Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Master FAQ Posted

 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 11:52 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Black Legion and Lost and the Damned:

Grammatics:
Quote:
Q: If I take no Pact, what happens with strategy roll of 6?
A: You receive the bonus daemons in the Daemon Pool as normal, but will have no way to summon them to the battlefield.

Marked part should be replaced with "on a strategy roll of 6"

Grammatics:
Quote:
Q: Can you purchase daemons even if no Pact?
A: Yes. However, the daemons may not be summoned to the battlefield without a Pact so the utility will likely be quite limited.

Marked part should be replaced with "even if you don't have purchased a Daemonic Pact"

Well. That's it. I'm finished AFAIK :)

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 11:55 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
Blacklegion: ---'s is "belonging to", ---s is plural.

Of course this being English, there are a few exceptions. For example, Its is "belonging to it", but it's is "it is".

Or for words ending in an s, whether plural or otherwise, you just put ' after the s to denote "belonging to". For example:

John's Piano
James' Piano

This is all rather off topic of course...


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 12:06 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Yes this "his..." and "John's..." is rather confusing :D I suppose the " 's..." is short for "his..." So "John's..." = "John his..."

And yes this is off topic but it helps :)

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 12:24 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 8:16 pm
Posts: 4682
Location: Wheaton, IL
BlackLegion wrote:
Specialist Units finished now War Engines.

Typo:
Quote:
Q: If war engines are included in a formation with normal units, for example a Battle Fortress, is it allowed to be up-to 15cms (5x Starting damage) from the rest of its formation? If it is allowed to be so is it also allowed to be carrying troops at this distance?
A: Yes to both questions.

Marked part schould be "3x"


No, 5x is correct. It is 5cm per starting DC (in this case three), therefore 5x 3dc for 15cm, not 3x 3DC for 9cm coherency.

BlackLegion wrote:
Aerospace Operations:
Typo:
Quote:
Q: If a formation has Blast Markers and wants to fire its AA weapon(s) at an enemy air formation, but the only unit that has the range or the LOF to that enemy is the AA unit, is the AA unit suppressed?
A: All ground units are considered to have an LoF to air units so all the units in the formation, not just the AA unit, would be considered to have an LoF to the aircraft formation. If the AA unit is the only unit in the formation that is in range of the aircraft then it would be suppressed. If other units in the formation were in range then they could be considered valid Suppression targets, not just the AA unit. Note that a unit can be suppressed when firing at an aircraft even if it has no AA attack value.

Marked parts should read "a".


I could be wrong here, but I believe because the letter 'L' starts with a vowel phonetically ('ell'), 'an' is correct. However if you were to pronounce LoS as a word, in the same way as the Spanish 'the (plural masculine)', 'a' would indeed be correct. I hope that made sense...

Excellent job of proofing nonetheless, BL. Kudos!

_________________
SG

Ghost's Paint Blog, where everything goes that isn't something else.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 12:44 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8711
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
@3x 5x: Well i read it as 5 x Damage Capacity. But either way the result is 15 :D. To make it more clear it coul read "5cm x starting Damage Capacity"

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 12:48 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
How about just:

All ground units are considered to have LoF to air units


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 2:06 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Keep in mind the FAQs are not stand-alone documents, nor intended for detailed legalistic interpretations.
================

Quote:
Also it should be outlined if it is intended that only one unit has to be in LOS AND Range. Eg that you are able to "stretch" the range of the first template.

That's addressed in the actual rules. I think between the two it's clear.

Quote:
Quote:
Q: If the closest enemy unit is already engaged (it has two units in base-to-base contact with it) do I still need to Counter-charge that unit or can I Counter-charge another enemy unit?
A: If the closest enemy is already fully engaged, you may carry on the counter charge and try to contact the next closest enemy unit.

Only one unit in base-to-base contact is needed to cause the loss of the ZOC. You aren't forced to move the maximum number of units in base-to-base contact.
Quote from 1.12.3: "Once a unit has been contacted it looses its zone of control for the rest of the assault, allowing other units to pass it." No mention that it has to be contacted by two units.

