Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

2011 FAQ update, part 1

 Post subject: 2011 FAQ update, part 1
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:06 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Based on the recent spate of FAQs, I figure we can do another round, to include a suggested 5 minute warmup list.

====

1.7.5
Q: The transport rules state that a disembarking unit "may be placed
within 5cms of the transport vehicle." Does that mean 5cm distance, model edge to model edge, as when measuring range, or does that mean that the disembarking unit must be entirely within a 5cm distance from the vehicle?
A: The 5cm is intended to be measured as formation coherency (and range measurement), from model edge to model edge. While the word "within" might imply "entirely within" in some contexts it is used several places in the rules when referring to model-edge distance or other situations that involve only a portion of the model, e.g. "within range and line of sight" requires neither the entire model to be in range, nor the entire model to be visible. This should apply to other disembark moves as well, such as aircraft or drop pods.

1.8
Q: When is a unit in cover? A fraction of the model, more than half, fully?
A: For infantry, they can gain cover from simply touching an AV, so it makes sense that would be the standard for claiming other cover. As long as they touch the terrain, they can claim the benefits.

For vehicles, impassable terrain works based on the "hull down" rules and whether the terrain obscures the model. For dangerous terrain there is a relatively easily determined standard based on the dangerous terrain check. If the model at least touches the terrain and is willing to take a dangerous terrain check, it can claim the cover benefits, i.e. no cover benefits without taking the terrain penalty. For terrain that has no effect on vehicles but might provide cover, it is best to remain consistent with infantry and dangerous terrain for vehicles and simply declare that a vehicle touching the cover can claim the benefit.

As always, though, terrain should be part of the 5 minute warmup. Players will have to work out, for example, whether touching the base of a piece of terrain counts as touching it, or if the model would need to butt up against the actual terrain feature itself rather than just the base. The answer might even be different from terrain piece to terrain piece. For example, the entire base of trees may count as being in the trees, but the base surrounding a building does not.

1.12.6
Q: In a recent game, my formation assaulted an enemy formation that had support fire from an adjacent formation. Only a few units were in range of the support formation and "directly involved" in the assault, as defined by 1.12.6. The assault tied and went to a second round, but the closest enemy units in the target formation had been killed. After the second round of countercharges, my attacking units no longer fit the definition of "directly involved" even though the support formation was still quite close. Can the support formation continue to fire based on the previous "directly involved" status, or does that reset in subsequent rounds?
A: The support formation cannot fire. Due to casualties and countercharge moves in the second round, the validity of targets can change dramatically, as units might end up out of range or out of line of sight. All determinations must be reevaluated in subsequent rounds of the assault after all moves are made. Note, this applies to "directly engaged," as defined in 1.12.5 and can have direct bearing on whether an attack stalls.

2.1.13
Q: The skimmer FAQ says units forcing firefight are still in base contact. The war engine rules say a war engine may only apply CC attacks to units in base contact. So, what happens if a war engine skimmer forces a firefight against units in base contact? Does it lose the ability to apply FF attacks because the units are still in base contact?
A: A war engine skimmer can apply FF hits to units which it has forced into a firefight. The basic WE rules don't take into account special abilities like Skimmer (or anything else). They do not make a technical distinction between Base Contact and CC because, in the absence of special rules, they are equivalent. This was an oversight, though, and not intended to negate the abilities of skimmer war engines.

2.2.4
Q: If a unit with CC First Strike kills the unit in base contact, can it still use CC for its regular attack?
A: No. The unit would use FF value. First Strike hits are resolved completely before any other attacks are made. If units in base contact are removed, there would be no CC targets when determining the remaining attacks.

3.3
Q: With ranged fire, attacks may be directed at war engine (3.2.1). Is it possible to single out WE in mixed formations in assault? It seems not, but many of the rules in section 3.2, such as critical hits, apply to damage in assaults as well. We want to be sure.
A: No, war engines may not be specially targeted in assaults. All hits are assigned closest to farthest as normal assault allocation.

