(BlackLegion @ Feb. 07 2008,18:54)
QUOTE
It's not that complicated as you think it is.
Example: 3 Monoliths A, B and C.
A has 3 units in 15cm, B 2 units and C 1 unit.
So you would roll 6 dice for the FF attacks and allocate the hits according to the hit allocation rules.
I doesn't matter if the 3 units from B and the 1 unit from C are togehter the same 3 units which are in range of Monolith A.
The point Moscovian's trying to make is whether it should be legal to have multiple monoliths in the same formation shoot at the same base more then once with their 'free' attacks.
For example: You have a 6-strong unit of enemies and 3 monoliths. The first 'lith has 4 in range, the 2nd 'lith has 3 in range and the 3rd 'lith has 3 in range. The second and third 'lith each share 2 models in range with the 1st (So in total they cover the whole unit, but they cover 4 of the models twice). Would they get to make 9 shots (1 for each enemy, plus their 3 basic) or would they get to make 13 shots (1 for each enemy for each monolith plus their base shots. Resulting in getting many more attacks then their are enemies very very easily). With the 'lith rules as they stand it would make 3 of them in a formation able to generate grotesque numbers of attacks against small enemy formations (Especially 6-strong being their favorites), where they could generate up to 21 attacks all together!