Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults

 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:30 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
You may choose to split these between close combat rolls and firefight rolls as you see fit, but close combat rolls will only hit enemy units in base contact, while firefight rolls will only hit units within 15cm that are not in base contact.


Does 'not in base contact' mean not in base contact with the War Machine, or not in base contact in the Engagement.

Example, I have a Warhound Pair. My opponent has a Terminator Squad.

My opponent engages, and puts 2 Termies on each, all within LOS of both Warhounds. Can the Warhounds choose to use their Firefight value? (yes, I know it's the same as it's CC value, It's just an example)

My opponent engages, and puts all 4 Termies on one Warhound. The second Warhound is unable to base contact, but has LOS. Can it use it's Firefight?

Morgan Vening

Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 06 Jul. 2009, 21:30 )

My opponent engages, and puts 2 Termies on each, all within LOS of both Warhounds. Can the Warhounds choose to use their Firefight value? (yes, I know it's the same as it's CC value, It's just an example)

My opponent engages, and puts all 4 Termies on one Warhound. The second Warhound is unable to base contact, but has LOS. Can it use it's Firefight?

Yes to both.

War Engine assault attacks are always recorded as their own specific "type" and only applied to appropriate enemy targets.

And it's "not in base contact" with the specific War Engine unit.




_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:40 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 06 Jul. 2009, 21:30 )

Does 'not in base contact' mean not in base contact with the War Machine, or not in base contact in the Engagement.

Base contact with the war engine making the CC attacks.

Example, I have a Warhound Pair. My opponent has a Terminator Squad.

My opponent engages, and puts 2 Termies on each, all within LOS of both Warhounds. Can the Warhounds choose to use their Firefight value? (yes, I know it's the same as it's CC value, It's just an example)


Yes.  With 2 Warhounds, A and B, Warhound A's hit could only be allocated to the Terminators on Warhound B because those are the Terminators not in base contact with Warhound A, and vice versa.

My opponent engages, and puts all 4 Termies on one Warhound. The second Warhound is unable to base contact, but has LOS. Can it use it's Firefight?

Yes.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:42 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
Yes to both. It can be a little annoying to keep track of which shot came from where though.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:46 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
Cool. I just wanted the matter clarified before I considered playing with the Forge Knights I just purchased. The House Hyperion list floating around has a variety of CC/FF Extra attacks, and wanted to know how the rules were interpreted before fielding them.

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 10:58 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
One thing to remember (or exploit) is that WE block line of sight, so the termies can be placed to combat just one of the Warhound pair.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:05 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Each war machine must be considered seperately.

So if you have two Baneblades:

B  B


And one Enemy unit base-to-bases one Baneblade ala:


B  B
E


Then Baneblade 1 can only use it's CC stat, whilst Baneblade 2 can firefight.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:29 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
But if you set things up like this :- TTTTWH   WH

Then WH #1 gets to fight while it blocks the line of sight to WH #2, which therefore has no target

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:41 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
That depends on how you play counter-charge moves.

RAW wording indicates that counter-charges are only in a direct line and therefore the counter-charging Warhound may not move 1cm to the side so that it can see the enemy.


However the rulebook tells us that "Epic is designed for experienced wargamers, not experienced rules lawyers" so therefore you should probably manuever during the counter-charge just enough that you open LOF for the second Warhound to be able to see the enemy.


Do you agree?

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:43 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
. . . and whether you can shoot through the legs of a titan or not  :laugh:

It also depends upon whether the Warhounds get to charge the Termies. If you have previously moved another formation in support on the other side of the Warhounds, their only legal charge may be away from the termies:-  TTTTWH  WH  sss




_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:48 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
There's a good chance you can countercharge with the Termie Warhound and drag the Termies into LoS of the other.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:06 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
So just to be clear, if my opponent puts the Supreme Commander Terminator on one Warhound, and the other three Terminators on the second, by CC'ing with the first, and FF'ing with the second, I get 6 potential hits on the Supreme Commander? Because the CC from the first, and the FF from the second can't be applied any other way?

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:51 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 10 Jul. 2009, 04:06 )

So just to be clear, if my opponent puts the Supreme Commander Terminator on one Warhound, and the other three Terminators on the second, by CC'ing with the first, and FF'ing with the second, I get 6 potential hits on the Supreme Commander? Because the CC from the first, and the FF from the second can't be applied any other way?

Morgan Vening

....or....

does the opponent get to choose where the hits go?

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:08 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
Quote: (Morgan Vening @ 10 Jul. 2009, 04:06 )

So just to be clear, if my opponent puts the Supreme Commander Terminator on one Warhound, and the other three Terminators on the second, by CC'ing with the first, and FF'ing with the second, I get 6 potential hits on the Supreme Commander? Because the CC from the first, and the FF from the second can't be applied any other way?

Morgan Vening

This is correct.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - WarMachines in Assaults
PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:23 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 12:27 am
Posts: 633
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Second thoughts... hits in assault are allocated first to units in CC, then within 15 cm, with no unit receiving more than one hit until all other units take a hit. so no matter how many hits are inflicted in which way, they get spread out evenly between the cc units.




_________________
[b][color=#FF00BF]Chief DreadKnight Apologist[/color][/b]


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 55 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net