Consider the following situation (Section 2.1.2 below for reference).
An eldar player elects to retain the initiative with their Avatar, using the commander ability to combine with a guardian formation. Should the initiative test be take with or without the -1 retain penalty as the 'combined' formation has farsight.
The after that, the player retains for the 3rd time, this time using a guardian formation to combine with an aspect formation. Is this test at initiative 1 (from aspects) or 2 (guardians) before modifiers?
Quote:
2.1.2 Commanders
Some units and characters are noted as being
commanders. Commanders can order up to three
formations of troops to follow them when they make an
assault, as long as all the formations have at least one unit
within 5cm of a unit from the commander’s formation.
Make a single initiative roll for all the formations,
counting a -1 modifier if any have Blast markers. If the test
is failed then the commander’s formation receives a Blast
marker and must take a hold action, but the other
formations are unaffected (and may take an action later in
the turn).
If the test is passed then all three formations may take an
engage action. Treat the three formations as if they were
a single formation for all rules purposes for the duration
of the assault. A 2D6 roll is used to resolve a combined
assault. If the attackers lose then each formation is
broken. If they win then each formation receives a
number of Blast markers equal to the casualties it suffered
in the combat.
Thoughts? And is the second situation unique to the Eldar?