CF, Can it be used for movement if no target? |
Tactica
|
Post subject: CF, Can it be used for movement if no target? Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 5:39 pm |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 12:12 am Posts: 2241
|
Question comes to mind after reading the first turn in Chroma's latest bat rep of BL vs. Tau...
In Tau v4.3.3, under Tau Special Rules, Coordinated Fire, I'm looking at the last three sentences.
Where it says, (and I quote)There is no obligation for all formations to take the same action, and these actions may be resolved in any order, but they must all fire at the same target foramtion. | and it goes on to say... Each formations action is declared and resolved (including testing to see if the target foramtion is broken) before moving on to the next Tau formation. |
If there's no target formation on the field, hypothetically because you got the first turn against an all drop pod army that hasn't deployed any forces yet, could you use CF to take a double with three formations - again, if there's no target formation on the field?
Cheers and thanks for your comments in advance,
nealhunt
|
Post subject: CF, Can it be used for movement if no target? Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:46 pm |
|
Purestrain |
 |
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm Posts: 9617 Location: Nashville, TN, USA
|
I think the rule as-written allows it and I personally have no problem with it. I don't even think it is particularly beardy/cheesy/gamey.
How is this different than Orks using Double Move actions to get the Waagh activation bonus rather than trying to Advance even when the enemy is close enough that an advance would get them in range? Or using a Double Move to take up ground in the absence of a target rather than having to March? Those are stock tactics and have been since the Waagh rule was written.
How is it different than an enemy assaulting the Tau only to find out that they Jetpacked out of range? Are they forced to close with the enemy? No. The Engage action doesn't require that you actually assault at the end of it, and even says specifically that if no units are in FF range, nothing happens. If the Tau move out of range, the enemy gets a free move as compensation.
As was pointed out repeatedly when the "declare/resolve/declare" change was debated, it's entirely possible for a target to get out of range if it were to break before one of the CF formations activated. In that case, are you going to force the Tau player to extend as far as possible to try to get a valid shot because CF requires it? I hope not.
The only potential in-game use I can think of off the top of my head would be a mass bugout for some reason. But I certainly can't see it generating a balance problem.
_________________ Neal
|
|
Top |
|
 |
asaura
|
Post subject: CF, Can it be used for movement if no target? Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:52 am |
|
Brood Brother |
 |
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 11:34 am Posts: 481
|
First of all, the Commander ability common in other armies can also be used in this way. Granted, getting three formations to Engage only allows each of them a single move, while CF allows for Doubles, but the principle is the same.
If this kind of thing is forbidden, it will call for some pretty fancy lawyerese to make it stick. Without pre-measuring, it's quite normal to fail to get in range. How can we tell a bona fide CF action with a big focus on redeployment from a sneaky CF-exploit with the sole intention of moving? Is it enough if one of the three formations gets within range of the enemy (not all that hard with all those 75 cm missiles)?
I see no problem. "Moves-only-CF" is an ok side effect of the CF rules.
(edit: I read Tactica's original post sloppily. He specifically referred to a situation with *no* possible target formations.)
The rules for shooting (1.9.1) call for a target to be picked along with the shooter. No target -> No shooting. This would also mean Orks don't get to Double if there are no enemies in the field.
Likewise, the assault rules (1.12.2) call for a target formation. No target formation -> Can't do assault. The same rules specifically allow choosing any formation on the table, even if you can't reach it, but, in the case of an all-drop enemy with no formations on the table, an assault can't take place.
Verdict
In the case Tactica presented (no enemy formations on board), CF can't be done. Also, a Commander-led combined assault can't be done.
In a case where there is at least one enemy formation on the board, it can be selected as a target for shooting (allowing CFs, even if grossly outranged) or for engages (allowing Commander-led multi-Engages).
|
|
Top |
|
 |