Quote: (mnb @ Jan. 28 2010, 22:03 )
now that i read mcmullet's post, i'm not so sure. looks like you could be in base contact w/ 2 units without having infiltrate.
Yes, you can. We said that.
To recap, a normal unit
can move into base contact with two enemy units
if it can enter both the ZoCs simultaneously.
In practice, this usually means that the front line of attackers can hit more than one unit each if they desire. Just picture 2 overlapping circles and you can see how a rectangle could be moved into contact with both circles at the same time.
However, once those front units are "used up" and the attackers have to move around both their own units and the other defenders, it becomes nearly impossible to enter multiple defender ZoCs simultaneously. Sometimes it becomes impossible to reach any other defenders in base contact and once you reach that point, you might as well go 1-to-1.
With Infiltrate, you can ignore ZoC restrictions and move freely in a charge/countercharge, contacting whoever you like within the limits of movement and model size.
===
The FAQs clarify some of the language McMullet posted. Once entering ZoC, you're supposed to move toward that particular unit. That's not exactly explicit in the rule text.
Quote:
Q: How should we interpret section 1.12.3 when it says “Remember that a charging unit that enters a zone of control must move into base contact with the nearest enemy whose zone of control has been enteredâ€Â
_________________
Neal