This FAQ addressed the countercharge requirement to charge the nearest enemy unit. Zone of control has no bearing on that requirement.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 2:11 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
BlackLegion wrote:
Quote:
Q: If war engines are included in a formation with normal units, for example a Battle Fortress, is it allowed to be up-to 15cms (5x Starting damage) from the rest of its formation? If it is allowed to be so is it also allowed to be carrying troops at this distance?
A: Yes to both questions.

Marked part schould be "3x"

5cm per DC is formation coherency for War Engines. 3.1.1.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 2:26 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
BlackLegion wrote:
Quote:
Q: Can units transported by Planetfall (for example Assault troops in a Thunderhawk) disembark as soon as the transporting unit lands?
A: The intent of the Planetfall rule is that units landing via Planetfall get to land for free early in the turn, and then function as if they had been on the table since the start of the turn. This means that they can take their action later in the turn, as they won't have used it up yet - they are literally counted as having done nothing during the current turn.

Units on board WE or other transport can disembark when they land. In the case of a WE, the formation may take an action on the turn it lands, as the process of landing and disembarking is free - in other words, just a way to get the units onto the table as part of the spacecraft’s activation.

To get it straight: Units embarked on a Transport unit which entered the play with Planetfall stay on board until the Transport unit or the embarked units take an action where disembarkation can be choosen. They can't disembark in the same moment the Transport is placed on the table as it is essentially the action of the spacecraft and not of the Transport unit. Correct?

No. The second paragraph states that units can disembark when they land. I'll rework it.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 2:35 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
BlackLegion wrote:
Quote:
Q: Do broken Space Marine units count as having one BM per unit or one-half BM per unit in Assault resolution?
A: One BM per unit.

Contradicts with 5.1.1 which says: "Space Marine formations only count half their number of blast markers in assault resolution"
No special exepction for broken formations.

The answer is correct. SMs require 2 BMs per unit break. Half of that for assault resolution is 1BM per unit.

Quote:
Quote:
Q: When Void Shields recharge in formations with multiple units is one dice rolled for the formation or one dice for each unit?
A: When regrouping roll two dice and take the highest as normal. Each pip can be used to remove one Blast Marker or recharge one shield on every unit in the formation that has Void Shields.

Ok this i straight from the rulebook but it reads that if i use a pip to raise Void Shields for eg a Warhound formation of two Warhounds than every Warhound will get one Void Shield back? Not just one Warhound?
If not then i suggest to replace "every unit" with "one unit"

That's correct. Each pip raises a shield on every unit in the formation. It's been that way since the rules were published and has been in the FAQs since at least 2006.

We can consider it for a NetEA revision, but I don't want to try to change rules in the FAQ.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 2:59 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
BL: I don't want you to think I am ignoring you or being passive aggressive. I'm not changing some of the things you pointed out because the are multiple grammatically acceptable forms. For example, prepositions used to designate a connection between items are frequently interchanged, so "on" or "with" or "after" might all be valid constructions for the same object.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 3:04 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Quote:
That's correct. Each pip raises a shield on every unit in the formation.


So if I roll snake eyes on a Warhound Pack formation, I can raise two shields (One on each Warhound), or remove two blast markers (One from each Warhound), despite only having rolled a '1' as my highest result?

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 3:14 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Evil and Chaos wrote:
So if I roll snake eyes on a Warhound Pack formation, I can raise two shields (One on each Warhound), or remove two blast markers (One from each Warhound), despite only having rolled a '1' as my highest result?

You can raise one shield each (for a total of two) or remove 1 BM.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 3:15 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Ah I re-read it and it makes sense again now, heh.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Master FAQ Posted
PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2010 3:24 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
Huh, I didn't know that.

There's an issue there with regards to Necrons; the whole idea of the recent revision of the Necron rule was to have it the same as void shields, but obviously we don't want to be able to use each pip to raise a base per unit in the formation!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net