Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Aircraft

 Post subject: Aircraft
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 4:16 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Can an aircraft without a FF/CC stat Engage a ground-based formation?  :sulk:
Can Fighters 'jink' whilst doing so???  :))

I'm sure this is probably disallowed in the rules somewhere but maybe not...

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Aircraft
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 4:20 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
Only transport planes can land and engage, and I think they all have CC/FF stats.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Aircraft
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 4:22 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
I thought as much and have always played as such as it's pretty logical, just never bothered to look up whether such a rule actually existed.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Aircraft
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 4:28 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 4262
Ok

4.1.1 Aerospace Formations
Aerospace units are organised into formations just like
any other unit. However, although aerospace formations
do receive Blast markers, they cannot be broken or
suppressed. In addition, they can’t be assaulted, lend
support to an assault or be used by another formation to
claim a crossfire, etc, while in the air. Once landed, an
aerospace unit may be assaulted and be used in a
crossfire, and is affected by Blast markers normally.

then
4.2.2 Aircraft Attacks
After aircraft have made their approach move they are
allowed to attack. Aircraft carrying out a ground attack
action may attack an enemy ground formation. Aircraft
carrying out an interception mission may attack an enemy
aircraft formation. Aircraft are assumed to be flying high
enough in the air to ignore any terrain that might block
the line of sight when they shoot at any targets, and the
crossfire rule does not apply to aircraft attacks. This aside,
resolve the attack using the normal shooting rules.
After the aircraft formation has made an attack, its action
is over. It remains in play until the end phase, at which
time it must make a disengagement move and exit the
table (see 4.2.6).
and finally
Air Assault: Transport aircraft may choose to land as
described above, and then it and any units that disembark
are allowed to fight an assault instead of shooting. If this
option is chosen then the aircraft and any units that
disembark may enter enemy zones of control as if they
were charging. The aircraft and any units that disembark
are treated as a single formation for the duration of the
assault, in the same manner as units disembarking from a
war engine taking an engage action (see 3.1.3). If the
aircraft loses the assault it is destroyed, but any units that
have disembarked may withdraw normally.

By putting that lot together you get the answer..No.  :;):

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Aircraft
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 6:13 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5483
Location: London, UK
As Mephiston says,  "Aircraft" can only behave as a ground unit when they are landed - which includes taking part in assaults to use their CC / FF stats. As only transports can land it follows that they are the only A/c that can do this, so other aircraft do not need CC / FF stats.  

Equally Aircraft can only "jink" if they are being shot at by AA - ie they are flying. So landed transports cannot 'jink' both because they are on the ground, and also because only Fighters and Fighter-bombers can 'jink'.

_________________
"Play up and play the game"

Vitai lampada
Sir Hemry Newbolt


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Aircraft
PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 2:53 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 1:15 pm
Posts: 50
Location: Oxford, UK
On a related note: Can a transport aircraft land and assault even when it's empty? E.g., can a Thunderhawk or Landa land troops on turn 1, disengage and then fly in on turn 2 without passengers, land and assault a formation on its own? I would suggest the rules allow it but I'm not sure.

Obviously such an aircraft couldn't do much damage by itself, but would be tough enough not to die if it clipped a formation, and could trigger supporting fire.

_________________
My Epic Ork Gallery


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Aircraft
PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 2:54 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20887
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
Can a transport aircraft land and assault even when it's empty? E.g., can a Thunderhawk or Landa land troops on turn 1, disengage and then fly in on turn 2 without passengers, land and assault a formation on its own?


Yes it can.

_________________
Currently doing a plastic scenery kickstarter


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net