(zap123 @ May 09 2008,22:44)
QUOTE
Actually, the rules specifically state that a template weapon cannot cover a HQ unit unless it is either the closest valid target of that pinning class, or more than 10cm from any unit of the same pinning class. So, assuming the Ork on the right is even slightly closer, then only the guy on the right I'm afraid.
Hi!
If they are set up in a string like this, levelly (meaning equally distanced) you can put the barrage anywhere you want. HQ protection with units of the same pinning class is only effective if they are "shielded" by placing "grunts" in the front and nobs in the back.
Given the example you gave (which is a POOR way to place nobz) you can place the template anywhere.
In fact, given this example, I'm adding the caveat that barrages targeting groups with HQ's mixed in should be centered the detachment in anyway favorable to the firer as long as its placed in a way that the closest models to the firing units are under the template.
Thus arrangements that you mention or anything similar would be meaningless.
The best way (and the intention of the rule) if you the player to screen his HQ's with conventional troops. If you mix them your asking to be barraged and deserve it.
Primarch