Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

Is it possible to transport gargoyles?

 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 10:22 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
In a Harridan?

I see I can upgrade it with Gargoyles, but since its not a synapse they will just dissapear at the end of turn 1?

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 11:22 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 3:15 pm
Posts: 1316
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
The Harridan can transport 4 gargoyles. Also remember that it is an Independent Swarm, meaning it acts like a normal non-Tyranid formation.

/Fredmans

_________________
Follow my Epic painting projects: Tyranids vs Steel Legion and Inquisition vs Lost and the Damned @
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=14636


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 11:59 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 11:52 am
Posts: 3078
Location: Bristol, UK
Yes, but it's not listed as synapse! Which means the gargoyles just die no?!

_________________
MoK's Painting Blog
Now Showing:
Mok's Modular Modern Messy Guard Army


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
Yes but Gargoyles aren't independant, they are brood. So you load them up, off you move and end of the turn they dissapear.

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:08 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
*calls for Chroma can be heard*

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:11 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
Hmm, you could pair them with a vit, but its rather slow. Far better it seems is to get 4 harriddan and move them as a group.

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:17 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:57 pm
Posts: 491
Location: Liverpool
Any units bought as part of an independent formation are independent (there's a rule about it in there somewhere) and do not die due to lack of synapse.

This part is important. Any gargoyles bought as part of the harridan formation are independent and don't require synapse. The harridan can't pick up gargoyles from other formations as they would then die due to lack of synapse at the end of the turn if there were no synapse creatures in range.

(Although technically the harridan could pick up any formation consisting solely of gargoyles having lost their synapse and all other units, transport them and then drop them off into another synapse formation for the gargoyles to survive)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:23 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
So the list has two types of Gargoyle, ravenor and trygon? But they all spawn back as the same type?
Its not that clear in section 5 gaming. Just says
Tyranid formations come in two types: Independent Swarms and Synapse Swarms. Independent Swarms consist of specific creatures and options shown in the army list, while Synapse Swarms can be highly mutable. Up to one third of the army's points may be spent on Independent Swarms.

That seems not that clear that the independant swarms over-ride brood at the end of turn 1.

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:26 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
Ah, its actually in the special rules section.

Unless part of an Independent Swarm, Brood creatures out of control range are removed and any that are within control range of one Synapse Group become part of its Synapse Swarm.

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:38 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (The_Real_Chris @ 29 Jun. 2009, 12:26 )

Ah, its actually in the special rules section.

Unless part of an Independent Swarm, Brood creatures out of control range are removed and any that are within control range of one Synapse Group become part of its Synapse Swarm.

:agree:

_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:45 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
[personal bugbear]Yet another case of overcomplicated special rules cluttering the list[/personal bugbear]

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:06 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 3:06 pm
Posts: 9684
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Quote: (zombocom @ 29 Jun. 2009, 17:45 )

[personal bugbear]Yet another case of overcomplicated special rules cluttering the list[/personal bugbear]

It's not "overcomplicated", it was that someone didn't read it and made an assumption.  You read it once, and it's easy to remember.




_________________
"EPIC: Total War" Lead Developer

Now living in Boston... any EPIC players want to meet up?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:42 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
The Vitperaptor can both act as a synapse and transport 9x Gargoyles etc. As part of its swarm it can take along some Harridans, each of which can transport 4x Gargoyles. In this capacity, the Harridan can be thought of as integral formation transport, while the Vituperaptor is more like WE transport.

The point being that now you can mix these together while in earlier lists they had to be in separate formations, and so had to consider taking other WE and AV to act as shields.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Is it possible to transport gargoyles?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 6:47 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
Quote: (Chroma @ 29 Jun. 2009, 18:06 )

Quote: (zombocom @ 29 Jun. 2009, 17:45 )

[personal bugbear]Yet another case of overcomplicated special rules cluttering the list[/personal bugbear]

It's not "overcomplicated", it was that someone didn't read it and made an assumption.  You read it once, and it's easy to remember.

More a case of me expecting army selection rules (which I assumed it was) to be int he army section, not the racial special rule section (as I don't believe any other list has army list rules in with race rules, though I could be wrong, where do all the Eldar special rules go, are they split?)

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net