with Harridan and gargoyles making up a formation. In the game there was a Harridan (2DC WE) and 10 gargoyles (infantry). I ended up in two engages during the battle with the swarm. So my question is. How do I give out the hits?
A: You allocate as normal, closest to farthest. When the allocation sequence reaches a WE it is allocated a number of hits equal to its DC, then you move to the next unit to be allocated.

In the current V9.2.1 Tyranid army list the Harridan is a DC4 WE. You might want to exclude units from yet experimental army list from your examples and stick to core rulebook units and formations.


Finished. Next Aerospace Operations.

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 10:14 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
section 1.7 the word "withdrawls" should be "withdrawals"

Quote:
1.7: Movement

Q: Can units move off the gaming table?
A: Only if specifically allowed to do so by a special rule.

Q: One of the FAQ entries draws a conclusion that seems overly broad to me. Section 1.7.1 talks about various orders allowing formations to move. The Overwatch section of the FAQ rules that any time a formation is allowed to move, it must move.
A: You can move zero, if you wish, but that is still considered a move. You don't have to move. In fact, some orders like Sustained Fire require you to stay stationary. Other than that order, you are merely moving zero.

Withdrawls are different, in


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 10:26 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Aerospace Operations:

Grammatics:
Quote:
Q: Can aircraft on CAP intercept air assaults as well as ground attacks?
A: Yes, air assaults and landing are considered a special type of ground attacks.

Marked part should be: "special types of ground attacks".

Typo:
Quote:
Q: What happens to units that are in a landed aircraft when it is destroyed? The relevant rule phrase: ‘If the transport is destroyed while carrying units, then any transported troops are lost with it (no 4+ saves in this case!)’
A: The previous answer would apply – while landed it doesn’t count as a aircraft.

The relevant rules text where the quote is from (4.2.5) doesent state "4+ save" it states only "save".

Typo:
Quote:
Q: If a formation has Blast Markers and wants to fire its AA weapon(s) at an enemy air formation, but the only unit that has the range or the LOF to that enemy is the AA unit, is the AA unit suppressed?
A: All ground units are considered to have an LoF to air units so all the units in the formation, not just the AA unit, would be considered to have an LoF to the aircraft formation. If the AA unit is the only unit in the formation that is in range of the aircraft then it would be suppressed. If other units in the formation were in range then they could be considered valid Suppression targets, not just the AA unit. Note that a unit can be suppressed when firing at an aircraft even if it has no AA attack value.

Marked parts should read "a".

Quote:
Q: Can aircraft like Marauders land?
A: No. Only aircraft with the Transport ability can land. From section 4.2.5 Landing: Aircraft with a Transport capability can land after making their approach move and having being fired upon by any enemy flak.

To be nitpicky: By the letter of this an aircraft can't land if no enemy flak has fired at it :D

Typo:
Quote:
Q: Let’s say I have Battle Kroozer. I also happen to have four Ork Landas. Do all have to land within 15cm of same drop zone marker or is it possible to set up multiple drop zones? Or is only way to have multiple drop zone markers to get multiple spacecraft?
A: Each transport formation may have its own drop zone. In this example there could be up to four drop zones, one for each Landa. If you use multiple drop zones, you will need to record clearly which Landa is allocated to each drop zone.

Marked parts should read "have a Battle Kroozer", "of the same" and "is the only".

Claraification:
Quote:
Q: Can units transported by Planetfall (for example Assault troops in a Thunderhawk) disembark as soon as the transporting unit lands?
A: The intent of the Planetfall rule is that units landing via Planetfall get to land for free early in the turn, and then function as if they had been on the table since the start of the turn. This means that they can take their action later in the turn, as they won't have used it up yet - they are literally counted as having done nothing during the current turn.

Units on board WE or other transport can disembark when they land. In the case of a WE, the formation may take an action on the turn it lands, as the process of landing and disembarking is free - in other words, just a way to get the units onto the table as part of the spacecraft’s activation.

To get it straight: Units embarked on a Transport unit which entered the play with Planetfall stay on board until the Transport unit or the embarked units take an action where disembarkation can be choosen. They can't disembark in the same moment the Transport is placed on the table as it is essentially the action of the spacecraft and not of the Transport unit. Correct?

