Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Few Rules Questions

 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:27 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5602
Location: Bristol
Played a 5k game vs Man of Kent today and a few things came up in our game we weren’t sure on:

You can overwatch at SM when they drop pod in as they must immediately disembark from their drop pods and this can trigger overwatch, yes?

SM scouts drop podded nearby to two of my units, both of which were on overwatch. Ryan said because he had landed within 10cm of me and I was now in his Zone of Control I wouldn’t be able to overwatch fire at them because overwatching is a special form of shooting action and the only form of action you are allowed to do if you are within 10cm of scouts is to move away or to charge them. Was he right? I was dubious as this would seem to make scouts a bit good / potentially abusable, but we went with it.

Related question then; if my Deathstrike Silo (or any other move 0cm/immobile unit) had activated in a 10cm Zone of Control of enemy scouts, what happens? It can neither charge them nor leave. Can it activate to shoot as normal or can it not do anything for it’s action?

My Marauder that'd just bomber his Warlord happened to be nearby to a tactical detachment that Ryan wanted to collect up with a Thunderhawk. In doing so he flew within the 15cm AA range of the Marauder’s 2 heavy bolter shots, would it get to fire at him? Ryan thought not as the Thunderhawk wasn’t actually intercepting the Marauder, was he right?

If you double move, spending the entirety of both moves within a large piece of area terrain, do you have to take a dangerous terrain test for the move? Or one for each move within it? (they started in the terrain so didn’t need to test for entering it)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:02 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
Quote: (GlynG @ Dec. 13 2009, 08:27 )

Played a 5k game vs Man of Kent today and a few things came up in our game we weren’t sure on:

I am going to take a stab on these however I am sure others may have a differing opinion:

Quote: 

You can overwatch at SM when they drop pod in as they must immediately disembark from their drop pods and this can trigger overwatch, yes?


No. It is the end of the battleship movement and not part of the dropped Marines movement, so they do not enact overwatch as they have not finished a move.

Quote: 

SM scouts drop podded nearby to two of my units, both of which were on overwatch. Ryan said because he had landed within 10cm of me and I was now in his Zone of Control I wouldn’t be able to overwatch fire at them because overwatching is a special form of shooting action and the only form of action you are allowed to do if you are within 10cm of scouts is to move away or to charge them. Was he right? I was dubious as this would seem to make scouts a bit good / potentially abusable, but we went with it.


This would be a correct use of the rules other than the fact that normal scouts (as far as I know), cannot use drop pods . This is probably the reason for that.

Quote: 

Related question then; if my Deathstrike Silo (or any other move 0cm/immobile unit) had activated in a 10cm Zone of Control of enemy scouts, what happens? It can neither charge them nor leave. Can it activate to shoot as normal or can it not do anything for it’s action?


Good question. I would say it cannot do anything. Silly I know.

Quote: 

My Marauder that'd just bomber his Warlord happened to be nearby to a tactical detachment that Ryan wanted to collect up with a Thunderhawk. In doing so he flew within the 15cm AA range of the Marauder’s 2 heavy bolter shots, would it get to fire at him? Ryan thought not as the Thunderhawk wasn’t actually intercepting the Marauder, was he right?


That is also a good question. I would say yes as it would act as Flak. You do not fly in front of enemy aircraft if it can be avoidded

Quote: 

If you double move, spending the entirety of both moves within a large piece of area terrain, do you have to take a dangerous terrain test for the move? Or one for each move within it? (they started in the terrain so didn’t need to test for entering it)


If it is two seperate moves (as in a double), and they have to test for dangerous terrain as a stand, then yes, once for each move.

Hope this is all correct and helps

Cheers... :yay:

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:08 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Quote: 

Related question then; if my Deathstrike Silo (or any other move 0cm/immobile unit) had activated in a 10cm Zone of Control of enemy scouts, what happens? It can neither charge them nor leave. Can it activate to shoot as normal or can it not do anything for it’s action?

As it cannot move away, it must attempt to Engage the Scouts in order to clear away their ZoC.


If it fails to activate, I believe it must 'Hold' and then use its Hold action to attempt to move away.

Obviously it will then fail to move away, and effectively do nothing, but at least it attempted to move away!  :grin:




_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:13 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
Disembarking from pods can trigger over-watch.

Scouts are no longer allowed in drop pods, and the rules about ZOC and movement are triggered when the formation activates. As the over watch formation has already activated (to go on over watch) they get to shoot without moving. So even if the scouts having podded put the over watching formation in their ZOC the over watchers can shoot.

The silo would have to engage.

If the thunderhawk lands or ends it move in range and fire arc of the bomber then it gets to flak, moving through the fire arc does not trigger the flak.

Not sure on the terrain, I'd need to look that up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:16 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5602
Location: Bristol
Quote: (frogbear @ Dec. 13 2009, 00:02 )

Quote: 

You can overwatch at SM when they drop pod in as they must immediately disembark from their drop pods and this can trigger overwatch, yes?


No. It is the end of the battleship movement and not part of the dropped Marines movement, so they do not enact overwatch as they have not finished a move.

