Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

2012 FAQ, part 1

 Post subject: 2012 FAQ, part 1
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 2:54 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
These are updated. Additions to existing FAQs are marked with italics.

I know a few of them are controversial. None of these are written in stone but for the most part, the committee reached a strong consensus on them. Obviously, there are a few ongoing discussions as well, which have not been included in this thread as of yet.

==

0cm move

Q: Can a 0cm move unit on a road claim the +5cm move bonus?
A: Yes and no. There is no clear distinction in the rules between 0cm move and truly immobile units. We recommend that units that could potentially be moved in an emergency situation, like field artillery pieces, be considered to have a move of 0cm. Truly immobile units such as a bunker in a scenario that has a unit data sheet should be considered as immobile under any circumstances.

A 0cm move unit would possibly benefit from the road movement bonus, allowing it to move 5cm per move. However, it may obviously not leave the road as it would then lose its bonus movement. Also, unit with a speed designated as “immobile” may not move, even on a road.

As always, if you anticipate any issue with this rule, for example you are playing Baran Siegemasters with many 0cm move units, go over it with your opponent during the 5 minute warm-up. If you cannot agree with your opponent on whether or not a particular unit should be allowed to claim a movement bonus, it cannot.

Q: The garrison rules in the GT scenario say a formation with a unit with speed 0 can garrison. Is a unit designated as "immobile" or "n/a" allowed to garrison?
A: Yes. Unless another rule clearly supersedes the deployment options (such as an aircraft having to deploy via reserves, not as a 0cm move ground unit), units designated "immobile" or "n/a" for movement garrison exactly as a 0cm move unit.

1.7.3
Q: We had an Eldar player start inside an enemy Zone of Control. In trying to work out what would happen, we came to the following conclusion:
1) The Eldar player must take an action that takes them out of the scout's ZOC or charge.
2) The Eldar player chooses to double which fulfils the above criteria.
3) The Eldar player chooses to shoot before moving which is allowed following the hit and run rules and is no-where forbidden by the rules for ZOC.
4) The Eldar player then moves out of the scout's ZOC.
Is that correct?
A: Yes. As long as the Eldar player leaves the enemy Zone of Control before the end of the action, it is legal. The Eldar player may fire before moving according to the Hit and Run rule.

Q: If a unit begins an action inside an enemy Zone of Control and chooses not to attack, is it obligated to move away from the enemy unit? In other words, if my scouts put 1cm of ZOC on them you can move through 19cm of ZOC to leave the over side, terrain, models and their ZOC permitting?
A: As long as the unit moves out of the enemy ZoC before the end of its action, the move is legal. Yes, it could theoretically rush through to the far side of a Zone of Control if it had sufficient movement and an available path.

Note, however, that as a practical matter that will seldom be an option. Units cannot enter a new enemy ZoC. Other units in the enemy formation would block movement as normal, and the remainder of the friendly formation, outside enemy ZoC, would still have to move around the enemy as normal.

Inability to move out of ZoC may need another FAQ or two to cover a variety of situations where it comes up - consolidation, failed activation.

1.7.5
Q: The transport rules state that a disembarking unit "may be placed within 5cms of the transport vehicle." Does that mean 5cm distance, model edge to model edge, as when measuring range, or does that mean that the disembarking unit must be entirely within a 5cm distance from the vehicle?
A: The 5cm is intended to be measured as formation coherency (and range measurement), from model edge to model edge. While the word "within" might imply "entirely within" in some contexts it is used several places in the rules when referring to model-edge distance or other situations that involve only a portion of the model, e.g. "within range and line of sight" requires neither the entire model to be in range, nor the entire model to be visible. This should apply to other disembark moves as well, such as aircraft or drop pods.

1.8.3
Q: When is a unit in cover? A fraction of the model, more than half, fully?
A: For infantry, they can gain concealment to-hit benefit from simply touching an AV, so it makes sense that would be the standard for claiming the to-hit penalty for any terrain. As long as they touch the terrain, they can claim the benefits. To claim a cover save, infantry must be partially within the terrain.

For vehicles, impassable terrain works based on the "hull down" rules and whether the terrain obscures the model. For dangerous terrain there is a relatively easily determined standard based on the dangerous terrain check. If the model at least touches the terrain and is willing to take a dangerous terrain check, it can claim the cover benefits, i.e. no cover benefits without taking the terrain penalty. For terrain that has no effect on vehicles but might provide cover, it is best to remain consistent with infantry and dangerous terrain for vehicles and simply declare that a vehicle touching the cover can claim the benefit.

