Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults

 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:40 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
There are several aspects here, WE hit allocation does not follow the normal hit allocation rules, so the WE CC hits must be allocated to enemy in B-B with the target, while FF hits are not. FF hits must be allocated to units in LoS, and WE can block LoS. Within these constraints, the target player allocates the hits.

So, the CC hits from the first WarHound can only be allocated to the SC termie in contact with it, while the FF hits from the second Warhound can only be allocated to units not in B-B with it - namely the SC unit (always assuming it has LoS to the SC unit). Within these constraints the Termie player gets to choose how to allocate the hits - which all get piled upon the unfortunate SC Termie who is no doubt regreting taking the decision to be brave and take on a Warhound single-handed!
:laugh:

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
To be fair, the second Warhound which voluntarily chose to go into B2B with three Terminator units has basically doomed itself...

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
Quote: (Evil and Chaos @ 10 Jul. 2009, 15:45 )

To be fair, the second Warhound which voluntarily chose to go into B2B with three Terminator units has basically doomed itself...

No, the marine player did this to force this part of the discussion. It intrigued him to find out what the ruling would be.

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 11:33 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
Quote: (nealhunt @ 07 Jul. 2009, 13:48 )

There's a good chance you can countercharge with the Termie Warhound and drag the Termies into LoS of the other.

Can a unit with it's full allotment still Barge CounterCharge? Example, a Warhound with 6 units in B2B? As long as the Countercharge doesn't impact a seventh?

Actually, how DOES a War Machine Countercharge? Doesn't the overriding rule of "A unit must use their counter charge move to move directly towards the closest enemy unit." disallow the countercharge? Or does Barge have complete precedence? Can I countercharge away, for example?

It all seems very complicated.

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:41 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 167
on another angle of WM in assualts, i came across a situationi hadnt encountered before  ina game yesterday, so move my warpspiders in to engage the opponents orcasuars, and stay the max 15 cm away as not to contat the wild green orcs and get carved up for supper, then the orcasarus countercharges.  now hes what we werent sure about, since the orcasuaus had a war band in as a counter move does the warmachine move 5cm  then the troops disembark and counter another 5cm ?  effectivly  making it a total of  15 cm  counter  as in 5 for the war machine 5cm disembark and then a 5cm coutner byt he war band ?  or is it just a 5cm WM counter + 5cm disembark ? or... lol  is it disembark and all counter together ?


sorry for the confusing post, by searched the rules and couldnt find anything to clarify this.


Cheers


Tim  NZ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 1:42 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
The 5cm disembark is the countercharge.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:31 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
IIRC troops may disembark as part of a countercharge, so the transport countercharges at the end of which the troops may dismount a further 5cm. Depending on the speed of the transport, the countercharge can be 5cm or 10cm.

In this case, the Orkeosaurus has a speed of 15cm so can only countercharge 5cm with the troops dismounting a further 5cm, so not in B-B with the Warp Spiders.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:33 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 167
thanks for that chaps :)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:12 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 10:43 pm
Posts: 7925
Location: New Zealand
Quote: (Tim_the_titan @ 13 Jul. 2009, 13:41 )

on another angle of WM in assualts, i came across a situationi hadnt encountered before  ina game yesterday, so move my warpspiders in to engage the opponents orcasuars, and stay the max 15 cm away as not to contat the wild green orcs and get carved up for supper, then the orcasarus countercharges.  now hes what we werent sure about, since the orcasuaus had a war band in as a counter move does the warmachine move 5cm  then the troops disembark and counter another 5cm ?  effectivly  making it a total of  15 cm  counter  as in 5 for the war machine 5cm disembark and then a 5cm coutner byt he war band ?  or is it just a 5cm WM counter + 5cm disembark ? or... lol  is it disembark and all counter together ?

In the first assault, your Warp spiders were within 5cm of the orkeosaurus. So they got assaulted by the orkeosaurus itself, in addition to the orks jumping out of it. The orkeosaurus moved 5cm, then orks inside 5cm from the orkeosaurus (still having part of their base within 5cm of orkeosaurus).

In the second assault the Warp Spiders were 15cm away from the Orkeosaurus, but some Guardians were within 6-7cm of the Orkeosaurus so got hit and drawn into the combat by the orks jumping out.

The two good bits of that game, oh and maybe also when another orkeosaurus ate your Swooping Hawks. Apart from that it was a shoot-em up 5-0 or so win for the eldar.  :sad:  :laugh:

The more difficult bit I thought was working out where attacks from the Orkeosaurus (n CC and using some CC and some FF attacks) and Warband (in CC) got allocated with the WE special assault rules.

_________________
http://hordesofthings.blogspot.co.nz/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 3:28 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 12:11 pm
Posts: 167
yeah was a good learning experience, more posted to find out for shizzle though what the ruling on WM counters were :)
Lol the highlight for me was popping gargants with phantoms !! pew pew  lazer turkey supreme.
and shooting up big silly dinsaurs with guardians.. although i fear the wrath of the orks will be mighty and unforgiving next time they meet :(


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net