Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Foot Pathfinders?

 Post subject: Foot Pathfinders?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:11 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Something that just occured to me, are PFs ever used on foot in Tau doctrine? If so, I'm curious to know, why didn't 6.0 include an optional transport for the PFs so they didn't need to take them if not needed?

I would have assumed that PF's garrison ahead of a battlegroup in conjunction with FWs for example. If an upgrade has transports they can't garrison with a Foot FW formation.

Cheers


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Foot Pathfinders?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:37 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
I believe the interpretation of the rules, at least regarding the Tournament Rules, allows a formation to be deployed without units.

So if you want to field just the Pathfinders, you could choose to not deploy the DevilFish, and it'd be fine.

I can't recall where this was discussed, but it was in a thread regarding Marines and the ability to deploy on Garrison.

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Foot Pathfinders?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 5:02 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
And just did some checking, the last three authours of Tau all put in the Upgrade as 2 Pathfinders + 1 Devilfish.

So you could still Garrison with it if you were so inclined.

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Foot Pathfinders?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 5:05 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Ahh! Of course. Why was I thinking they had a vehicle each? Cheers!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Foot Pathfinders?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:25 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5602
Location: Bristol
Quote: (Dobbsy @ Nov. 19 2009, 03:11 )

Something that just occured to me, are PFs ever used on foot in Tau doctrine?

No actually - very unusually in W40k the Devilfish is mandatory for Pathfinders. They either have that or the tetras to let them be very mobile.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net