As always, though, terrain should be part of the 5 minute warmup. Players will have to work out, for example, whether touching the base of a piece of terrain counts as touching it, or if the model would need to butt up against the actual terrain feature itself rather than just the base. The answer might even be different from terrain piece to terrain piece. For example, the entire base of trees may count as being in the trees, but the base surrounding a building does not.

Q: How many infantry units can gain cover from being in base contact with an armored vehicle or a war machine?
A: Under the rules as written, there is no limit. As long as the models physically touch, they may claim the cover bonus. However, a limit of 2 per vehicle or 2 per DC for a war engine is an extremely common house rule, so common that it would be prudent to bring it up in the 5-minute warmup.

1.8.4
Q: Can a vehicle engage in close combat with a unit in dangerous terrain? What if it’s impassable?
A: If a vehicle attacks a unit in difficult terrain in CC it has to take a dangerous terrain test but if it contacts a part of the stand that is not within the terrain (e.g. an infantry unit only partially within a trench) it would not have to take a dangerous terrain check. If the the stand is within a building or other feature impassable to the vehicle, the vehicle would not be able to enter CC at all.


Fortifications

Q: If infantry can gain cover from touching a terrain piece (see previous FAQ), just how many units can gain cover from fortifications?
A: Most of the fortification rules specify a number of units that can fit in a particular fortification. That should be considered the maximum number of units that can gain cover from the fortification. If the unit is claiming cover it is considered “in” the terrain for the purposes of the specified limits, regardless of whether it is claiming it by being fully inside or partially inside.

Note that some fortifications might still allow the -1 to hit penalty for intervening terrain even though the unit is not claiming a cover save from being in the terrain, e.g. an AV in a “hull down” position behind a bunker.

Q: Bunkers are fortifications with a maximum capacity of 3 infantry stands. Do units in bunkers get to use Fire Fight when opponents charge the edge of the bunker but can't enter it to contact the stands inside? This seems implied by the rules but not explicitly stated.
A: If the charging unit is allowed to enter the bunker or other terrain, it can engage the formations in CC by contacting them and the target infantry must use their CC value. Any difficult terrain checks would apply to the attacking unit as normal. If the bunker is impassable to the attacking unit, it would not be able to enter the terrain and both the attacker and defender would use FF value.

That said, be aware that fortifications often have scenario-specific stats. Some bunkers may be considered difficult terrain while others are impassable. Always check the rules for the fortifications in question.

Q: As above, for trenches (which unlike normal terrain have a maximum capacity of 1 infantry stand per 4cm, so opponents may not be able to enter for close combat).
A; The attackers can initiate CC as normal. The maximum capacity of a trenchline is not supposed to force FF. It's based on the room the units need to function in the fortification alongside allied units. It doesn't mean there's literally no room for a crazed nutter to jump in and start a cage match.

1.9.5
Q: If you can roll a 7+ to hit, can you roll a 7+ for other eventualities, such as to activate, or to rally?
A: No. The sidebar allowing a 7+ (or worse) to hit only applies to shooting.

1.10
Q: In 1.12.5 the rules state that when a formation takes an engage action it cannot claim cover save; only the defenders can do that. Surely the Engage action starts as soon as the initiative roll is passed, not when the dice rolls for combat are made, so overwatch shots shouldn't be at -1, right?
A: No. Cover saves and the -1 to-hit penalty apply as normal to Overwatch fire, even in an Engage action. Note that if a Charge move does not bring the attacker into assault range, no assault takes place. The assault does not actually start until after the charge move. Overwatch happens in response to the Charge move.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2012 FAQ, part 1
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 2:55 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
1.12.3
Q: Can a vehicle engage in close combat with a unit in dangerous terrain? What if it’s impassable?
A: If a vehicle attacks a unit in difficult terrain in CC it has to take a dangerous terrain test but if it contacts a part of the stand that is not within the terrain (e.g. an infantry unit only partially within a trench) it would not have to take a dangerous terrain check. If the the stand is within a building or other feature impassable to the vehicle, the vehicle would not be able to enter CC at all.

1.12.4
Q: Can units countercharge over friendly units?
A: Countercharging units follow the normal movement rules with respect to that. Armored vehicles can move over friendly infantry, an intermingled Warhound titan could step over friendly AVs and so on.