You can overwatch when a unit completes a move OR unloads troops / disembarks though and it's the latter I'd get them under. The SM drop pod rules state the SMs must immediately disembark when it lands. They may move activate properly themselves later, but I'm pretty sure the rules indicate you can overwatch them at the point they land, but this wasn't the way MoK read it initially so wanted to check here.

Thanks for taking the time to reply!

Good point with SM Scouts not being able to use Drop Pods, I'd forgotten that got changed.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:28 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5602
Location: Bristol
The Thunderhawk did end it’s move landed within the Marauder’s 15cm range, yes, so it would have been able to fire then.

The DS needing to Engage, or failing to move on a failed activation, does make sense. I hadn’t looked at DS stats in detail, hadn’t realised it had a FF attack, let alone 3 x 4+. That’s pretty good.

Thought I was right on the still being able to overwatch thing as the action had already been taken. Were it not like that you’d get scouts rushing in close to things a hell of a lot more.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:51 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Quote: (GlynG @ Dec. 13 2009, 00:28 )

The DS needing to Engage, or failing to move on a failed activation, does make sense. I hadn’t looked at DS stats in detail, hadn’t realised it had a FF attack, let alone 3 x 4+. That’s pretty good.

It's not undefended, there's guys inside firing Heavy Stubbers out at attackers!  :)

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:51 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Drat - others got there first, but I got the quotes  :p

Quote: (GlynG @ Dec. 12 2009, 23:27 )

Played a 5k game vs Man of Kent today and a few things came up in our game we weren’t sure on:

A good set of questions.

Quote: (GlynG Dec 12 2009 @ 23:27)

You can overwatch at SM when they drop pod in as they must immediately disembark from their drop pods and this can trigger overwatch, yes?

Disembarking does trigger OW, but planetfall does not. From the 2008 FAQ
Quote: 

Q: Does Planetfall trigger Overwatch?
A: Landing does not count as movement for the purposes of triggering enemy overwatch fire. Disembarking triggers overwatch fire as normal.


Quote: (GlynG Dec 12 2009 @ 23:27)

SM scouts drop podded nearby to two of my units, both of which were on overwatch. Ryan said because he had landed within 10cm of me and I was now in his Zone of Control I wouldn’t be able to overwatch fire at them because overwatching is a special form of shooting action and the only form of action you are allowed to do if you are within 10cm of scouts is to move away or to charge them. Was he right? I was dubious as this would seem to make scouts a bit good / potentially abusable, but we went with it.
No this is NOT correct. A formation in an enemy ZoC has restricted activations, but firing a formation on OW is not an activation so the formation may blaze away. Indeed, you could have foolishly dropped into range of several formations on OW, each of which could then use their OW firing simultaneously on your unfortunate troops. Spot on Meph about the scouts not allowed in Pods

Quote: (GlynG Dec 12 2009 @ 23:27)

Related question then; if my Deathstrike Silo (or any other move 0cm/immobile unit) had activated in a 10cm Zone of Control of enemy scouts, what happens? It can neither charge them nor leave. Can it activate to shoot as normal or can it not do anything for it’s action?

As other have said, it must either move away or engage the enemy. The best option if possible is for you to use other friendly formations to break the enemy, whereupon your Death Strikes are then free to use all their activation options.

Quote: (GlynG Dec 12 2009 @ 23:27)

My Marauder that'd just bomber his Warlord happened to be nearby to a tactical detachment that Ryan wanted to collect up with a Thunderhawk. In doing so he flew within the 15cm AA range of the Marauder’s 2 heavy bolter shots, would it get to fire at him? Ryan thought not as the Thunderhawk wasn’t actually intercepting the Marauder, was he right?

IMHO Ryan is correct here. The Marauder's AA capability can only be used in self-defense against enemy that are attacking it. See 4.2.3 and 4.2.4
Quote: 

4.2.3 Anti-aircraft Attacks
Some weapons have an anti-aircraft value (AA) that can be used to attack aircraft, and only aircraft. Aircraft can shoot at other aircraft either when making a flak attack (see 4.2.4) or when attacking as part of an interception action. Ground units may only shoot at aircraft when making a flak attack, and may not choose to shoot at aircraft formations as part of one of their actions (this rule stops ground units ‘rushing over’ to attack aircraft before they can disengage).
Quote: 

4.2.4 Flak Attacks
AA weapons are designed to fire defensively against an attacking enemy aircraft, and may therefore shoot immediately after an enemy aircraft formation makes an approach move but before it makes its attack. This is called a flak attack. . . . .
[snip]
Ground units (only) that are armed with AA weapons can shoot at enemy aircraft as they move past them.


Quote: (GlynG Dec 12 2009 @ 23:27)

If you double move, spending the entirety of both moves within a large piece of area terrain, do you have to take a dangerous terrain test for the move? Or one for each move within it? (they started in the terrain so didn’t need to test for entering it)

Briefly you must make a dangerous terrain test when you start in DT or when you enter DT (see 1.8.1) - so if you happened to make a double move entirely in DT, you would have to make 2x terrain tests (and are likely to come a cropper as a result :smile: ) However, you may move cautiously (5cm only) allowing a re-roll, and you automatically get a re-roll if you have the "walker" ability




_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 2:31 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5602
Location: Bristol
Quote: 

Drat - others got there first, but I got the quotes  :p
Go Ginger :agree:  :smile:

Quote: 

Disembarking does trigger OW, but planetfall does not.