4.2.4
Q: The rules state "Note that aircraft carrying out a ground attack mission that are armed
with AA weapons may shoot at enemy interceptors that fall within the AA weapon’s fire arc." This sounds as if only aircraft on ground attack missions may use their flak attacks. Also, it seems to imply that the ground attack formation can only fire at interceptors targeting that formation. Can aircraft on ground attack missions fire at interceptors other than those attacking it? For example, if Bomber Flight 1 ends in the AA arc of Bomber Flight 2 and is intercepted by enemy fighters, can Bomber Flight 2 fire, even though it is not the target of the interceptors? Can aircraft on missions other than ground attack make flak attacks at all?
A: Yes to all the questions. If aircraft end their approach move within range and fire arc of AA weapons, the enemy get flak attacks regardless of the missions of any of the aircraft.

The definitive statement of how flak attacks work is in the first sentence, "[flak attacks may] shoot immediately after an enemy aircraft formation makes an approach move but before it makes its attack." The sentence quoted is explanatory, intended to point out a particular situation that might not be immediately obvious (that's why it begins with "Note..."). It is not intended to create an additional restrictions on the basic flak attack mechanic.

As a side note, this has been a common point of contention. This is the NetEA answer and it is the ruling used by the Epic UK tournament organizers. Some groups house rule aircraft versus aircraft flak attacks differently.

6.1.3
Q: We keep running into little things that would easily be resolved if brought up in the 5 minute warm-up, so we are creating a checklist. Can you provide a list of items which have been brought up by other players or groups to help us out?
A: Sure. Keep in mind this is likely never going to be a complete list, but here's several issues we have encountered (and we'll add to it as we go):

Rules:
Pre-measuring
Conventions for Lines of Sight and Lines Of Fire
Conventions for showing a formation is broken, in overwatch or has marched this turn.
Measurement to objectives
Have you both read the same FAQs? These can cover such a huge range of things that we can only list a few of the common differences we have encountered between groups.
  • Disembarking - whole stand within 5cm or just one part of the model
  • Requirements to claim cover (fraction, more than half, fully)
  • Measurement from objectives
  • Aircraft versus aircraft flak attacks
  • Template use (what's in/out)

Optional and common house rules:
Do you allow CAPing of CAP?
Do destroyed war engines stay on the board as cover?
House rules on intermingled formations (e.g. attacker has to be in range of all formations)?

Defining terrain:
Effect on Lines of Sight and Lines Of Fire
What they count as on the terrain chart
Any changes to those Terrain Types? (For example, Craters not blocking LOS, even though the models are necessarily above the table surface, a muddy plowed field that is scrub but also dangerous terrain for vehicles, or perhaps certain terrain types not counting as cover against aircraft attacks.)
When a unit is counted as being "in" a specific terrain piece

Armies and army lists:
"Counts as" units
Fire Arcs on units
Special rules and units

Strategic: (These are not necessarily things that are problematic for the rules, but things you will want to know to avoid "gotcha!" effects that can create a sense of unfairness.)
Any barrages?
Spacecraft
Teleports
Webways, portals and other unusual deployment options

6.1.4
Q: How should we measure from objectives? Edge? Center? Something else?
A: The most common convention in tournaments is to define the objectives as single points. Typically, this is the direct center of a "take and hold" objective and the middle of the objective's table edge for the "blitzkrieg" objective. Unless explicitly stated otherwise ahead of time, assume this is the case.

Objective measurement should be a topic for the 5 minute warmup. Some players measure to the edge. Some who use the "single point" convention above may incorporate a predetermined point on their objective markers (like a flag) to designate the point, rather than defaulting to the center of the model.

6.1.7
Q: How do spacecraft count for victory points in the case of a tiebreaker?
A: Spacecraft cannot be attacked or destroyed and therefore never count for tiebreaker points.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:13 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9525
Location: Worcester, MA
3.3 is missing a verb:

Quote:
Is it possible to WE out of mixed formations


I'd also add that infantry only get a -1 concealment bonus for being base to base with a vehicle, not a cover save. It seems odd that they would gain a cover save from touching a terrain feature. Along the lines of "this tree is base! you can't get me!".

