Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

War-Engine Transports and their Passengers

 Post subject: War-Engine Transports and their Passengers
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2014 11:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:15 am
Posts: 333
Another question about war-engine transports. Can you use the attributes of passengers to affect the war-engine activation?

My specific question is, would a Tau unit with co-ordinate fire in a war engine transport (basically a Manta) on the table allow the Manta to use co-ordinate fire? Now given the fluff I’d say a Manta probably ought to have co-ordinate fire in it’s own right, . . . unless that is unbalancing (question for EA Tau Topic).
Quote:
“there is also a sophisticated command bridge just behind the cockpit and connected by an access ladder which functions as a communications hub, fire control and forward command post. It is from the command bridge that a Tau Commander or Etheral can safely oversee battle operations.”


The most relevant comment I can find is (but the example is a transport embedded with the formation):
Quote:
Q: Can units in a Transport use their special abilities (e.g. Ork Nobz in a Transport use their Leader ability to remove Blast markers?)
A: Yes. Additionally, Characters or units with Special Abilities in broken formations can also use their abilities. The only time a Special Ability can not be used is when the unit or Character in question is offboard, either in Reserve or in a Spacecraft or Transport waiting to be deployed.


A supreme commander in a transport (spacecraft, aircraft) off-board is allowed to have their re-roll applied to the formation they are in.
Everything (?) about a broken formation inside a war-engine transport seems to affect combat resolution (BMs specifically).
Transported units count towards the number of units in resolving an assault. I assume that you would also include the contributions of any Inspiring passengers.
Units in a transport lose their ZoC. The Scout rule has a specific bit that talks about losing its longer ZoC if in a transport. Special rule or clarification
Passengers in a war-engine can disembark and shoot on a shoot action so they are involved in that.
Passengers in a war-engine that is assaulted can dis-embark as part of a counter charge.
Co-ordinate fire leads to combining shooting actions. BMs on other formations are included in the action roll for the initiating formation. Formations can do their sustain, move-shoot, double-shoot actions in any order.
Formations that are rallying get to use their Leader characteristic when in a WE transport (or off board); but then they are doing their own rally roll.
An Init 1+ formation inside a transport uses the transports Initiative to activate. But here the initiative is not a unit characteristic.
Commander is a similar rule and a commander can order an assault even though his own formation cannot make it to engage range. The commander does use the initiative for his own formation.

So a follow-up question that might answer my initial query. Can a supreme commander (or a commander) in a war-engine transport (not their own formation) use his ability to launch a combined assault. The commanders formation is considered part of the war-engine formation for the duration of the assault. I realize that this follows on from a successful activation roll.

Also just to check. I’d assume a skimmer popped up behind cover should get a -1 to hit modifier since they are partially obscured.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War-Engine Transports and their Passengers
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 12:01 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 7:27 pm
Posts: 5602
Location: Bristol
I'd say they should be able to use their supreme re-roll or initiate a combined assault.

Not sure on skimmers and popping up, will be curious to see what others think.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War-Engine Transports and their Passengers
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 3:53 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:15 am
Posts: 333
Found some extra guidance on the popped up and cover. Basically if the distances to intervening terrain are equal both units get the -1 to hit modifier.
Quote:
[2.1.13]A skimmer that has popped up is assumed to be flying high enough that nearby intervening terrain that is closer to the skimmer than the target does not block the line of fire. To check if the line of fire is blocked, simply measure the distance between the skimmer and the terrain, and then measure the distance between the terrain and the target unit. If the skimmer is nearer to the intervening terrain then the line of fire is not blocked. If the skimmer is further from the terrain, then work out the line of fire normally. If the distance is is equal, then both the skimmer and the target unit can fire at each other, but they both count as being in cover and the cover to hit modifier will apply.

The discussion point in the FAQs suggests that the intention of the rules is that a skimmer can claim benefits of being in cover it they have moved into the cover and taken a dangerous terrain test. Would this principle apply to the permanently popped up support craft/skimmer? I don't think a permanently popped up skimmer can get down to dangerous terrain to actually take a terrain test?

OK finally got to it. Manta does not block line of sight.
Quote:
[Tau Special Rules]Support Craft do not block line of sight, must always use their Skimmer ability to force a firefight in engagements and Infantry in base contact with a Support Craft may not use it to count as being in cover.


I guess I'm coming around to asking the same question as Kyrt.
Kyrt wrote:
So can they end a move above impassable terrain for example?



On further queries. This is turning into a long 5 min warmup.

Quote:
[1.7.5] Transported units are counted towards the number of units in the formation for all rules purposes (ie, when working out the number of units involved in an assault or if the formation is broken by Blast markers, etc).
Seems to imply that if I load some extra troops into a war-engine it is more difficult to break? Or maybe still only requires a number of BMs equal to the original total DC for the formation.
Quote:
[3.2.4]It requires a number of Blast markers equal to a war engine’s starting damage capacity to suppress or break a war engine. Add the starting damage capacity of any functioning war engines in a formation together in order to find out how many Blast markers are required to break the formation. If the formation includes units that are not war engines, then add the starting damage capacity of any functioning war engines in the formation to the number of other non-war engine units to find the formation’s break point. For example, an Ork formation with a Battlefortress (DC3) and six Boyz would be broken by 3+6 = 9 Blast markers. War engines rally using the normal rules.
If it were in an assault or during a move-shoot action (eg due to overwatch fire) then the passengers would get included(?).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War-Engine Transports and their Passengers
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:56 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
First of all bear in mind the difference between rules in the core section (eg transported units count towards he break point) which is before war engines are introduced. Transported units are part of the same formation, so this is just a clarification of the existing rules - ie that being transported doesn't suddenly reduce the formation size.

