Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

Orkimedian Drop Rok?

 Post subject: Orkimedian Drop Rok?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:30 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 516
The explanation for "Free Planetfall" (i.e. Ork Drop Rok in OBGM 2.0) is a bit confusing. Is it supposed to be so that
 a) drop rok and everything inside is considered as one formation the turn it drops, or
 b) they are separate. Thus, drop rok drops, units inside possibly disembark and then later on they can do their own action

In a case of b), the choosing of action for drop rok (along with the warning in the rules for badly chosen action..) is a bit odd part - or is it supposed to choose between double (can shoot, arrives always), engage (can FF, arrives always), or sustained fire (might fail to come but then has +1 to-hit). If it is a) then would not that mean that all units inside are limited to 5cm disembark move, thus making it a much worse choice than Landa.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Orkimedian Drop Rok?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 4:14 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9617
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Hey rpr:  Excellent question.

My intent was a), but you are right to point out that it isn't at all clear.

Would this be more clear:

On the designated turn the Free Planetfalling unit is activated in the normal activation sequence, as with Spacecraft.  Nominate the action for the formation and roll to activate.  If the unit fails to activate its arrival is delayed to the next following turn.  If the activation is successful, place the formation at the plotted landing zone and determine scatter according to 4.4 as if it were a normal Planetfall, including loaded units disembarking up to 5cm.  The formation?s action proceeds as normal in all respects from that point.  In other words, the formation gets the ?free move? from Planetfall placement at the beginning of its action but in all other ways activates as normal.  Note: The action is chosen at activation, before scatter is determined.  Choose the action carefully as a poor scatter role could render some actions ineffective.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net