Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

Transport queries

 Post subject: Transport queries
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:41 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:25 pm
Posts: 332
Our most recent games brought up a few transport questions. Some of which have an overlap to a few on-going discussions, but I felt for the sake of clarity i would ask these as blunt questions.
(In my defense I wasn't actually playing either game, but some of our members haven't been able to log in / are over come with shyness).

The first issue was over infantry in a building using a transport (where both infantry and transport are the same unit). So take a space marine scout and rhino. If the marine is touching or inside 5cm of the rhino, it seems clear that the unit can move 30cm (the rhinos move), the scout being picked up as part of the move.
But what if the scout is 10 cm away and well within a building?
Does the scout get a free move to the rhino? Obviously the transport cant drive over him and pick him up (as it can't go into a building). We had a few suggestions put forward,
1. The scout has to move to the transport, this move means that the rhino cant move.
2. Its worked out pro-rata (this would be complex to say the least) but if the scout moves 10cm to get to the rhino (2/3 of his move) then rhino has a 1/3 move left (10cm).
3. The scout can move 15cm to get to the rhino, the rhino can then move 30cm.

Just in case this wasn't fun enough, we then saw a debate over fearless transports. So in this case, a Gorgon made fearless through also being the commissar, is transporting a squad of imperial guardsmen. The gorgon being part of the guard unit. They are assaulted and the guardsmen stay in the transport. The unit loses the assault, but with the gorgon saving all the hits. In the resolution the guard player losses by 4.
So.....
Does this mean
1. 4 non-fearless guardsmen are killed, even though they are in a fearless transport
2. Nobody is killed in the resolution as the transport is fearless and immune to being hacked down, and the transported units are off bored and cant be hacked down whilst being transported by a fearless unit.

Finally, and one that i was part off, do war engines give each other cover? As a war engine blocks line of sight, we've also interpreted it to work both ways. E.g if two warhounds were line-a-Brest, then one would block the others line of sight, if they partially blocked the line of sight then the target would be treated in cover. Adversely if the target unit was shooting back it would need to decide if its shooting at the war engine in the open, or the two (inclusive of cover). - This you can imagine becomes intresting with knights; e.g can they adopt a christmas tree formation so all but the point knight is in cover?

Anyways, there was much Christmas debate, so any advice or suggestions is much welcome.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:46 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
The Rhino would have to drive over the Scout in order to pick it up. That would mean a dangerous terrain test, or might not even be possible if it's completely within impassible terrain. If the Scout moves, it can't be picked up. The best you could do is move into base contact with the rhino so it can be picked up on its next move.

Four guardsmen would be lost in the assault resolution.

WE's block link of sight. With concealment being liberally applied that Christmas tree formation works.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:51 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
From the transport rules (1.7.5) it is the transports that must move into btb with the units to be transported, the transported units are not permitted to move so in your example your unit would have to double, moving the scouts to a place accesible to the rhinos, then the rhinos would collect them on the second move

For the second question, 4 of the non-fearless units embarked on the gorgon would be destroyed, on the table or not, they are still part of the formation

For the third question, yes war engines can obstruct LOS to other war engines and knights could block or partially obstruct LOS to other knights in the formatio , just remember that a canny opponent will use this to his advantage with the ability to target in or out of cover to maximise hits on a smaller number of units, I know I certainly would!

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:10 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:43 pm
Posts: 1431
Location: Devon, UK
Note that the second one (non-Fearless troops in a Fearless transport) was only answered 'definitively' about a month ago, and the answer doesn't appear to be in the tournament pack yet. See the last few posts of viewtopic.php?f=4&t=31824

_________________
The Wargaming Trader
NetEA Death Guard Army Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:33 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:54 pm
Posts: 2279
Location: Cornwall
Just something to watch - if the scout moves to be picked up on 2nd move, the scout will have to end the turn in the rhino (as infantry can't embark and disembark in one move).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:10 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:01 pm
Posts: 1501
kyussinchains wrote:
From the transport rules (1.7.5) it is the transports that must move into btb with the units to be transported, the transported units are not permitted to move so in your example your unit would have to double, moving the scouts to a place accesible to the rhinos, then the rhinos would collect them on the second move


Kyuss - how does that work with things like landing craft then, I'm sure I've seen people march a unit of predators into the (landed) landing craft rather than land the craft on top of them? Assuming you can move into a transport that is not part of the same unit in this way but have to be picked up by transports that are part of your own unit?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:46 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:43 pm
Posts: 1431
Location: Devon, UK
That's because it's a War Engine transport carrying a separate formation. From 3.1.3:

'For a formation to mount up in this way the units that are getting on board must be able to move into base contact with the war engine during their action. The war engine is allowed to have taken an action before the other formation mounts up, but may not take an action after they have done so.'

If it's part of the same formation (like Gorgons etc.) then the usual transport rules apply and the transport has to reach/be in BtB contact.

_________________
The Wargaming Trader
NetEA Death Guard Army Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:13 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
Yup, that's the difference :)

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:46 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:25 pm
Posts: 332
Firstly, thanks to everyone for their replies. Really solves issues, and avoids excessive discussions. Our games have become a lot quicker now that we rarely argue rules, and a lot more enjoyable.
This said... we continue to stretch our understandings with more queries (sorry). Following your kind responses, we have had a bit of a debate on war engines picking up units, particularly, that of flying transport war engines.
We understand the discussion above clarifies that the infantry uses its move to move into the war engine.
But take for example a situation where a player is playing space marines. They have out activated their opponent and have three units left. A squad of terminators, a thunderhawk (which is transporting the terms) and an empty thunderhawk.
They air assault using the terminators and their transporting TH. Winning the assault, the terminators are left on board. They choose not to consolidate back into the TH that brought them in (as this would prevent it flying off at the end of the turn. The player now has one activation, an empty TH. Understandably they want to pick up the terminators.
Is this do able? - the terminators are finished, so cannot move in to the war engine. The thunderhawk, as a plane, cant drive around and through the terminators (unless they are in a line).
I recalled playing a few players that used air transports to pick up a spent unit, so assume this can be done.
When faced with this, we thought that the TH would land and pick up all units within 5cm (playing the revers of disembarking) - but what happens if the terminators were to far spread (theoreically they could have disembarked 5cm and consolidated 5cm, so even whilst remaining ZOC, four units could be spread some 20 cm).
Let me clarify this in a question then:
1. Can a war engine pick up units that have moved?
2. Does the war engine need to be able to drive over all the units to do so, or in-side 5cm, or does picking up one unit count as all?
3. (Only if it needs to pick up all) how does this work for planes?

As for ever, thanks to everyone for their advice.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:54 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
1. Yes.
2. It has to move over every unit you want to pick-up (aircraft are the exception, they just have to land within 5cm of them).
3. The aircraft lands in the middle of them (it can even land on top of a stand), all stands within 5cm can immediately embark.

3) is also one of those 5-min warmup areas, talk with your opponent to see if the entire stand needs to be within 5cm or just a part within 5cm.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:55 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
The thunderhawk may embark any units within 5cm, it doesnt function quite the same as a ground based transport

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Transport queries
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:12 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
It is worth noting the way that the rules are written. The basic rules are presented in section #1 and cover moving and transporting units (1.7.5) along with everything else. These basic rules are modified or replaced by the later sections. So here WE transports 3.1.3 overrides 1.7.5 as appropriate, and 4.7.5 modifies 3.1.3.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net