The following situation occurred in a game I played a couple of weeks ago.
My Gargant shot at a Devastator formation that was partially in an area of woods. Specifically, the infantry were in the woods, thus being visible to the Gargant, whilst the Rhinos were on the
other side of the wood. The double template was plenty to hit all 4 visible infantry formations and the 2 Rhinos, which were not visible.
Clearly, the infantry get the -1 for cover as they are entirely within the terrain feature. The vehicles are not within terrain, but do they get the -1 due to interposing terrain? On the one hand, there is a wood between them and the shooter; on the other, the shooter doesn't need LoS to them at all, so that would suggest that something interposing into the non-existent LoS should be irrelevant.
Alternatively, does the "one in cover, all in cover" rule apply normally to barrages? Since the barrage hits individual units, not the formation as a whole, we've always applied cover to individual units, but this may also be wrong.
At the time, I rolled with the -1 for the Rhinos because I wasn't sure; nor did it matter much. Any advice on how to deal with this in future is gratefully received.
