Dave wrote:
mattthemuppet wrote:
the NetERC ruling on defensive AA, where already activated aircraft can project an AA umbrella.
Is that writ in stone now? I had thought there was still debate (as with "within 5cm", what counts as being "in terrain" and a few more).
yep, carved deep with a sharp chisel, as Ginger kindly reminded me:
Q: The rules state "Note that aircraft carrying out a ground
attack mission that are armed
with AA weapons may shoot at enemy interceptors that fall
within the AA weapon’s fire arc." This sounds as if only
aircraft on ground attack missions may use their flak attacks.
Also, it seems to imply that the ground attack formation can
only fire at interceptors targeting that formation. Can aircraft
on ground attack missions fire at interceptors other than
those attacking it? For example, if Bomber Flight 1 ends in
the AA arc of Bomber Flight 2 and is intercepted by enemy
fighters, can Bomber Flight 2 fire, even though it is not the
target of the interdeptors? Can aircraft on missions other
than ground attack make flak attacks at all?
A: Yes to all the questions. If aircraft end their approach
move within range and fire arc of AA weapons, the enemy
get flak attacks regardless of the missions of any of the
aircraft.
The definitive statement of how flak attacks work is in the
first sentence, "[flak attacks may] shoot immediately after an
enemy aircraft formation makes an approach move but
before it makes its attack." The sentence quoted is
explanatory, intended to point out a particular situation that
might not be immediately obvious (that's why it begins with
"Note..."). It is not intended to create an additional restrictions
on the basic flak attack mechanic.
As a side note, this has been a common point of contention.
This is the NetEA answer and it is the ruling used by the Epic
UK tournament organizers. Some groups house rule aircraft
versus aircraft flak attacks differently.