Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

2011 FAQ update, part 1

 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:22 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
zombocom wrote:
"As long as the unit moves out of the enemy ZoC before the end of the turn"

Surely that should be:

"As long as the unit moves out of the enemy ZoC before the end of the move"

Actually, it should be "end of its action."

Fixed


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:37 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
I would replace the word "chooses" with "may choose" on steps 2) and 3).

But I agree with the others that it seems to cover the questions


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 4:42 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:16 pm
Posts: 4682
Location: Wheaton, IL
nealhunt wrote:
[quote="moves out of the enemy ZoC before the end of the turn"

Surely that should be:

"As long as the unit moves out of the enemy ZoC before the end of the move"

Actually, it should be "end of its action."

Fixed[/quote]

I don't like the use of the term action here. It's unclear whether it is equivalent to activation. If it is, it would indicate that you could 'stop' at the end of the first move inside the enemy ZoC. This is tantamount to moving nto an enemy ZoC in the first place. My suggestipn is to make it in accordance w/ Zombo's suggestion, using 'move' instead of 'action'.

_________________
SG

Ghost's Paint Blog, where everything goes that isn't something else.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:09 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Added to the FAQ:

2.2.4
Q: If a unit with CC First Strike kills the unit in base contact, can it still use CC for its regular attack?
A: No. The unit would use FF value. First Strike hits are resolved completely before any other attacks are made. If units in base contact are removed, there would be no CC targets when determining the remaining attacks.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:01 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Another:

2.1.13
Q: The skimmer FAQ says units forcing firefight are still in base contact. The war engine rules say a war engine may only apply CC attacks to units in base contact. So, what happens if a war engine skimmer forces a firefight against units in base contact? Does it lose the ability to apply FF attacks because the units are still in base contact?
A: A war engine skimmer can apply FF hits to units which it has forced into a firefight. The basic WE rules don't take into account special abilities like Skimmer (or anything else). They do not make a technical distinction between Base Contact and CC because, in the absence of special rules, they are equivalent. This was an oversight, though, and not intended to negate the abilities of skimmer war engines.

==

Also, since we didn't finalize this in 2010, updated the thread title.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 4:34 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 706
Here's one to potentially add to the FAQ.

Quote:
Death Korps Hades Breaching Drill
Notes: Tunneler, Transport (May transport 8 Engineers)
Note that the Hades Breaching Drill is not a unit and so may not be shot at nor have hits applied to it. It is in
all respects simply a marker, to be used in a similar manner to Space Marine Drop Pods. No Blast Marker is
generated for its parent formation leaving the Hades Breach Drill behind during the game.




I've not been able to find 'tunneler' in the Epic rules, the Krieg book or the recent FAQ. It's not clear how this is supposed to operate, and whether its similarities to drop pods are that it is a marker that can be left behind or whether it actually has to use some form of planetfall rules to get to where it's going.
Is a subterranean transport that can appear in any turn at any location like a landa or more like a teleporting unit?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 4:39 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:16 pm
Posts: 4682
Location: Wheaton, IL
p168 in EA, in the collector's models section. Tunnelers wasn't part of the official rules, but the rule is pretty unchanged from the form there, apart from the Epic: Xenos project, IIRC.

_________________
SG

Ghost's Paint Blog, where everything goes that isn't something else.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:04 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 706
Thanks Spectrar - but since that isn't part of any rule book I have do you have a link or could you please quote it?
And memo to army champs - pretty please put all the special rules that aren't in EA Compendium in the army list books :D


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 7:41 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
I'll make sure to add it to future players packs Matt ;D
Didn't think of it earlier.

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 5:11 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 706
Thanks. In the meantime could you post the rule? I'm trying some army ideas and don't know what these engineers do :D


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:59 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
Quote:
Tunnellers
This special rule can be used for tunnellers if they are included in a scenario.
Tunnellers are set up on their own table edge before the battle starts, at the same time that spacecraft are deployed (see 4.0). Any units transported in the tunneller are kept off table until it appears. Write down the location where the tunneller will surface at the same time and in the same manner that you record the co-ordinates of a drop zone (see 4.3.3).
You must also secretly record when the tunneller will surface. If it is going to appear in your half of the table it may arrive from the 2nd turn onwards. If it is going to appear in the opposing half of the table, it may arrive from turn 3 onwards. Set up the tunneller at the start of the stated turn. It and any units being transported may take an action on the turn they appear.

That's the rule as it's written in the original rule book.

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 8:26 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
It's a shame the NetERC are so apathetic to a consideration on a change for the above rule.

It shows the arrogance of the NetERC that an idea that is proposed is not even considered in a discussion and that they push ahead with this. It stinks of an egotistical small insular group.

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:17 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
frogbear wrote:
It's a shame the NetERC are so apathetic to a consideration on a change for the above rule.

It shows the arrogance of the NetERC that an idea that is proposed is not even considered in a discussion and that they push ahead with this. It stinks of an egotistical small insular group.

A - I don't think a change is off the table
B - The original wording has been used for years in the Krieg list without issue.
C - Don't be so rude.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 9:42 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 4:23 am
Posts: 706
Thanks for posting that Steve.

So it needs to have its location pre-planned and arrival turn preset. Looking at it practically, any opponent who hears 'Arrival in Turn 3' will know it's very likely to appear right near their Blitz objective, and for it to arrive in turn 2 it will have to be on my side of the table and might as well have started the game on board as an activation.

Definitely not the sort of flexibility in behind enemy lines attacking I was hoping for 300pts, but never mind I'll take something else. Thanks for clarifying.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:19 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
Evil and Chaos wrote:
C - Don't be so rude.


Being ignored for a workable proposal (not even a discussion seems to have been entertained) is rude in itself and I offer no apology for being so blunt.

At what point are people going to stop being so nice and state the fact that the NetERC have been dragging their feet for years now with no recourse or accountability?

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net