I certainly did not want to get into a
'who's got the biggest' contest with EpicUK as that would be silly.
The point of my noting the size of our local community was to show that I'm not theoryhammering. We've played this way for years with no problem at all. Aerial assaults into multiple ZoC are not ruling or ruining the game.
I do not want this to get turned into an anti EpicUK thing. I have great respect for the good things that EpicUK is doing for our game in the UK. Heck, I use several of their lists in my events here in Perth (nids and Ulani to name a few).
As to the comment about it being
my way is the right way... I'm one voice on the NetEA rules committee. I was asked to join by Mephiston and Neal has kindly asked me to continue on. I don't think that my one voice is going to be enough to declare a ruling for the FAQ. We are a team.
I believe there was a consensus on this topic in our discussions that would allow aerial transports to land in multiple ZoC as long as the transport was in base contact with the intended target formation (or at least closer to the target formation than the scouts). I support this and it fits entirely within the rules and the scout screen FAQ.
Here is the relevant rule from 1.7.3 of the NetEA Tournament Pack:
Quote:
Units may not enter an enemy zone of control while they move, unless they are undertaking an engage action and use their charge move to get into base contact with the nearest enemy unit whose zone of control they have entered.
Another relevant quote from 4.2.5 of The 2012 Tournament Pack:
Quote:
Transport aircraft are treated in the same manner as war engine transport vehicles
Here is the relevant FAQ from the 2012 NetEA Tournament Pack:
Quote:
Q:It is possible for an aircraft to assault into a formation which is completely covered by the Zones of Control of a formation of Scout units. That would force the dismounting troops to enter the ZoC of the scout formation, which is not allowed. How should this work?
A:In general, treat this as if the unloading formation is starting a move in enemy ZoC. They are already Engaging the target formation, so that requirement is met. The other requirement is that they must attempt to move out of the enemy ZoC. Keep in mind that as enemy units are contacted, they lose their Zone of Control.
If the dismounting troops enter a target’s ZoC, they must attempt to reach base contact with that unit, per the charge rules. the dismounting troops can move out of all enemy ZoC (avoiding the target’s ZoC entirely and escaping the screening ZoC), they may choose to do so instead of charging to base contact. the dismounting troops cannot escape all enemy Zones of Control, they must attempt to reach base contact with the target formation.
Finally, the Scout Screen FAQ that is also linked to this discussion(2.1.12 from the 2012 NetEA Tournament Pack and from GW's FAQ page) :
from the GW FAQ wrote:
Q:It’s possible to place a Scout unit just behind another friendly unit, so that the Scouts 10cm ZOC covers the friendly unit too. If this happens, can I charge the non-Scout unit? The rules say I can’t enter a ZOC unless I’m charging the unit it belongs to.
A:You are, of course, allowed to charge the unit! If an explanation is needed, then let’s say that the rule for moving into base contact with the enemy takes precedence over the rule for not entering another unit’s ZOC. However, any player who has attempted to use this tactic to stop a charge should hang their head in shame!
It would be interesting to see how other communities around the world play this?
*edited to also mantion the GW official FAQ on Scout Screens which is applicable to this situation.