Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Losing ZoC and Supporting Fire questions

 Post subject: Losing ZoC and Supporting Fire questions
PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 12:12 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 8:23 am
Posts: 218
Location: Manchester
I had a great game this afternoon and a couple of questions came up that I'm hoping someone on here can help me with (being pointed to pages in the book would be particularly helpful because we couldn't find it and ended up going with what 'felt right').

1) Does a broken stand lose its Zone of Control? (in the case today it was a fearless IG infantry stand)
1.1) Does having a ZoC over a webway portal stop it working anyway or do you have to stop all of its edges up? (could the Eldar simply engage anyway?)
2) When do you allocate supporting fire hits? Is this after saves for CC and FF hits or at the same time?  And who do they allocate to? Nearest enemy? (in today's game the issue came up when we both on separate occasions wanted to allocate hits to units that had better saves but which had already been hit (and saved) in the combat round).

For the record we went for:

1) Yes, ZoC gone.
1.1) Didn't come up due to 1
2) Allocate after but not to the same units.

All fiddly stuff and we didn't want to slow the game down too much by looking in the book for too long and our frantic flicking didn't turn anything up.

Any suggestions?





Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Losing ZoC and Supporting Fire questions
PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 1:28 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 1:15 pm
Posts: 50
Location: Oxford, UK
1) Had this question come up in a game myself, we said the ZoC was still there. The book doesn't say otherwise.
1.1) No idea...

2) As per the errata, supporting fire is after the combat has been fought. You roll hits for CC and FF, allocate, take saves and then, IF the defender is still alive and the attacker still has units "engaged", you roll attacks for supporting fire. Of all the attacking units with 15cm are dead, or the defender was wiped out, support doesn't happen.

Allocation for support, as far as I can see, is done as per shooting (i.e., nearest units to the formation firing).

_________________
My Epic Ork Gallery


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Losing ZoC and Supporting Fire questions
PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 1:43 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
1 - They keep their ZoC.

1.1 - You need to do an order that allows you to enter a ZoC, IE: Engage!

2- McMullet has it right.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Losing ZoC and Supporting Fire questions
PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 1:50 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
HaHa, must type faster :p


1) No, a broken stand does not lose its ZoC. The only time that a stand loses its ZoC is when it has been contacted by an enemy unit as part of an assault.

1.1) Blocking or covering an Eldar Wriathgate is an awkward question which is yet to be fully resolved. If the gate is covered by an enemy ZoC, the Eldar must take an engage activation to exit the gate to assault the enemy formation. where the enemy unit is physically on top of the Wraithgate there are different views on what happens. IIRC correctly, the view expressed by the original ERC was that the enemy unit could be engaged by two Eldar units from within the Webway. Other views are that the gate is completely blocked and cannot be used until the offending unit is dislodged; or that there are no restrictions other than the requirement to engage the enemy.

This is definitely a '5 min warm-up question.

2) Supporting FF Hits are allocated after the assault hits have been resolved, but before the assault resolution. Note that this can cause the supporting fire to have no eligible targets remaining, but in the event that their side loses the supporting formation still gets a BM for being in position to support even if it actually does not fire.

Supporting hits are allocated to those units nearest the supporting formation, Front-to-back as usual. Remember that  supporting units must have LoS and range (15cm) to enemy units that were actually participating in the assault. Supporting fire may not be used against other enemy units from the formation. (This prevents the abuse of supporting fire)




_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 76 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net