Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Rules Clarification - Infiltrator

 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Infiltrator
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 6:42 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:50 am
Posts: 835
In yesterday's game, I had two squad of Aspirants (Knightworld Roughriders) just over 5cm from two enemy Land Raider units. He chose to engage, noting my 20cm move, coupled with my FF6+ Save6+ vs his FF4+ Save 4+RA.

It only now occured to me that it's possible to interpret Infiltrate to matter in this instance.

From Infiltrate
These are allowed to double their speed when they make a charge move (and only when they charge!),and they can also ignore enemy zones of control from the formation they are charging.

From Counter Charge
All the normal charge move rules apply,

Is that intended? Or does the italicised text overrule the Counter Charge text? If the former, the Aspirants count as Movement 40, and therefore would be permitted the 10cm Counter Charge. If not, they wouldn't.

Morgan Vening





Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Infiltrator
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:11 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:04 pm
Posts: 901
Location: New Haven, CT
Quote: (Hena @ 13 Jul. 2009, 06:59 )

The infiltrate doesn't affect counter charge. From FAQ

2.1.4 Infiltrators
Q: Do Infiltrators get double
movement if they counter charge?

A: No. As it states in the rulebook the
double movement is only when the
Infiltrator charges.

Heh.  That FAQ sounds a little defensive.
It sounds like the rulebook muddied the distinction between charges and counter-charges... leaving some room for interpretation as to whether the infiltrator was charging when it made a counter charge move.
The weight of final interpretation would fall on the fact that infiltrator is not a "normal" rule for charge moves.





Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Infiltrator
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:51 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
Well technically its not a charge rule its a special rule, different section of the rulebook and everything :)

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Rules Clarification - Infiltrator
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:09 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:04 pm
Posts: 901
Location: New Haven, CT
Quote: (The_Real_Chris @ 13 Jul. 2009, 14:51 )

Well technically its not a charge rule its a special rule, different section of the rulebook and everything :)

Absolutely: "infiltrator" is a "special" rather than a "normal" charge rule....

My point is simply that there is some danger in allowing adjectives like "normal" to be a load-bearing element in a sentence of rules.





Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net