Drat - others got there first,
but I got the quotes ÂÂ
Quote: (GlynG @ Dec. 12 2009, 23:27 )
Played a 5k game vs Man of Kent today and a few things came up in our game we weren’t sure on:
A good set of questions.
Quote: (GlynG Dec 12 2009 @ 23:27)
You can overwatch at SM when they drop pod in as they must immediately disembark from their drop pods and this can trigger overwatch, yes?
Disembarking does trigger OW, but planetfall does not. From the 2008 FAQ
Quote:
Q: Does Planetfall trigger Overwatch?
A: Landing does not count as movement for the purposes of triggering enemy overwatch fire. Disembarking triggers overwatch fire as normal.
Quote: (GlynG Dec 12 2009 @ 23:27)
SM scouts drop podded nearby to two of my units, both of which were on overwatch. Ryan said because he had landed within 10cm of me and I was now in his Zone of Control I wouldn’t be able to overwatch fire at them because overwatching is a special form of shooting action and the only form of action you are allowed to do if you are within 10cm of scouts is to move away or to charge them. Was he right? I was dubious as this would seem to make scouts a bit good / potentially abusable, but we went with it.
No this is
NOT correct. A formation in an enemy ZoC has restricted activations, but firing a formation on OW is not an activation so the formation may blaze away. Indeed, you could have foolishly dropped into range of several formations on OW, each of which could then use their OW firing simultaneously on your unfortunate troops. Spot on Meph about the scouts not allowed in Pods
Quote: (GlynG Dec 12 2009 @ 23:27)
Related question then; if my Deathstrike Silo (or any other move 0cm/immobile unit) had activated in a 10cm Zone of Control of enemy scouts, what happens? It can neither charge them nor leave. Can it activate to shoot as normal or can it not do anything for it’s action?
As other have said, it must either move away or engage the enemy. The best option if possible is for you to use other friendly formations to break the enemy, whereupon your Death Strikes are then free to use all their activation options.
Quote: (GlynG Dec 12 2009 @ 23:27)
My Marauder that'd just bomber his Warlord happened to be nearby to a tactical detachment that Ryan wanted to collect up with a Thunderhawk. In doing so he flew within the 15cm AA range of the Marauder’s 2 heavy bolter shots, would it get to fire at him? Ryan thought not as the Thunderhawk wasn’t actually intercepting the Marauder, was he right?
IMHO Ryan is correct here. The Marauder's AA capability can only be used in self-defense against enemy that are attacking it. See 4.2.3 and 4.2.4
Quote:
4.2.3 Anti-aircraft Attacks
Some weapons have an anti-aircraft value (AA) that can be used to attack aircraft, and only aircraft. Aircraft can shoot at other aircraft either when making a flak attack (see 4.2.4) or when attacking as part of an interception action. Ground units may only shoot at aircraft when making a flak attack, and may not choose to shoot at aircraft formations as part of one of their actions (this rule stops ground units ‘rushing over’ to attack aircraft before they can disengage).
Quote:
4.2.4 Flak Attacks
AA weapons are designed to fire defensively against an attacking enemy aircraft, and may therefore shoot immediately after an enemy aircraft formation makes an approach move but before it makes its attack. This is called a flak attack. . . . .
[snip]
Ground units (only) that are armed with AA weapons can shoot at enemy aircraft as they move past them.
Quote: (GlynG Dec 12 2009 @ 23:27)
If you double move, spending the entirety of both moves within a large piece of area terrain, do you have to take a dangerous terrain test for the move? Or one for each move within it? (they started in the terrain so didn’t need to test for entering it)
Briefly you must make a dangerous terrain test when you start in DT or when you enter DT (see 1.8.1) - so if you happened to make a double move entirely in DT, you would have to make 2x terrain tests (and are likely to come a cropper as a result

) However, you may move cautiously (5cm only) allowing a re-roll, and you automatically get a re-roll if you have the "walker" ability