Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Rules Clarification - Broken in Assault Resolution

 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Broken in Assault Resolution
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:40 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
I'm sure I've read this earlier, but I searched the forums and the rulebook, and couldn't find the answer.

Unit Alpha (0BM) engages Unit Gamma (4BM) in a forced clipping assault.
Unit Gamma countercharges, and due to the "must charge nearest unit" brings broken Unit Bravo (4 models) into the mix.
After a round of combat of whiffing, and tied Resolution rolls, both sides cause two kills, Unit Alpha/Bravo's player taking them on Bravo.

The question then becomes, does the number of BM's in the broken unit count from BEFORE the kills, or after?

It mattered because at the start of the combat, he had 4BMs (Broken models) to my 4BM's, but after the kills, he drops to 2. Seems weird that a Broken formation in a mixed combat actually benefits from taking casualties. Especially given that as the 2 Cas were done on the Broken unit, he received no BM's after the combat.

Morgan Vening


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Broken in Assault Resolution
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:44 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 9539
Location: Worcester, MA
I'd say that the formation still has 4BM even if it had only 2 units in it. You don't add more BMs or break until the assault is over, so why would you take them away before it's over?

Effectively you freeze the number of BMs (and suspend any rules about how many a formation can have) until the assault is resolved.




_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2019-10-17


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Broken in Assault Resolution
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 4:57 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
The BMs from the beginning of the assault are what counts.  Once the assault starts, that number is locked in.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Broken in Assault Resolution
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:07 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
Quote: (nealhunt @ Oct. 30 2009, 00:57 )

The BMs from the beginning of the assault are what counts.  Once the assault starts, that number is locked in.

However if that unit that is broken is wiped out, you don't count the BM they had, correct?

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Broken in Assault Resolution
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:12 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
No, the BMs would still count.  The formation was drawn in and part of one big assault formation until the end.  No matter what casualties occur during the assault, they are still one (formerly big) formation with all the units (minus casualties, obviously) and all the BMs they started with.

From the example, Alpha and Bravo formations became one big Alpha-Bravo with 4 BMs on it.  Even if all the formerly Bravo units were wiped out the remaining units do not revert to being just Alpha.  They are Alpha-Bravo until the end of the assault resolution and that means they carry the former Bravo BMs the whole time.




_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Broken in Assault Resolution
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:14 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 3:22 pm
Posts: 5682
Location: Australia
Thanks Neil

It did not matter last night, but it is good to know

Cheers....    :agree:

_________________
Frogbear is responsible for...
Previous World Eaters
Previous Emperor's Children
Previous Death Guard
Previous Imperial Fists
Previous Chaos Squats


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Broken in Assault Resolution
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:49 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
Neal is essentially pointing out the definitions of a "formation" throughout the assault process. An extension of this is where the combined Normal+Broken formation loses the assault resolution; Where do the hack-down hits get allocated?

I believe the answer is that they would get allocated front-to-back (relative to the enemy) before the twice broken formation is removed. This means that potentially some of the hackdown hits fall on the twice broken units rather than the losing 'normal' formation

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Broken in Assault Resolution
PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:03 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Quote: (Ginger @ Oct. 29 2009, 21:49 )

I believe the answer is that they would get allocated front-to-back (relative to the enemy) before the twice broken formation is removed. This means that potentially some of the hackdown hits fall on the twice broken units rather than the losing 'normal' formation

That's correct.  Extra hits for resolution loss are applied before "loser withdraws."  The breaking of the loser and the automatic wipe out of broken formations happens in the withdrawal.  Formations break apart immediately prior to withdrawal moves (or consolidation moves for the winner).

There is a specific FAQ about this, I believe.  Also, there are several special effects where this is relevant.  For example, daemons are destroyed when the formation breaks.  However, just like wiping out a broken formation, since the hackdowns for lost resolution are applied first, daemons can 'soak' the hackdowns even though they are going to be destroyed anyway.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net