Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Formations in reserve and specialities

 Post subject: Formations in reserve and specialities
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:51 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 516
Some questions about formations in reserve (like those waiting to be teleported, dropped or enter via webway portal). I know that Epic tournament rules say (in 6.1.6) that "..formations in reserve may not carry out any game functions or use special abilities they may have." but does it prevent all of the following:

a) supreme commander in reserve granting an initiative reroll to..
 a.1) ...formation on-board
 a.2) ...for its own formation
 a.3) ...for the spacecraft/aircraft the supreme commander is riding
b) eldar formation in reserve with farseer to avoid -1 for retaining the initiative


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Formations in reserve and specialities
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 12:20 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 11:18 pm
Posts: 876
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Hi rpr and welcome to the boards.

In response to your query I would say that in all those cases the special ability cant be applied as the commander/farseer is in reserve, hence cant activate any special abilities regardless of who they will apply to.

_________________
"Do not offend the Chair Leg of Truth; it is wise and terrible."
-Spider Jerusalem


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Formations in reserve and specialities
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 12:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
IIRC Supreme Commanders can re-roll initiative rolls that affect themselves (Like rolling to activate their own Thunderhawk), but can't affect anyone else until they come onto the board.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Formations in reserve and specialities
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 12:54 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada

(Evil and Chaos @ Aug. 21 2007,12:36)
QUOTE
IIRC Supreme Commanders can re-roll initiative rolls that affect themselves (Like rolling to activate their own Thunderhawk), but can't affect anyone else until they come onto the board.

Can they affect a space ship they're on board?

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Formations in reserve and specialities
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
IIRC, yes.

But I've no idea where the rule for that (if any) can be found. :)

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Formations in reserve and specialities
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:40 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 11:34 am
Posts: 481
This is addressed in a FAQ entry.

http://forum.specialist-games.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=23


Section 2.1: Specialist Units

Q: If a formation is offboard (awaiting teleport, in a transport aircraft, etc.) can any special abilities of units in that formation be used?
A: No. Special abilities of offboard units may not be used. A specific exception is made for abilities used to affect the activation of the formation they are in.
For example, an Eldar formation with a Farseer is held offboard in reserve and the Eldar player retains the initiative to activate this formation. Even though the formation is offboard the Eldar player can use the Farsight ability of the Farseer in that formation to negate the penalty for retaining the initiative. Similarly, a Space Marine Supreme Commander may use the Supreme Commander ability to re-roll the command check to activate the formation they are in if it was offboard but could not be used to apply that same re-roll to a formation that was onboard or to another offboard formation.


The wording on the Space Marine SC is poor, but I believe the intent is that a T-Hawk with the SC in it or a Cruiser with the SC in it are ok for re-roll, even though the SC is not strictly in the same formation as the T-Hawk or the Cruiser.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Formations in reserve and specialities
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 2:13 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
The FAQ is written so the special ability can affect the unit's own activation.  In the case of an air assault, that will include the formation's activation.  Everyone involved in the assault takes their action at the same time.  The ability could be used.

However, when a spacecraft activates, that does not include the activation for the formations planetfalling.  The planetfall formations activate separately later in the turn.  Because only the spacecraft is activating, the spacecraft would not be able to use any special abilities of units on board.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net