Quote: (Dave @ 17 Sep. 2008, 17:26 )
Questions:
I had a number of failed initiative rolls in the second game as well as one vital one in the first. 2+ initiative is tough with no SC

. Any thoughts on allowing a 0-1 SC option for the Tyrant at +100 points if there's no Dominatrix?
I'm not sure if this is covered in the 9.0 rules, but what happens when a synapse swarm looses all its synapse creatures before it activates but is not broken. Does it still get to activate?
Also what happens when a synapse swarm looses all its synapse creatures in an assault, does it get to withdraw if it looses and consolidate if it wins?
I'd like to be able to activate in the first example, and withdraw or consolidate in the second.  It give you a chance to save the brood creatures by getting them in synapse range off another group.
If the swarm loses its synapse creatures, I believe you may attempt to save the swarm as you suggest. There are three parts to this:-
a) There is nothing preventing it activating as normal.
b) The swarm must stay "in control" (15cms from a synapse) during the activation
except during an assault (if "out of control" the portion with the least numbers in it is removed at the end of each move).
c) All brood creatures 'out of control' in the End-phase get removed.
So, my belief is that the swarm can move losing some creatures (and possibly shoot); or it can assault in its entirety. In doing this, the brood creatures may attempt to get under the control of another synapse. Note, I would like this clarified, but it seems sensible that the entire swarm could march into the control of a nearby synapse not losing
any creatures (the alternative and somewhat "gamey" approach would be to leave a single creature 'out of formation' to satisfy the requirements of the rule).
Regarding losing the synapses during the assault, the swarm may Withdraw or consolidate as appropriate (and so may attempt to get into the control of other synapses).
However, you should note that potentially this could cause a problem where a creature moves to an unactivated swarm which then moves - so getting to move twice. Here we need an FAQ to stipulate that, if the new swarm is to control the other creatures, it may not subsequently activate (so just like embarking onto a WE in 3.1.3).