Brood Brother |
 |
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 6:38 am Posts: 720 Location: Utah, pick a Pacific Island the other half of the year.
|
For the record here is the entire piece I wrote
Tyranids Proposed Army List
Strategy Rating: 1+ Initiative Rating: 2+
Special Rules
T1.20 Unstopable Tyranid formations never receive Blast Markers and can therefore never be suppressed or broken by them. As long as they are under the control of the hive mind they quite literally don?t know the meaning of fear, and will mindlessly sell their lives in order to buy victory for the hive mind. Tyranid formations that lose an assault still make a withdrawal move, and any units that end up within 15cms of the enemy will be destroyed, but the formation itself is not broken.
T1.30 Tyranid Swarms The Tyranid army is divided into three basic unit types: Independent Creatures, Synapse Creatures, and Brood Creatures. Each of these unit types is noted on the separate data sheets, and in the following army list.
Independent creatures and Synapse Creatures, are organized into formations just like any other units, and all normal Epic-A rules pertaining to formations and units applies to them (Yes this means that the three Tyranid Warriors in the Tyranid Warrior Brood must be within 5cms of each other to be in coherency, they cannot use brood creatures to do it). On the other hand Brood Creatures are purchased as individual units that will become part of a swarm led by a Synapse Creature Brood, therefore the size of each swarm is going to fluctuate in size from turn to turn.
In order for this to work the Tyranid player must assign the brood creatures to swarms led by a Synapse Creature Brood before the start of the battle, and at the beginning of the battle, and at the beginning of each turn after turn one. Before the start of the battle the Tyranid player must assign all the army?s brood creatures to a swarm, until all of the brood creatures have been assigned to a swarm, and the player must note down the value of each swarm based on the Synapse Creature Brood leading it and teh Brood Creatures assigned to it at the start. So, for example, a Swarm led by a Tyranid Warrior Brood, and having ten Termagaunts assigned to it before the start of the battle is worth 300 points. At the start of the battle each Swarm must be set up as a legal formation containing only the units assigned to it, with the only exception being that the Tyranid player is allowed to hold Brood Creatures off table for later spawning by any Tyranid formation (The reasons for obtaining these points values becomes clear later).
Starting with the second turn, and all following turns, a swarm will consist of all the brood creatures that are within 15cms of the synapse creature brood that is controlling them. If brood creatures are within 15cms of more then one synapse creature brood then the Tyranid player gets to choose which swarm will take control of them.
Any Tyranid creature can start any turn, after turn one, out of formation as long as the swarm they are part of moves back into a legal formation when it takes it?s next action. Any brood creatures that are not within 15cms of a synapse creature unit at the start of a turn will go to ground an will be removed from the table. Although the creature is not dead it has reverted back to it?s animalistic instincts, and is lurking around waiting for an easy meal! As with eliminated brood creatures these units may be returned to play using a Spawning Action.
T1.40 Spawning Action One of the most terrifying things about fighting a Tyranid Army is that their never seems to be an end to the number of creatures in the army. Even if an assault is stopped more Tyranids will soon appear to renew the attack. Some of these will be brood creatures that have gone to ground and have been incorporated back into the hive mind, while others will be reinforcements sent by the hive mind to sustain the attack. To represent these effects a Tyranid formation that carries out a Marshal Action may spawn back units into a swarm that have been eliminated, gone to ground, or where held back by the player before the start of the battle. Note that only brood creatures may be spawned back, and also only units that have been eliminated, gone to ground, or were held back may be spawned, you cannot spawn in and in effect create ?new? units. Also you cannot spawn independent creatures, or synapse creatures as they are too rare to be spawned in this manner.
The Tyranid player rolls 1D6 for the base Spawning Action, and may add an extra 1D6 if there are no enemy within 30cms, and for each Myecetic Spore added to the swarms spawning action. The total number of ?pips? achieved on the all the dice rolled are the spawning points the Tyranid player has available to ?buy back? brood creatures from the following list. One Infantry Type Brood Creature Unit: 1xPip One AV Type Brood Creature Unit: 2xPips One WE Type Brood Creature Unit: 2xPips per DC of that unit.
T1.50 Tyranids Claiming Objectives The Army?s brood creatures are mindless drones that, without the control of the hive mind, are incapable of any kind of real coordinated action, much less real rational thought. So even under the control of the hive mind they will stumble right over an objective without giving any real thought to seizing control over it. To represent this, only Tyranid synapse creature units and independent creature units may be used to claim an objective, brood creatures cannot claim any objectives.
T1.60 Tyranids and Break Their Spirit The heart of the Tyranid Army are it?s synapse creature units, with independent creature units being valuable but not critical, and brood creature units being next to meaningless because of their large numbers. Therefore the only way to truly disrupt, and then halt, the actions of a Tyranid Army is to eliminate the synapse creatures that are controlling it. If half, or more, of the Tyranid army?s synapse creature units are eliminated then the opponent has achieved the ?Break Their Spirit? objective. For the purposes of this rule WEs count each of their DC as a unit, and they only count if the WE is destroyed. Thus a Dominatrix would be worth eight synapse creature units if it were eliminated, but none if it wasn?t destroyed and had lost some of it?s DCs.
T1.70 Tyranids and Tie Breakers For Tie Breakers you treat all Tyranid independent formations as you would any other formation in Epic-A, however swarms have to be treated differently because their size can fluctuate from turn to turn. At the start of the battle the Tyranid player had to assign all of the army?s brood creature units to a synapse creature brood in control of a swarm, and had to then note the entire swarms point total based on all the units it contained (Whether they are deployed on the table at the start or not). The opponent receives points, in a Tie Breaker, for the following; (1) The entire points value of the swarm if all of it?s synapse creature units are dead. (2) Half the swarms point value if half, or more, of the swarms synapse creature units are dead. (3) The full points value for all brood creature units not on the table, even if they were not eliminated or went to ground. (4) Treat independent formations like normal formations in Epic-A.
T1.80 Breath Weapons Some Tyranid creatures have a bio-plasmic breath attack. This attack uses the WH40k flamer template. Place the narrow end of the template at the creatures mouth and roll to hit any unit that the template touches (Using the same rules as you would for a blast template), except the shooting creature itself of course! The Tyranid player must get as many units from the target formation as possible under the template. If the player fails to do so, and the opponent spots it, the opponent may move the template to any location so long as the small end of the template is still touching the creatures mouth.
T1.90 War Engine Regeneration Really large Tyranid creatures have small symbiotic creatures that crawl in and around it?s body healing wounds and stemming the flow of vital bodily fluids. To reflect their activities, in the end phase, each Tyranid War Engine that is still alive gets back one of it?s lost DCs, and no it doesn?t grow a new DC if it isn?t damaged, and no if it was killed before the end of the turn it will not ?spring? back to life with one DC on it.
T1.10 Extra Attacks Please note that if the extra attacks number is in brackets, that represents the total number of extra attacks granted. Thus ?4xMonstorous Claws (+1 attacks)? means the creature has a total of four monstorous claws to use, but they only confer on the unit one extra attack. So a Hydraphant DC-8 with four monstorous claws gets nine attacks (8+1) four of which will be able to use the claws MWTK.
Unit Data changes have been excluded
Jaldon 
_________________ Brave sir Robin, when danger reared its ugly head he bravely turned his tail and fled, Brave sir Robin.
|
|