At ItB I came across an interpretation of the rules I had not come across before and don't see any precedent in the rulebook or FAQ for so I wonder where else this is played.
The situation was essentially one formation popped up to shoot at another already popped up formation. Each formation was behind a piece of terrain which of course it could see over due to being popped up. If you pop up you can both see and be seen by units that are further away from the terrain than you are, so I was surprised to hear my opponent say the attacking unit could not shoot at the popped up one because it's not possible to use pop up to see over more than one piece of terrain.
I have not come across such a limitation before and am not sure where it comes from. There are two issues as I see it:
1. The rules do not mention a limit, only that terrain doesn't block line of sight if it is closer to the popped up unit.
2. In this case it was actually because the target was popped up that the terrain it was next to didn't block LoS, rather than because the shooting unit was "seeing over" both pieces.
Here's the relevant rules section:
Quote:
A skimmer that has popped up is assumed to be flying high
enough that nearby intervening terrain that is closer to the
skimmer than the target does not block the line of fire. To
check if the line of fire is blocked, simply measure the distance
between the skimmer and the terrain, and then measure the
distance between the terrain and the target unit. If the skimmer
is nearer to the intervening terrain then the line of fire is not
blocked. If the skimmer is further from the terrain, then work
out the line of fire normally.
To my mind this means two popped up units will always be able to fire on each other if they are in range, as it's impossible for terrain to be further away from both formations at the same time.
Thoughts? Particularly from the London group? I figure this could be quite important for tau and especially squats with their support craft.