Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

barrage on intermingled formations

 Post subject: barrage on intermingled formations
PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:24 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
Alright, let's say 4BP is fired on a formation containing a single Monolith (light gray square) which happens to have some Necron Warriors very close to it (dark gray rectangle). Since the target formation only has one unit in it, maximizing the first template is easy, but do any of the template placing guidelines apply when placing the template over the second formation?

Specifically, I'm asking if you have to do this:
Attachment:
1.png
1.png [ 2.97 KiB | Viewed 1003 times ]


Or, can the attacker get away with this and get the Lord under the template as well:
Attachment:
2.png
2.png [ 2.96 KiB | Viewed 1003 times ]


Rules as written, I'd say the second is legal, but I can see where it doesn't jibe with the intent of the barrage placement rules.

Also, for space ship barrages, the attacker can choose to put the second template wherever they like so long as its touching the first, correct?

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: barrage on intermingled formations
PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:29 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
I would say the first one is more within the spirit of the rules.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: barrage on intermingled formations
PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
Yes and yes I would have thought. The second is done a fair bit - it might be a bit different if the WE was DC3 or more.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: barrage on intermingled formations
PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:51 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Dave wrote:
Rules as written, I'd say the second is legal, but I can see where it doesn't jibe with the intent of the barrage placement rules.

Yep. Perfectly legal. Personally, I would have no problem with an opponent doing that.

Incidentally, even if they chose to target the infantry, the "most targets under the barrage" would still let the second placement be legal, for the exact same effect.

Quote:
Also, for space ship barrages, the attacker can choose to put the second template wherever they like so long as its touching the first, correct?

Correct. For a normal barrage, there is a target formation and additional templates should try to keep the max number of the target formation under the barrage. However, spacecraft have no target, just the plot, and are free to place additional templates as desired.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: barrage on intermingled formations
PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:21 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
nealhunt wrote:
Incidentally, even if they chose to target the infantry, the "most targets under the barrage" would still let the second placement be legal, for the exact same effect.


Ya, it would. In this instance though the Barrage was from some Chaos Fighter-bombers and Chris has some extra AT shots he wanted on the Monolith.

Thanks guys.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: barrage on intermingled formations
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 1:36 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:08 am
Posts: 37
Location: NC, United States
As The_Real_Chris says, if the original target were to be a WE with multiple DC (for this argument 3 DC or more, 2 would not work as it would then be legal) would the template not have to be placed with the center hole over the WE so as to yield 2 (or greater) shots at it?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: barrage on intermingled formations
PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:39 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
That's the way I'd play it as well.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net