Q: The countercharge rules say you must countercharge directly towards the nearest enemy unit. What happens if the direct path to that unit is blocked by impassable terrain or friendly units?
A: A countercharging unit may move around impassable terrain and friendly units, as long as it is attempting to take the shortest possible path to an enemy unit. Note, this should be kept in the spirit of the "closest enemy" rule and not applied loosely in an attempt to bypass nearby enemies.

Q: Can units countercharge over friendly units?
A: Countercharging units follow the normal movement rules with respect to that. Armored vehicles can move over friendly infantry, an intermingled Warhound titan could step over friendly AVs and so on.

Q: The countercharge rules say you must countercharge directly towards the nearest enemy unit. What happens if the direct path to that unit is blocked by impassable terrain or friendly units?
A: A countercharging unit may move around impassable terrain and friendly units, as long as it is attempting to take the shortest possible path to an enemy unit. Note, this should be kept in the spirit of the "closest enemy" rule and not applied loosely in an attempt to bypass nearby enemies.

1.12.6
Q: In a recent game, my formation assaulted an enemy formation that had support fire from an adjacent formation. Only a few units were in range of the support formation and "directly involved" in the assault, as defined by 1.12.6. The assault tied and went to a second round, but the closest enemy units in the target formation had been killed. After the second round of countercharges, my attacking units no longer fit the definition of "directly involved" even though the support formation was still quite close. Can the support formation continue to fire based on the previous "directly involved" status, or does that reset in subsequent rounds?
A: The support formation cannot fire. Due to casualties and countercharge moves in the second round, the validity of targets can change dramatically, as units might end up out of range or out of line of sight. All determinations must be reevaluated in subsequent rounds of the assault after all moves are made. Note, this applies to "directly engaged," as defined in 1.12.5 and can have direct bearing on whether an attack stalls.

Q: If on a second round of assault, after both sides have countercharged and there are no units in range and line of sight, does that mean the attack automatically stalls?
A: No. The rules for stalling an assault require the defender kills all the directly involved attacking units. Not having directly involved attacking units is not the same as the defender killing them.

1.12.8
Q: In a situation where an assault is resolved does a second formation belonging to the looser that has a unit 15 within 15cm of a directly involved unit of the attackers formation but no LOS get a blast marker or not?
A: No. “In a position to have lent support” is defined by the section on support fire, 1.12.6., and requires range and line of sight.

1.14.1
Q: During the rally phase, if one has a formation off the board (say Assault Marines loaded in a Thunderhawk) with blast markers, does that formation have the opportunity to rally in the end phase of a round?
A: Yes, it may rally as normal. The penalty for being Broken would apply as normal, but obviously no enemy units would be considered to be within 30cm.

2.1.2
Q: If I have formations with differing Initiative values, which one do I use when activating them together (e.g. with a Commander)?
A: Use the activating formation (i.e. the commander's formation). Aside from the -1 penalty noted in 2.1.2 for Blast Markers on the participating formations, only the bonuses and penalties for the commander's formation apply to the initiative roll.

2.2.8
Q: Can you decide to fire a single shot from a Warhound Titan’s Blastgun each turn or must you wait a turn for "recharging" if you fire just a single shot from it?
A: You can fire one every turn if you wish. The same would apply to any Slow Fire weapon with multiple shots.

2.1.12
Q: It’s possible to place a Scout unit just behind another friendly unit, so that the Scouts 10cm ZOC covers the friendly unit too, without the Scout formation being intermingled, rendering it impossible to ever reach base contact. If this happens, can I charge the non-Scout unit? The rules say I can’t enter a ZOC unless I’m charging the unit it belongs to.
A: You are, of course, allowed to charge the unit! If an explanation is needed, then let’s say that the rule for moving into base contact with the enemy takes precedence over the rule for not entering another unit’s ZOC. However, any player who has attempted to use this tactic to stop a charge should hang their head in shame!

Note, this FAQ is only applicable to a “screen from behind” situation where the interaction rules renders it completely impossible to reach base contact under any circumstances, and only if the intended target is closer than the screening unit.

2.1.13
Q: The skimmer FAQ says units forcing firefight are still in base contact. The war engine rules say a war engine may only apply CC attacks to units in base contact. So, what happens if a war engine skimmer forces a firefight against units in base contact? Does it lose the ability to apply FF attacks because the units are still in base contact?
A: A war engine skimmer can apply FF hits to units which it has forced into a firefight. The basic WE rules don't take into account special abilities like Skimmer (or anything else). They do not make a technical distinction between Base Contact and CC because, in the absence of special rules, they are equivalent. This was an oversight, though, and not intended to negate the abilities of skimmer war engines.

