Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Rules Clarifications - Assualted Transports

 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - Assualted Transports
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:45 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
dptdexys is correct.

If you choose to countercharge, you must move towards the closest enemy unit.  Since the Terminator is already in base contact, that's the closest.  The countercharge "must head towards the nearest enemy" (1.12.4) is not linked to ZoC like a charge move.  It's a flat requirement.  You can choose not to countercharge or to stop short but as long as you choose to move, you must move towards the closest enemy, regardless of ZoC.  Only if the closest enemy is fully engaged (base contact with 2 units, or 2 per DC) can it be bypassed for the next closest unit (from the FAQ).

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - Assualted Transports
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:24 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Quote: (nealhunt @ 25 Feb. 2009, 14:45 )

dptdexys is correct.

:tongue:


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - Assualted Transports
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:39 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Hena:  Yes, that's my take on it.  While the "nearest enemy" is explicit in the countercharge rules, they otherwise operate like a charge move, so if you enter enemy ZoC, you have to attempt to reach base contact (though with countercharge distance of 5cm, that will fail unless you start in the ZoC).

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - Assualted Transports
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:37 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Does dismounting replace the infantry countercharge, or can the mounted infantry dismount and then countercharge (providing they obey coherency and direction etc)?

It is common practice for Orks to stay in their wagonz allowing them a 10cm countercharge and a 5cm dismount by the infantry, which seems to suggest that dismounting is in addition to the countercharge move. Does that also apply to the case where the transport is not making a move; so can the infantry make a 5cm dismount followed by a 5cm countercharge??

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - Assualted Transports
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:53 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Infantry just get the dismount "move."  Regardless of whether they are embarking or disembarking or doing both, that is the only move they are allowed.  Everything else is dependent on the transport moving.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarifications - Assualted Transports
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:09 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Ok Thanks :smile:

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net