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:19 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Quote:
1.7.5
Q: The transport rules state that a disembarking unit "may be placed
within 5cms of the transport vehicle." Does that mean 5cm distance, model edge to model edge, as when measuring range, or does that mean that the disembarking unit must be entirely within a 5cm distance from the vehicle?
A: The 5cm is intended to be measured as formation coherency (and range measurement), from model edge to model edge. While the word "within" might imply "entirely within" in some contexts it is used several places in the rules when referring to model-edge distance or other situations that involve only a portion of the model, e.g. "within range and line of sight" requires neither the entire model to be in range, nor the entire model to be visible.


Probably worth extending this to note that "within 15cm" doesn't really mean "fully within 15cm" on aircraft disembarkation for Jump Pack units, too... unless 'ya wanna change the FAQ answer to "fully within", as the more logical answer, that is. :-)

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Last edited by Evil and Chaos on Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:20 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9525
Location: Worcester, MA
Evil and Chaos wrote:
Probably worth extending this to note that "within 15cm" doesn't really mean "fully within 15cm" on aircraft disembarkation for Jump Pack units, too... unless 'ya wanna change the FAQ answer to "fully within", that is. :-)


Drop pods too. We always played it as fully within because we took it to be a move (with it being eligible for overwatch).

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:53 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Done and done.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 6:56 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
I do think that this "within" thing is a "common sense" kind of occasion, rather than a "be literal" occasion, but *shrug*.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 1081
Location: London, UK
Love the 1.8 clarification as it allows the use of many different kinds of buildings, not just the ones that are flat on the top.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:46 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
I resent the use of the word "resent" in 1.12.6, where it should be "reset"

Sorry, I could not resist the pun :)

Great job as always Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:56 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
That is excellent! Thanks Neal.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:24 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
Dobbsy wrote:
That is excellent! Thanks Neal.

+1

Great work Neal.

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 4:11 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
I added a couple final grammatical corrections.

Any comments on the substance?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:56 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
The only thing I don't like is this, I remember the discussions but I still don't like it.

Quote:
1.8.4 Terrain Effects
Q: Can an infantry unit claim cover from enemy armored vehicles?
A: Yes. The rule as written does not distinguish between friendly and enemy vehicles for cover benefits. Some groups feel this is an odd situation and house rule that the cover from enemy units is not allowed, so feel free to cover this in the 5-minute warm-up with your opponent.


This is the only part of the FAQ I'm at odds with, for me, the only time I can think of when an enemy model can be in base to base contact with an opponents AV's (whilst being shot at) is with overwatch during an engage action (unless a fearless unit stays still after losing an assault and the opponent cannot use there consolidation move to get out of BtoB, shouldn't happen).

The rules clearly state that when a formation takes an engage action it cannot claim cover bonus', only the defenders can do that. Surely the Engage action starts as soon as the initiative roll is passed, not when the dice rolls for combat are made, so overwatch shots shouldn't be at -1.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 5:13 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
dptdexys wrote:
The rules clearly state that when a formation takes an engage action it cannot claim cover bonus', only the defenders can do that. Surely the Engage action starts as soon as the initiative roll is passed, not when the dice rolls for combat are made, so overwatch shots shouldn't be at -1.

The rules say that attackers don't get cover *saves* in an assualt, additionally, that line of text is in how to resolve hits inflicted in the actual assault, so it may not be a generalized rule.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:32 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
And that is the question; when is the assault deemed to start?
- At the point the formation activiates, (in which case the cover bonus does not apply),
- Or after any OW fire is resolved (in which case the cover bonus would apply)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: 2010 FAQ update, part 2
PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 6:40 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Ginger wrote:
- At the point the formation activiates, (in which case the cover bonus does not apply),

The rule says "[Infantry Cover] Saves" are negated for the attacker, not that "Cover To Hit Modifiers" are... they are two distinct things in the rulebook, they have their own sub-sections; there's no such thing as "cover bonus" other than as a shorthand to lump the two things together.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 62 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net