Typo:
Quote:
Q: If a formation fails to activate and they are still in the a vehicle that entered play using the rules for planetfall, can they deploy in a chain up to 15cm from the vehicle and then make a move (as part of the Hold Action they can take) or can
they only move as per the regular activation/order rules?
A: There is one critical point to make before I answer the question: the special rules that apply to Space Marine drop pods do not apply to other units using the planetfall rules; they only apply to drop pods. Units in drops pods may not choose to stay on board (they must disembark on landing) and only units in drop pods get to deploy up to 15cms from the unit they landed in; units disembarking from other planetfall vehicles must disembark normally, using the normal rules.

Marked part should read "in the vehicle"

Finished. Now on to Background and Forces.

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 10:59 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Background and Forces:

Quote:
Q: Do broken Space Marine units count as having one BM per unit or one-half BM per unit in Assault resolution?
A: One BM per unit.

Contradicts with 5.1.1 which says: "Space Marine formations only count half their number of blast markers in assault resolution"
No special exepction for broken formations.

Clarification:
Quote:
Q: When Void Shields recharge in formations with multiple units is one dice rolled for the formation or one dice for each unit?
A: When regrouping roll two dice and take the highest as normal. Each pip can be used to remove one Blast Marker or recharge one shield on every unit in the formation that has Void Shields.

Ok this i straight from the rulebook but it reads that if i use a pip to raise Void Shields for eg a Warhound formation of two Warhounds than every Warhound will get one Void Shield back? Not just one Warhound?
If not then i suggest to replace "every unit" with "one unit"

Clarification:
Quote:
Q: Does AP fire take down a Void Shield?
A: No. Only AT, MW or TK fire can affect a Void Shield. Note that FF attacks in an Assault will damage a Titan’s Void Shields. Also remember that the Titan or WE will also receive a Blast Marker for this fire even if it can’t affect the Titan or damage its Void Shield.

Marked part should read "for coming under fire".

Finished. Now on to Epic Gaming :)

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 11:14 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
Blacklegion: For someone whose first language isn't English you're a hell of a proof-reader!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 11:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Epic Gaming:

Typo:
Quote:
Q: There have been several clarifications regarding the General Tournament Scenario setup procedure. Can we get a list of the setup sequence for the GT imilar to the Sequence of Play chart?

Marked part should read "similar".

Finished. Now up to Swordwind:

Grammatics:
Quote:
Q: When do I decide what method Eldar reserve formations will use to enter play?
A: In the GT scenario reserve formations with multiple deployment options must be designated as to deployment method during setup – webway, air transport or teleport..

marked part shouldread: "must be designated which deployment method they will use during setup"

Wrong:
Quote:
Q: Does the Reinforced Armour ability of Eldar Titans allow you to re-roll a failed holo field Save?
A: Only against AT fire or hits in an Assault. The Reinforced Armour save does not apply to MW fire.

The Holofield ability states that if you use the re-roll which Reinforced Armour grants then the re-roll must be made with the units armour value. You can't re-roll the Holofield save.
Against MW hits you can only save once with the Holofield save and get no re-roll.
Quote: "...,but the re-roll must be made using the units armour save rather than the holo field save."

Typo:
Quote:
Q: Are Holo Fields effected by Crossfire
A: Yes.

Marked part should read "affected "

Grammatics:
Quote:
Q: Can a storm serpent march move and use web portal?
Yes.

Should read "Can a Storm Serpent carry out a March action and still use its Webway Portal?"

Grammatics:
Quote:
Q: can you use a web portal on a destroyed storm serpent?

Should read: "Q: Can you use a Webway Portal on a destroyed Storm Serpent?"

grammatics:
Quote:
Q: Eldar Exarchs: if I add an exarch to a fire dragon unit, is the exarch extra attack MW? And if I add it to a warp spider unit, is the exarch additional attack first strike too?

Should read: "Q: Eldar Exarchs: If I add an Exarch to a Fire Dragon unit, is the Exarch's extra attack MW? And if I add him to a Warp Spider unit, is the Exarch's additional attack First Strike too?"

Finished. So on to Black Legion and Lost and the Damned :)

@zombocom: Thank you :) But i still have some trouble. I never can decid if it is "the Exarchs weapon" or "the Exarch's weapon" if refering to the weapon of the Exarch (for example).

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net