2.1.17
Q: How many dice does a teleporting war engine roll to determine if it gains BMs?
A: 1 per DC.

2.2.4
Q: If a unit with CC First Strike, Extra Attack kills the unit in base contact, can it still use CC for its regular attack?
A: No. The unit would use FF value. First Strike hits are resolved completely before any other attacks are made. If units in base contact are removed, there would be no CC targets when determining the remaining attacks.

3.1
Q: The War Engine rules say war engines count as a number of units equal to its DC and the movement rules state that a unit must make a dangerous terrain check for each move in dangerous terrain. Does that mean a War Engine has to take a dangerous terrain check for each point of DC?
A: No. A WE rolls once per move. On a failed check it takes a single point of damage (and must roll for critical hits, per 3.2.3).

3.3
Q: With ranged fire, attacks may be directed at war engine (3.2.1). Is it possible to single out WE in mixed formations in assault? It seems not, but many of the rules in section 3.2, such as critical hits, apply to damage in assaults as well. We want to be sure.
A: No, war engines may not be specially targeted in assaults. All hits are assigned closest to farthest as normal assault allocation.

Q: What happens if a war engine can only move part of the way over a friendly unit? Can the friendly unit be "barged" out of the way like an enemy unit?
A: No. The war engine has to move according to the movement rules. If it cannot completely cross the friendly unit for any reason, it is prevented from taking the move.

Q: If, during a countercharge, my war engine barges an enemy unit in base contact with a friendly unit, what happens? Is the enemy unit barged out of base contact? Is the friendly unit dragged along (effectively "barged" as well)?
A: Since countercharge distance is limited, war engine models are quite large and the WE must abide by all the normal countercharge restrictions (countercharge the nearest enemy, base contact if they enter ZoC, must completely cross any allied units, etc.) the chances of this being a legal move is very small. In most cases, there will not be enough distance for the WE to barge the enemy to an extent that would really cause problems (e.g a Warhound titan with a 10cm countercharge and a 40mm base could cross only 6cm of combined distance and unit size, so even if everyone was in base contact, the amount of movement caused would be minimal).

However, if it happens, the units remain in base contact and all units are shifted as little as possible to make that happen.

1) Move the War Engine, ensuring the entire move is legal. Only enemy units count for stopping the WE's ability to barge.
2) Place the enemy unit per the barging rules, as close to its original position as possible and back into base contact if possible.
3) Adjust the friendly unit's position the minimum amount needed to maintain base contact with the enemy unit that was barged.

4.2.3
Q: When a jinking aircraft loses its "attack" does that include defensive AA attacks, or does it only mean the aircraft loses its normal shooting options?
A: The loss of attacks refers to the aircraft's normal shooting attacks - ground attack and intercept. It retains the ability to function in a ground assault and to fire defensive AA.

Q: If an aircraft has already attacked during the turn, is it allowed to jink?
A: Yes. The rule on jinking says an aircraft loses its attack “if not already taken.”

Q: What happens when a Macroweapon AA weapon fires at an aircraft that is jinking? Does the aircraft get its save, or is it negated by the MW?
A: The jink save applies. 4.2.3 states the jink replaces the normal armor save. Any Reinforced Armor reroll would apply at the normal armor value, not at the 4+ jink save because, again, the jink replaces the normal armor save, not the RA reroll. Note, this is functionally the same mechanic as is used in the Eldar Holofields.

4.2.4
Q: The rules state "Note that aircraft carrying out a ground attack mission that are armed with AA weapons may shoot at enemy interceptors that fall within the AA weapon’s fire arc." This sounds as if only aircraft on ground attack missions may use their flak attacks. Also, it seems to imply that the ground attack formation can only fire at interceptors targeting that formation. Can aircraft on ground attack missions fire at interceptors other than those attacking it? For example, if Bomber Flight 1 ends in the AA arc of Bomber Flight 2 and is intercepted by enemy fighters, can Bomber Flight 2 fire, even though it is not the target of the interceptors? Can aircraft on missions other than ground attack make flak attacks at all?
A: Yes to all the questions. If aircraft end their approach move within range and fire arc of AA weapons, the enemy get flak attacks regardless of the missions of any of the aircraft.

