Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

[Rules] Synapses

 Post subject: [Rules] Synapses
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:51 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 720
Location: Utah, pick a Pacific Island the other half of the year.
Thanks for seperating them Hena, first the changed Synapse Rules that are proposed for v6.1 (Hope to have it out and up in the next couple of days)

T1.40 SYNAPSE GROUPS
Every swarm is controlled by a Synapse Group which is formed before the start of the battle and is made up of from one or two selections from the Synapse Creature list. Once formed this group cannot be added to, nor control more then a single swarm.        


T1.30 TYRANID SWARMS
The Tyranid army is divided into three basic groups of units, these are; Brood Creatures, Independent Creatures, and Synapse Creatures (with Brood Creatures themselves being further subdivided into Uncommon Brood Creatures, and Common Brood Creatures). Each creature?s type is noted on their individual data sheets and in the army list that follows.

Independent Creatures are organized into formations like other units, and are treated in all ways as if they were a normal formation in Epic-A, as this concerns coherency, and formations.

Synapse creatures and brood creatures are treated a bit differently. Instead of having a fixed formation brood creatures are purchased as individual units that will become part of a swarm that is controlled by synapse creature group. It must be understood that the Swarm is the formation, and that both the synapse creature(s) controlling it, and the brood creatures in it, are a single formation containing units.

At the start of the game the Tyranid player first makes synapse groups from synapse creatures. One group can have one or more synapse selections (eg. Tyranid Warriors are assigned in groups of three). Note that these groups can not be changed later. Then player simply assigns one, or more, brood creatures to a synapse creature groups, thus creating a formation called a swarm, until all the brood creatures have been assigned. All such swarms must be set up in a legal formation using the instructions for the scenario. In addition the units must be set up within 15cm of the synapse creature group. If the Tyranid player wants they may hold some brood creatures back and not assign them to any synapse creature group. These unassigned brood creatures may be used when a swarm spawns during the game (see T1.40 Spawning).

Starting with the second turn, and all subsequent turns, a swarm consists of it?s original synapse creature(s), and all the brood creatures within 15cms of those same synapse creature(s). Brood creatures that are within 15cms of synapse creatures from different swarms may join either swarm as designated by the Tyranid player (We recommend that the units that are in doubt be turned to face the swarm they belong to, to avoid confusion later in the turn).

Any brood creatures that start a turn not within 15cms of a synapse creature will go to ground and are removed from play. Although not dead it is assumed that the creatures have reverted to their animalistic instincts and are lurking on the battlefield waiting for an easy chance to get their next meal. These brood creatures may return to the game using the Spawning action (T1.40) described below.

Once a swarm has been formed (Once at the start of the battle, and at the start of each turn) it becomes a single formation composed of the designated units for the entire turn. While part of a swarm no unit can be moved out of coherency. Nor may any brood creature be moved beyond the synapse range of the synapse creatures controlling the swarm, except during an assault move. If a unit is out of coherency and/or synapse range then the swarm must take a move action as it?s next action.

The only exception to this above rule is if the all the Synapse Creature(s) controlling the swarm have a movement of 0cms. In this case the brood creatures may take an action that will result in them moving out of coherency and synapse range of the controlling synapse creature(s). Brood creatures that are ?sent off? in this manner are treated as a ?new? formation and the units it is composed of must remain in coherency of each other. This new formation cannot carry out a separate action of it?s own. Any number of brood creatures may be sent off, but they will never be able to do more then create another single separate formation.

In all cases the organization of the swarms is determined at the very start of the turn before anything else, like Teleports, Strategy Roll, etc.


As for the SC's being taken out before the swarm takes an action, this is a very good hole found in my perfect solution :oops:

Only goes to show you why I really need all you people to work with. I would like to say "Too bad you should have gotten more Synapse Creatures" as a simple solution to the problem I have created (Sorta like sticking my head in the sand and saying I don't see anything wrong).

I do not like the effects this creates, however I do not want to remove the present synapse limitation, for a number of good reasons I will speak about in the next list. So until I figure out a way to write it, assume a swarm that loses all it's synapse creatures before it gets to activate in a turn still gets to activate.

Doing otherwise would definitely be a too harsh of a limitation.

There is no doubt in my mind that there is a better way to write the above, and it is being worked on, and I am definitely open to more ideas on how.

Kepp it coming folks, and thanks again Hena

Jaldon :p

_________________
Brave sir Robin, when danger reared its ugly head he bravely turned his tail and fled, Brave sir Robin.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: [Rules] Synapses
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 1:32 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 6:38 am
Posts: 720
Location: Utah, pick a Pacific Island the other half of the year.
To restate for those that haven't seen it a much simpler way of writing this is back in the old thread, and I like it. Though I do think the rule itself will still need some work.

I know some are wondering WHY staying in Synapse Range is needed. I can only attribute this to not having encountered Nids doing a 'Hand Off' tactic, and a couple of other sneaky tricks that are allowed under the old rule.

Basically it involves a Swarm being thrown off into the blue, then a Synapse Creature w/small swarm moves up later, as part of a Marshal Action, to spawn even more little buggers while taking over the new swarm. It can get very ugly very quick if you do this with a couple of swarms across the entire front. (Note it can also be carried out without the Marshal Action increasing the shift range)

The effect is to allow a Nid army to shift it's main focus with all the speed and deft maneuver of the most mobile SM army.

To work effectively this tactic needs mobile Synapse Creatures, and is one of the reasons I want to exclude nodes from the proposed restriction.

Thanks Folks

Jaldon :p

_________________
Brave sir Robin, when danger reared its ugly head he bravely turned his tail and fled, Brave sir Robin.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net