StevekCole wrote:
A sub question to this which came up the other night. Where a WE, AV, etc is touching a building but obviously not in it (as can't be) gets hit by an indirect fire barrage is it in cover? I'd have thought no but we couldn't see a clear ruling?
No it is not "in cover" so does not get the -1 to be hit.
I think a few players seem to confuse the infantry touching an AV or WE for the -1 with anything touching terrain getting -1.
If players agree to play that way then that's fine but touching terrain for -1 is not a rule (terrain obscuring view is).
Quote:
1.8.2 Cover To Hit Modifiers
Units that are in terrain that is tall enough to at least partially
obscure them from an attacker’s view receive a -1 to hit
modifier when being shot at (see 1.9.5). The to hit modifier
also applies if intervening terrain obscures the target partially
from view
Quote:
Armoured Vehicles:
Infantry count as being in cover and receive the -1 to hit modifier (but no cover save) if they
are touching an armoured vehicle or war engine, to represent their ability to take cover from enemy fire by
crouching behind the vehicle