I am a abut surprised by the fact they are allowed to launch a combined assault from inside a war engine as they would have to have the opportunity to activate themselves rather than the war engine.

As for mantas, indeed i didn't get a reply to my query on what popping up means (if anything) when it comes to movement.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War-Engine Transports and their Passengers
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 10:16 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
For formations being transported by a WE you need to read 3.1.3 which includes,

Quote:
While being transported the units may not shoot or carry out any other
actions except to rally in the end phase (see 1.14.1).


No using a formation transported by a WE to do any action except part of the WE's activation.
You cannot activate a formation on board a WE as a separate activation it has to be activated when the WE does as part of it's activation. Even if it dismounts when the WE activates it cannot then take an activation of it's own (that turn).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War-Engine Transports and their Passengers
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 10:40 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
Yes which is why I say I'm surprised commander works - where does it say that?

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War-Engine Transports and their Passengers
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 10:54 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
Kyrt wrote:
Yes which is why I say I'm surprised commander works - where does it say that?


Commander (from a formation aboard a WE transport) des not work, from 3.1.3
highlighted the relevant parts.

Quote:
Once the units being transported have mounted up, the war
engine can move off with them inside as part of one of its own
actions in a subsequent turn. It can dismount the transported
units at the end of a move in the same way as a normal transport
vehicle (i.e., the units are placed within 5cms of the transport at
the end of a move).
Formations that dismount in this way may not take an action in
the turn they dismount, but are allowed to either shoot or fight
in an assault if the war engine that was transporting it is able to
shoot or assault. In both cases, the war engine and the
transported units are treated as a single formation until the
shooting attack or assault has been resolved
. The war engine and
the formation that disembarked are treated as being separate
formations once the war engine has completely resolved its
action.
For example, a war engine could take a double action and
disembark any troops it was carrying at the end of its move. The
war engine and the disembarked units could then shoot together
at a target formation, but all shooting would suffer the -1
modifier for shooting while taking a double action. Alternatively
a war engine could take an engage action and dismount any
transported units at the end of its charge move. It and the
disembarking units would be treated as a single formation for the
purposes of resolving the assault, as if they were making a
combined assault (see 2.1.2, paragraph 3).


Players seem to be confusing the "part of the same formation" by only reading part of the sentence.

They are only considered part of the WE formation when the WE takes an action that allows it to engage or move (so the transported formation can dismount.A sustain fire or overwatch order, as examples do not allow this) or if the WE is engaged itself.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War-Engine Transports and their Passengers
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 8:27 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:15 am
Posts: 333
Yeah, I'm asking a question here not saying it is one or the other.
Expect I am pushing the rules a little but maybe it is what the rules say.

If the war-engine makes an engage action, and the passengers dismount, they are all treated as one formation.
If they are one formation then a commander attribute allows two other formations to join them (if with 5cm etc).
Here the sequence is a little going back in time. The WE has moved and passengers disembarked to count as one formation.

If a Tau war-engine moves and shoots, and the passengers dismount to join the shoot, they are treated as one formation.
If the formation has co-ordinate fire then two other formations can be added in as separate Sustain Fire, Move-Shoot, Double-Shoot actions.
Those actions happen independently under Tau rules.

At this stage I'll go with pretending the passengers in the WE are off-board and cannot affect anything.
This is an extremely conservative rule reading approach. If the WE were engaged the BMs on the passengers get included.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War-Engine Transports and their Passengers
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 11:18 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
I don't really know how you can make it work within the rules though. Part of the deal in getting transport is that you lose your right to take your own action and do all the things that you could do with that action. Not to mention, it could technically also be possible if you allowed this to transfer the ability from a unit with 2+ initiative onto the manta's 1+

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: War-Engine Transports and their Passengers
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 11:37 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Andrew_NZ wrote:
Another question about war-engine transports. Can you use the attributes of passengers to affect the war-engine activation?

My specific question is, would a Tau unit with co-ordinate fire in a war engine transport (basically a Manta) on the table allow the Manta to use co-ordinate fire? Now given the fluff I’d say a Manta probably ought to have co-ordinate fire in it’s own right, . . . untless that is unbalancing (question for EA Tau Topic).

I have to agree with dptdexys here. It is the Manta that activates, not the troops inside. I believe that all the formations using co-ordinated fire have to be activated together, so my reading of this is that this would only be valid for the WE to activate the co-ordinated fire, not the troops (and special abilities) that it carries. Note also
  • The Supreme commander re-roll may be used for the WE transport because he is in the same location as the manta. However being off-table means that his re-roll may not be used for other formations
  • "Commander" can only be used for formations within 5cm of the commanding formation. If the "Commander" was carried inside the WE, then this rule cannot be used because it is the transport that activates, not the formation carried (which contains the commander). The FAQ is also very clear that "Commander" cannot be used between on-table and off table forces.
  • The Tau co-ordinated fire rule works in a way that is very similar to "Commander".
    Quote:
    Some units are noted as being able to call in coordinated fire. These units can order up to two other formations within 15cm that have
    not taken an action this turn, and which are not broken, to follow their own formation when they take an advance, double or sustained
    fire action.
    Because they have to be 'within 15 cm', this mean that both formations must be on-table - so no WE an use this kind of rule when off-table, and the Manta cannot use 'co-ordinated fire' on-table as it does not have that ability.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net