Evil and Chaos wrote:
Doing it in the end phase still allows you to voluntarily break a formation during the turn, get 45-75cm of movement to meet up with the swarm you want to join, in order to prep for an assault the following turn, or bring a formation above half strength for tie breaks, etc.
So if I have understood this correctly, you have no problem with the Nids making a 'march' activation to take another Swarm under control, and possibly would even allow a 'broken' swarm to merge with another (possibly resulting in the merged swarm not being broken).
Rather your concern is the NID player using a 'gamey' manoeuver to advance a swarm (controlled or otherwise) an excessive distance?
What I think you are proposing is that the Nid player declares the swarm will march, and it makes two nomal moves. In making the third move it then leaves behind sufficient units to cause it to break; and because it is now 'broken', the swarm then makes a further two 'withdrawal' moves, or a minimum of 75 cms in one direction. Worse, in the right circumstances, this could be used to merge with another swarm with few BMs, and the resulting swarm would no longer be broken (though it would have a lot of BMS).
Finally it could be achieved by either an 'uncontrolled' or more likely a 'controlled' swarm merging with one of the opposite type.
Ingenious, but is this actually practical and permissible? I thought that 'Expendable' would mean that the swarm would not get BMs for losing brood creatures - so a swarm will typically not have many BMs and would have to drop most of its brood critters to break itself, which seems to be a self-defeating exercise.
If this is a real problem would a FAQ suffice to ban the practice?