Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Rules questions

 Post subject: Rules questions
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 12:43 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 390
Location: London
There's a few things that I wanted to check with the gurus - much appreciated

1) Can you use SC reroll when (failing to) activate the SC's formation which is attempting to enter from reserves (i.e. through a portal)

2) Can an Eldar player retain for a second time when the only farsighted model(s) are off board but the attempted activation is bringing a formation with a farseer onto the table via a portal?

3) A WE is in an assault with opposing units both in CC and at FF range. If the WE elects to roll all his dice using the CC value can any hits be allocated on units that are not in base contact (or are they effectively immune)

I think the answers are all no but...


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 12:57 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 9:23 am
Posts: 127
Location: Lodz, Poland
Not an expert but would also say 3x no.

A probable no to points 1 and 2 and a deffinite no to point 3



Sent from mobile.

_________________
If You're from Poland and play Epic PM me maybe we can play a game :)

My wargame blog: http://6mmwargames.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:10 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9525
Location: Worcester, MA
Yes, see third question: http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#specialist-units

Yes, as above.

Each WE in an assault has its own CC pool and FF pool. Hit from one cannot be transferred to another.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:33 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 390
Location: London
1 & 2 was a surprise - specially 2 given the wording of the farsight rule but that FAQ is clear enough

thanks :)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:32 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
Yes, yes, no

More contentious for 1 and 2 is whether the farseer or sc can use their abilities from inside a vampire. At EUK tournaments the ruling has been yes - basically the ability can be used off board if it "affects" their own formation entering play. I suspect many others would not play it that way though.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:04 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 11:51 am
Posts: 278
Here's how it works for question 3:

Roll dice for all unit involved in the assault (units in B-B using their CC value; units within 15cm and LoS using their FF value)
Group all 'normal' hits together, make a second pile of all 'MW' hits, and a third of all 'TK' hits
Allocate all 'normal' hits**** front-to-back and resolve them.
Then allocate all 'MW' hits front-to-back and resolve them
Finally allocate and resolve all 'TK' hits front-to-back

War engines can kill units not in CC with CC attacks but hits have to be allocated to CC units first. The exception is if they split their attacks between CC and FF, in which case only FF hits units out of b2b. (That's when the rule comes into effect.)
Normal units with extra attacks can also kill units in 15cm with CC attacks, but the attacks must be allocated to units in CC first, then closest.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:36 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Mark W wrote:
Here's how it works for question 3:

War engines can kill units not in CC with CC attacks but hits have to be allocated to CC units first. The exception is if they split their attacks between CC and FF, in which case only FF hits units out of b2b. (That's when the rule comes into effect.)
Normal units with extra attacks can also kill units in 15cm with CC attacks, but the attacks must be allocated to units in CC first, then closest.


War Engine rules specifically state CC hits can only be alocated to units in BtoB and FF hits to units not in BtoB

Quote:
3.3.2 Close Combat and Firefight Attacks
Instead of rolling a single hit dice for each war engine in an assault, roll a number of hit dice equal to the war engine’s starting damage capacity. You may choose to split these between close combat rolls and firefight rolls as you see fit, but close combat rolls will only hit enemy units in base contact, while firefight rolls will only hit units within 15cm that are not in base contact.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:51 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
Yeah splitting attacks 'as you see fit' also includes not splitting them at all :)

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 11:54 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
Hmm interesting it had not occured to me before that you can split but don't have to. In which case you'd be rolling DC * CC attacks, but allocate using the regular rules...

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:01 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
but that isn't how it reads

You may choose to split these between close combat rolls and firefight rolls as you see fit, but close combat rolls will only hit enemy units in base contact, while firefight rolls will only hit units within 15cm that are not in base contact.

if a warlord titan rolls 8 in CC and 0 in FF it's still 'splitting' attacks

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:44 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
Uhh so what are you saying?

kyussinchains wrote:
Yeah splitting attacks 'as you see fit' also includes not splitting them at all :)


kyussinchains wrote:
if a warlord titan rolls 8 in CC and 0 in FF it's still 'splitting' attacks


I don't follow what you are saying.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:52 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
I'm saying that it's a huge stretch to say that war engine attacks behave like regular attacks from troops UNLESS you choose to split them, I know the rules aren't the most tightly written but to me it's clear that war engine CC/FF attacks are only applied to units in BTB/not in BTB regardless of whether you're splitting attacks or not

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 1:54 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
I'm saying that there is no functional difference between splitting your attacks 4/4 CC/FF and 8/0 CC/FF

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 2:01 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:24 pm
Posts: 9658
Location: Manalapan, FL
yeah I've never thought of let alone heard of it being applied outside of Kyuss description.

_________________
He's a lawyer and a super-villian. That's like having a shark with a bazooka!

-I HAVE NO POINT
-Penal Legion-Fan list
-Help me make Whitescars not suck!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Rules questions
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 6:43 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 11:51 am
Posts: 278
Most people I've played use normal allocation rules for assault unless the Titan splits its attacks Between FF and CC.

But RAW I don't think it's clear from what's written either way. It doesn't explicitly say in the second part of the sentence if this is ONLY when splitting or all the time. (I.e ignore the normal rules)Seems more likely to me a Gargant having a 15cm reach with its claw than an ork nob would?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net