Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Counter charge Questions

 Post subject: Counter charge Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:45 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
We have a game going at the moment and some interesting questions came up.

I will be short and sweet:

1. Is a counter charge counted as a move?
2. Do you gain the extra 5cm if you are counter charging on a road?
3. Can you overwatch a counter charge?

Thanks in advance. :)

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Counter charge Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 11:51 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
1 - Yes
2 - Don't think so, the extra 5cm rule talks about action tests etc. IIRC
3 - Yeah, I reckon so

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Counter charge Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 1:16 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
Also, how do the three pertain to consolidation moves?

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Counter charge Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 2:19 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:14 am
Posts: 3416
Location: Western Australia
frogbear wrote:
3. Can you overwatch a counter charge?

No.
This is specifically referred to in the FAQ under section 1.12.4 Counter Charges.
The Move referred to in the OW rule refers to moves made as part of an action, as described in 1.7

_________________
Just call me Steve.

NetEA Rules Chair
NetEA FAQ

Want to play Iron Warriors in Epic Armageddon? Click HERE
Some of my Armies.
My Hobby site.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Counter charge Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 2:51 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
1. They are really a special case. Yes in some ways, no in others.

2. I'd say no. The rule uses the term "entire move" which, to me, implies a normal move, e.g. 15cm for infantry. However, it's not clear and there could be good arguments the other way.

3. No, as Onyx pointed out.

===

Morgan: For consistency's sake, I think you have to say that all consolidation moves count as normal moves. While there might be some wiggle room about whether consolidation is a "normal" move in the basic consolidation rules, in the Eldar's case, with Hit and Run, I don't think there can be any good justification for not counting the consolidation as a full normal move. Also, the WE boarding rules for consolidation are built on the same principals as normal moves.

If someone has good counterarguments, though, I'm open to them.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Counter charge Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 4:02 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Agreed with Neal.
Further point, 'Withdrawal' is a move, so can be shot by OW, gains 5cm on roads and can be used to board air transports without incurring the 'consolidation' penalty.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Counter charge Questions
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 8:32 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
Thanks all :)

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net