Rug wrote:
As far as I can tell when a commander declares a combined assault all the units are treated as one, so the Farseer's Farsight ability can be used in a similar way to "Inspiring", someone correct me if I'm wrong.
Interesting. I've never played it that way, never really thought to in fact. It doesn't seem quite right to me, in flavour and in rules. For instance, the Commander rule says formations are only treated as one after the action test is passed:
"Make a single initiative roll for all the formations, counting a - 1 modifier if any have Blast markers. If the test is failed then the commander’s formation receives a Blast marker and must take a hold action, but the other formations are unaffected (and may take an action later in the turn).
"If the test is passed then all three formations may take an engage action. Treat the three formations as if they were a single formation for all rules purposes for the duration of the assault."
So to me, the commander takes an action test and if he passes THEN you do a combined engage. So you benefit from inspiring, but you don't suffer twice from a failed action test. For me, I'd be inclined to say you can't have it both ways