The definitive statement of how flak attacks work is in the first sentence, "[flak attacks may] shoot immediately after an enemy aircraft formation makes an approach move but before it makes its attack." The sentence quoted in the question is explanatory, intended to point out a particular situation that might not be immediately obvious (that's why it begins with "Note..."). It is not intended to createadditional restrictions on the basic flak attack mechanic.

As a side note, this has been a common point of contention. This is the NetEA answer and it is the ruling used by the Epic UK tournament organizers as well. Some groups house rule aircraft versus aircraft flak attacks differently.

4.2.6
Q: Do disengaging aircraft get to fire AA at each other?
A: No. Aircraft only fire AA at each other when movement ends within fire arc of AA weapons, not simply passing through as with ground flak. Disengage moves end off the board, so no AA attacks can occur.

Q: What order do aircraft disengage in?
A: It is simultaneous. As aircraft do not interact with each other during the disengage move, the order is not relevant.

Q: I have a landed aircraft that has AA attacks, so it could potentially shoot at a disengaging aircraft as a ground unit. Does it get to fire flak attacks at disengaging aircraft before it disengages?
A: No. Disengaging is simultaneous, so if the landed aircraft is disengaging it is not a ground unit when the enemy passes by and no flak attack is applicable.

If it becomes critical at some point to determine which landed aircraft are remaining in place and which are disengaging, take turns specifying which units are disengaging and which are staying in place, then perform all the disengage moves simultaneously as normal.


6.1.3
Q: We keep running into little things that would easily be resolved if brought up in the 5 minute warm-up, so we are creating a checklist. Can you provide a list of items which have been brought up by other players or groups to help us out?
A: Sure. Keep in mind this is likely never going to be a complete list, but here's several issues we have encountered (and we'll add to it as we go):

Rules:
Pre-measuring
Conventions for Lines of Sight and Lines Of Fire
Conventions for showing a formation is broken, in overwatch or has marched this turn.
Measurement to objectives
Have you both read the same FAQs? These can cover such a huge range of things that we can only list a few of the common differences we have encountered between groups.
• Disembarking - whole stand within 5cm or just one part of the model
• Requirements to claim cover (fraction, more than half, fully)
• Measurement from objectives
• Aircraft versus aircraft flak attacks
• Template use (what's in/out)

Optional and common house rules:
Do you allow CAPing of CAP?
Do destroyed war engines stay on the board as cover?
House rules on intermingled formations (e.g. attacker has to be in range of all formations)?

Defining terrain:
Effect on Lines of Sight and Lines Of Fire
What they count as on the terrain chart
Any changes to those Terrain Types? (For example, Craters not blocking LOS, even though the models are necessarily above the table surface, a muddy plowed field that is scrub but also dangerous terrain for vehicles, or perhaps certain terrain types not counting as cover against aircraft attacks.)
When a unit is counted as being "in" a specific terrain piece
How many infantry units may claim cover from an armored vehicle or war machine

Armies and army lists:
"Counts as" units
Fire Arcs on units
Special rules and units

Strategic: (These are not necessarily things that are problematic for the rules, but things you will want to know to avoid "gotcha!" effects that can create a sense of unfairness.)
Any barrages?
Spacecraft
Teleports
Webways, portals and other unusual deployment options

6.1.4
Q: How should we measure from objectives? Edge? Center? Something else?
A: The most common convention in tournaments is to define the objectives as single points. Typically, this is the direct center of a "take and hold" objective and the middle of the objective's table edge for the "blitzkrieg" objective. Unless explicitly stated otherwise ahead of time, assume this is the case.

Objective measurement should be a topic for the 5 minute warmup. Some players measure to the edge. Some who use the "single point" convention above may incorporate a predetermined point on their objective markers (like a flag) to designate the point, rather than defaulting to the center of the model.

6.1.7
Q: How do spacecraft count for victory points in the case of a tiebreaker?
A: Spacecraft cannot be attacked or destroyed and therefore never count for tiebreaker points.

Q: Do Spacecraft count for the Break Their Spirit goal if they are the most expensive formation in an army?
A: No. Spacecraft and any units or formations in reserve off-table do not count towards goals. Aircraft and their contents (or any other formation that might be able to move into reserves) do count towards the BTS goal if they are destroyed on or over the battlefield. As always, special rules such as the Necron Phase Out rule may provide exceptions to this.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net