Sure for Planetfalling units generally, but specifically Drop Pod rules state you must immediately disembark from the not real unit they are once the Deathwinds are done.

Quote: 

The best option if possible is for you to use other friendly formations to break the enemy, whereupon your Death Strikes are then free to use all their activation options.

That is what happened, though I would have rather used one of the formations within the Zone of Control to overwatch the scouts as I could maybe have used the other formation that fired in to target something else better instead.

Quote: 

Briefly you must make a dangerous terrain test when you start in DT, and also when you end in DT - so if you happened to make a double move entirely in DT, you would have to make 4x terrain tests (and are likely to come a cropper as a result :smile:) However, you may move cautiously (5cm only) allowing a re-roll, and you automatically get a re-roll if you have the "walker" ability


I recognise now it is 2 and am fine with that but 4? Unless something’s been errata-ed you take dangerous terrain tests when entering difficult terrain or starting to move when already in difficult terrain, nothing about ending your move in there. I couldn’t move cautiously either as this was my Artillery Company BTS which broke and had to flee two moves worth away to get away from the nearby drop podded in Scouts. Pity I’d not known they weren’t meant to be able to drop in these days.

One other one: on broken troops the rulebook says “Units with a speed of 0cm obviously cannot move when making a withdrawal, so are destroyed if there are any enemy units within 15cm at the point they become broken.â€Â


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:14 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Quote: (GlynG @ Dec. 13 2009, 01:31 )

Quote: 

Disembarking does trigger OW, but planetfall does not.

Sure for Planetfalling units generally, but specifically Drop Pod rules state you must immediately disembark from the not real unit they are once the Deathwinds are done.

. . . and since you must disembark from the Drop Pods, that is when the OW trips in. Note however that this is after any Deathwind attacks have taken place, whittling down the potential impact of the OW fire by suppressing at least one unit.

Quote: (GlynG Dec 13 2009 @ 01:31 )

Quote: 

Briefly you must make a dangerous terrain test when you start in DT, and also when you end in DT - so if you happened to make a double move entirely in DT, you would have to make 4x terrain tests (and are likely to come a cropper as a result :smile:) However, you may move cautiously (5cm only) allowing a re-roll, and you automatically get a re-roll if you have the "walker" ability


I recognise now it is 2 and am fine with that but 4?
Yup you are right and I edited this before you replied

Quote: (GlynG Dec 13 2009 @ 01:31 )

One other one: on broken troops the rulebook says “Units with a speed of 0cm obviously cannot move when making a withdrawal, so are destroyed if there are any enemy units within 15cm at the point they become broken.â€Â

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 3:13 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Wow.

I think everything has been answered, but...
===

Disembarking triggers OW.  Since SMs must disembark from Drop Pods, they always trigger.  As Ginger points out, Deathwind attacks happen first and may impact the available OW fire before the marines actually disembark.

ZoC does not prevent OW fire.  The OW formation must move out when it next activates but it doesn't stop the current OW.

0cm move units in ZoC only have the option of Engaging.  On a failed activation it does nothing (it "attempts" to move away, but that obviously won't happen).

Aircraft only get to fire at other aircraft if the targets end their move in range/arc of AA shots.  They don't get the "fly by" attacks like ground flak.

Dangerous terrain should be one check per move (1, 2 or 3, for single, double, march).

Broken troops with 0cm move can be transported with a Withdrawal move.  Note that if there is not enough transport capacity, some will be left behind and, per 1.7.4 Formations, they are destroyed.  Out-of-formation destruction causes a BM on the rest of the formation.  Since the formation is broken, that BM will cause yet another casualty, meaning that attempting to retreat 0cm move field artillery can really suck.  As Jervis's quote in the Siegemaster FAQ, "life can be hard in a siege regiment."

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:04 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (nealhunt @ Dec. 14 2009, 14:13 )

Dangerous terrain should be one check per move (1, 2 or 3, for single, double, march).

Unless you're moving through multiple "areas" of dangeous terrain with a single move, then it would be one test per area.

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:39 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Quote: (Chroma @ Dec. 14 2009, 15:04 )

Quote: (nealhunt @ Dec. 14 2009, 14:13 )

Dangerous terrain should be one check per move (1, 2 or 3, for single, double, march).

Unless you're moving through multiple "areas" of dangeous terrain with a single move, then it would be one test per area.

Yes, that's true.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:42 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
I seem to have been playing dangerous terrain wrong all these years! I've been testing for going in and going out, so if you do both in one turn 2 tests. However to check if I double and end the first move in dangerous terrain do I count my second move as starting in dangerous terrain and therefore still end up with 2 checks?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Few Rules Questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Quote: (Mephiston @ Dec. 14 2009, 16:42 )

However to check if I double and end the first move in dangerous terrain do I count my second move as starting in dangerous terrain and therefore still end up with 2 checks?

Yes.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net